We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value. Excellent location. Front desk could be more helpful.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western PLUS Alpen Resort Hotel
Ranked #22 of 111 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2014

As above it was a good hotel for a family the shuttle to the ski lift was great and the rooms perfect. The triple room was great as had three separate beds. Happy teens. Breakfast was not great... The scrambled eggs were horrible. Overall a nice place

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank mstripplanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (620)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

238 - 244 of 620 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014

No view but no issue as can see the Matterhorn outside the hotel. Afterall you shouldn't stay in room to look out for view while in Zermatt. There is so much to do. The room is so big 80sq metres. 2 double beds and 1 single bed. beds are comforatble. 2 sets of table and chairs. Big area but not cold, the heating was good and comfortable. The huge bathroom is one level down but access by stairs is within the room. There is even table and chairs in the bathroom. Separate toilet, separate bath cubicle and a huge bath tub with jaccuzzi. Kitchen is small but sufficiently equipped. Good breakfast was also provided. There is even a lift to help with transferring luggage. They also provide free shuttle transfer to/from the train stn. Just use the free phone to call them at the train station. Without luggage it is only a short walk from the stn. Can easily walk down Bahnhofstrasse.
Excellent experience staying in the room although a bit expensive.

Room Tip: you have to try it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank notfussy2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Excellent hotel with renovated rooms. Very large room (we had an extra bed) with balcony with a view the Matterhorn, large modern bathroom with large bath and excellent shower. Good breakfast included and free wi-fi but not very fast. They send a car to pick you up and take you back to the train station. It is only a 5 min walk but tricky with luggage and snow. Staff were friendly.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crisw300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

It's not a budget hotel, but considering the prices in Zermatt, it can be a good place to stay. It's relatively close to the train station. The rooms need some renovation, but they are ok in general. Cleaning can be improuved: we find a sock from the last guest behind a desk. The breakfast is the good point. Well served and many options. The inside pools are really relaxing after a day of skiing.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MadeinBrasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

When I booked this room on booking.com the name of the hotel was indeed "Budget Rooms" so when my wife and I arrived in Zermatt after nightfall we couldn't find the hotel. I walked in to this Best Western Alpen Hotel originally to ask for direction, the reception told me I have arrived!

I can't really complain for the price I paid, originally for a no-view basement room. But they upgraded us to a room on ground level open to a garden.

Like the other review I read, there was also a spider in our room but my wife killed it with her sleepers quickly. Good girl!

However we were surprised house keeping did not take away the spider dead body on the second day. Despite we used the LED table lamp and highlighted it's body.

There are many tiny Mosquitos out probably due to the lowlands and grass / ponds nearby.

Breakfast on the other hand was very good. The lady serving there was very nice and had a warm smile. She told us there were freshly baked crescents.

Location was not too far, 7-8 minute walk from the station. But it's indeed a quiet area away from the town centre.

All in all it's not a very good choice if you are picky about cleanliness.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antonio L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Nice hotel with two pools (loved the saltwater pool!) and clean rooms with a wonderful view! Very lovely service by the chef of service Michaela, food was also great, we spent a glorious time in Zermatt! We might come again in winter.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndreaRichenberger85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Hotel was excellent,staff very helpful and position of hotel was good as it is only a 10 minute walk to the centre of Zermatt. We arrived by train and used the free phone on the station concourse to notify the hotel we had arrived and within 5mins. the hotel taxi was there to transfer us to the hotel. We were on bed,breakfast and evening meal accommodation,some evenings it was very quiet in the restaurant, with only two or three couples eating,there needs to be more lighting as well. The only down side was that there was construction of another building,the gantry cranes blocked the view of the Matterhorn. Our rooms were Nos.22 & 23.
Taking everything into consideration we would stay here again.

Brian & Sandra, Cheshire. U,K.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Butterfly
0.2 mi away
Schlosshotel Life & Style
Schlosshotel Life & Style
#15 of 111 in Zermatt
996 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fleurs de Zermatt
Fleurs de Zermatt
#30 of 111 in Zermatt
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alpenhof
Hotel Alpenhof
#16 of 111 in Zermatt
477 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jaegerhof Hotel & Apartements
0.2 mi away
Alpenlodge
Alpenlodge
#11 of 111 in Zermatt
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western PLUS Alpen Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western PLUS Alpen Resort Hotel

Address: Spissstrasse 52 | 3920 Zermatt, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#15 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#18 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#33 Family Hotel in Zermatt
#62 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range: £115 - £332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western PLUS Alpen Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alpen Resort is a modern first class hotel with large and quiet rooms; most with a view of the Matterhorn. The hotel is close to the train station and only a few 100 meters from the ski-lifts. We also have two outdoor tennis courts, two indoor swimming pools (30°C causal pool and 33°C healthy salt water pool), sauna, steambath and whirlpool (all for free). There is also a children's nursery, (Kinderparadies), right across the street! Also for free: pickup service from the train station in Zermatt, internet corner and W-Lan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western PLUS Alpen Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Alpen Hotel Zermatt
Best Western Zermatt
Zermatt Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing