We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family hotel which lives up to the Best Western Good name”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western PLUS Alpen Resort Hotel
Ranked #27 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great family hotel which lives up to the Best Western Good name”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Large rooms, comfy beds, good breakfast and reliable free wi-fi are just a few of the things which add to the allure of this hotel.

Close to the centre of town, we had a room on the second floor of the "arca" building which offered the most amazing views of the surrounding countryside and beautiful photos at night with the buildings lights all twinkling. There are four buildings which make up the hotels rooms, and each building has its own name.

The staff were friendly, and when compared to even the prices of certain apartments to let, this is definitely good value for one or two people.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    202
    47
    17
    9
See reviews for
230
178
31
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
98 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stopped in Zermatt and stayed at this hotel for 2 nights as we were on a 7-day Switzerland group tour. Amongst all the hotels where we stayed, this one was the best. We stayed in the building that's right next to the main hotel building with the reception. Rooms were super large. We also had a separate kid's room. Bathroom was large with a separate toilet area and a separate wash basin. All rooms have large balconies. The only problem in our room was that it was on the first floor and we did not have a view of the Matterhorn. Many rooms have a view of the Matterhorn. Also, our room's balcony was accessible from our neighbouring room and we could go to each other's balcony easily, therefore. For those seeking complete privacy, this could be a problem. But if I am right, that's just the case with our room; all other rooms had individual balconies.

Breakfast was good. The restaurant staff was also very efficient; front desk was helpful. Hotel is very beautifully maintained and is at a very nice location. I strongly recommend this one when in Zermatt

Room Tip: Pick a room on the higher floor. Some rooms also have a separate kid's room. Take rooms with a v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kayezad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pompano Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
150 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Pre booked the hotel for a smoking free room and was given one with a strong smell of smoke. The hotel staff responded right away and offered a nicer room than the originally booked. Many smokers in the hotel, the 3rd floor is designated for smokers, and you will smell the smoke just by walking the halls.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karen_ralph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont
Level Contributor
181 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

If you're lucky, you might have a view of the Matterhorn from your room. This hotel has several different buildings and we were in the Arca building which had the Swiss pine cupboards, a nice balcony and the ubiquitous duvets which keep you warm when you leave your windows open. The breakfast buffet is very nice with hot and cold food and lots of choices. The only negative was the group dinner in the hotel which didn't provide a good vegetarian dinner, although my husband liked his beef.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CathieS42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

So I'm thinking, Best Western (a US chain) in Switzerland???!!!! How bad will this be?

Cast aside your doubts, this is one of the nicest Best Westerns you will ever stay in. Our rooms were superb and included a loft. Best of all was the view of the Matterhorn from our living room window and deck.

The staff were incredibly friendly and remarkably tolerant of our ignorance of Swiss customs. The location of the hotel is a mere 100 meters from the Bahnhof.

Room Tip: Get a room in the front. If you're lucky, you'll catch a view of the Matterhorn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yatz8261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We spent 3 nights at this wonderful hotel. Our room had a direct view of the Matterhorn. Our room was quite large & very clean. A refrigerator was in the room as well. Our room was very quiet -- we didn't hear any noise from either the street or neighbors. The hotel is located near the center of town. It's a small town so you can walk anywhere.

The pool & sauna are amazing!! We didn't try the restaurant as it was a bit pricey. We plan on coming back to Zermatt & we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Labbymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandurah
Level Contributor
155 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We were travelling in a tour group, so can't comment on price, but our room on the 3rd floor faced mountains, had a balcony and small kitchen.
Very comfortable king size bed, 2 singles pushed together, which seems to be the norm.
Plenty of space, wifi, even some English TV channels.
Zermatt is a lovely place, lots of quaint shops loads of bars and restaurants and unlike st. Moritz does not close for the summer season.
Try Potters bar for a drink and bar snacks.

Room Tip: Ask for a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zigzagMandurah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Butterfly
0.2 mi away
Schlosshotel
Schlosshotel
#10 of 110 in Zermatt
905 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alpenhof
Hotel Alpenhof
#14 of 110 in Zermatt
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fleurs de Zermatt
Fleurs de Zermatt
#28 of 110 in Zermatt
201 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jaegerhof Hotel & Apartements
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#37 of 110 in Zermatt
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western PLUS Alpen Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western PLUS Alpen Resort Hotel

Property: Best Western PLUS Alpen Resort Hotel
Address: Spissstrasse 52 | 3920 Zermatt, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#18 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#21 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#33 Family Hotel in Zermatt
#62 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western PLUS Alpen Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alpen Resort is a modern first class hotel with large and quiet rooms; most with a view of the Matterhorn. The hotel is close to the train station and only a few 100 meters from the ski-lifts. We also have two outdoor tennis courts, two indoor swimming pools (30°C causal pool and 33°C healthy salt water pool), sauna, steambath and whirlpool (all for free). There is also a children's nursery, (Kinderparadies), right across the street! Also for free: pickup service from the train station in Zermatt, internet corner and W-Lan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western PLUS Alpen Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Alpen Hotel Zermatt
Best Western Zermatt
Zermatt Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing