We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great summer stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western PLUS Alpen Resort Hotel
Ranked #24 of 111 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed for a couple of nights at the height of summer and this hotel was great for it. Just below the station, sufficiently far from the relentless daytime bustle of town, but still only a couple minutes walk. Breakfast was good, staff friendly. Our room was scrupulously clean and well-attired with a balcony and view to the north down the valley, but was on the small side. The hotel is comprised of several buildings and the one we were staying in is adjacent to the road and opposite a campsite. Was a little noise in the mornings for those who sleep lightly, but overall a very good place that I'd recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Heebsbou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (608)
There are newer reviews for Best Western PLUS Alpen Resort Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

203 - 209 of 608 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

This is a really good choice for a family hotel as there are large rooms, free breakfast, a good pool and sauna area and free Wi-Fi. The resort is a cut above most other Best Westerns I have stayed in. We had a family room with a beautiful Matterhorn view. The staff was friendly and helpful. I would definitely return (and hope to someday). Good value for the area though still expensive (welcome to Switzerland/Zermatt). The restaurant served a delicious rostli for dinner.

It is a little removed from downtown and a bit far from the lifts if you are there for the skiing. The pool room is really, really humid since it has a low ceiling and the hot tub is located in the same room. However, that is not an issue once you are in the pool.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank KJ84037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Large rooms, comfy beds, good breakfast and reliable free wi-fi are just a few of the things which add to the allure of this hotel.

Close to the centre of town, we had a room on the second floor of the "arca" building which offered the most amazing views of the surrounding countryside and beautiful photos at night with the buildings lights all twinkling. There are four buildings which make up the hotels rooms, and each building has its own name.

The staff were friendly, and when compared to even the prices of certain apartments to let, this is definitely good value for one or two people.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stopped in Zermatt and stayed at this hotel for 2 nights as we were on a 7-day Switzerland group tour. Amongst all the hotels where we stayed, this one was the best. We stayed in the building that's right next to the main hotel building with the reception. Rooms were super large. We also had a separate kid's room. Bathroom was large with a separate toilet area and a separate wash basin. All rooms have large balconies. The only problem in our room was that it was on the first floor and we did not have a view of the Matterhorn. Many rooms have a view of the Matterhorn. Also, our room's balcony was accessible from our neighbouring room and we could go to each other's balcony easily, therefore. For those seeking complete privacy, this could be a problem. But if I am right, that's just the case with our room; all other rooms had individual balconies.

Breakfast was good. The restaurant staff was also very efficient; front desk was helpful. Hotel is very beautifully maintained and is at a very nice location. I strongly recommend this one when in Zermatt

Room Tip: Pick a room on the higher floor. Some rooms also have a separate kid's room. Take rooms with a v...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Kayezad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Pre booked the hotel for a smoking free room and was given one with a strong smell of smoke. The hotel staff responded right away and offered a nicer room than the originally booked. Many smokers in the hotel, the 3rd floor is designated for smokers, and you will smell the smoke just by walking the halls.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank karen_ralph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

If you're lucky, you might have a view of the Matterhorn from your room. This hotel has several different buildings and we were in the Arca building which had the Swiss pine cupboards, a nice balcony and the ubiquitous duvets which keep you warm when you leave your windows open. The breakfast buffet is very nice with hot and cold food and lots of choices. The only negative was the group dinner in the hotel which didn't provide a good vegetarian dinner, although my husband liked his beef.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CathieS42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

So I'm thinking, Best Western (a US chain) in Switzerland???!!!! How bad will this be?

Cast aside your doubts, this is one of the nicest Best Westerns you will ever stay in. Our rooms were superb and included a loft. Best of all was the view of the Matterhorn from our living room window and deck.

The staff were incredibly friendly and remarkably tolerant of our ignorance of Swiss customs. The location of the hotel is a mere 100 meters from the Bahnhof.

Room Tip: Get a room in the front. If you're lucky, you'll catch a view of the Matterhorn.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yatz8261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Butterfly
0.2 mi away
Schlosshotel Life & Style
Schlosshotel Life & Style
#15 of 111 in Zermatt
974 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fleurs de Zermatt
Fleurs de Zermatt
#30 of 111 in Zermatt
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alpenhof
Hotel Alpenhof
#16 of 111 in Zermatt
472 reviews
0.5 mi away
BELLERIVE
BELLERIVE
#2 of 111 in Zermatt
451 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
#6 of 111 in Zermatt
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western PLUS Alpen Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western PLUS Alpen Resort Hotel

Address: Spissstrasse 52 | 3920 Zermatt, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#17 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#20 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#33 Family Hotel in Zermatt
#62 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range: £127 - £265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western PLUS Alpen Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alpen Resort is a modern first class hotel with large and quiet rooms; most with a view of the Matterhorn. The hotel is close to the train station and only a few 100 meters from the ski-lifts. We also have two outdoor tennis courts, two indoor swimming pools (30°C causal pool and 33°C healthy salt water pool), sauna, steambath and whirlpool (all for free). There is also a children's nursery, (Kinderparadies), right across the street! Also for free: pickup service from the train station in Zermatt, internet corner and W-Lan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western PLUS Alpen Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Alpen Hotel Zermatt
Best Western Zermatt
Zermatt Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing