We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Life time experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western PLUS Alpen Resort Hotel
Ranked #24 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Life time experience”
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights in August 2014. The hotel is a lovely property just five minutes from the railway station. The room we were given was spacious and well appointed. It had a kitchen with a fridge, microwave, cooking range, cooking vessels, crockery & cutlery. This was really good as we cooked some of our meals as restaurants in Zermatt are very very expensive. There is a Coop right opp the station & is well stocked. The hotel willsend their electric car to pick you up from the station when you arrive. All you have to do is make a call from the free call booth just near the exit & dial the code of our hotel. The code for each hotel is displayed on a screen near the booth. There are two lovely heated pools in the hotel. Breakfast was excellent. The free green bus which takes you to the cable car to reach the Matterhorn Glacier is a two minute walk from the hotel. All in all a fantastic hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarita1607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    206
    47
    17
    9
See reviews for
233
181
31
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Marshfield, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Good location near train station. English speaking staff, unique 4 person room. Bathroom modern stylish but not functional. Shower leaked on the floor in great quantities. Excellent breakfast. Good view of mountain, nice pool (fresh water). Good value for Zermatt.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We visited this hotel for 4 nights on a tour of Switzerland, and it was excellent. The service, rooms and food were all top-notch.
The 5-course menu at dinner was superb, however, breakfast was very busy, even frantic, and additional staff should be provided to cope!
All amenities are provided in the spacious and comfortable rooms, including free Wi-Fi, and they are serviced to a very high standard.
As hikers, my wife and I were very impressed by the location ( a five-minute walk to town), and the rail transportation system. (The town has a green policy whereby there are hardly any internal combustion vehicles - they are nearly all electric, but be careful, they sneak up on you!). The town has a 'laid-back' feel, with good but very expensive shopping, and restaurants and easy access to funicular railways and cable cars/ski lifts.
These take you to some of the most dramatic mountain scenery in the world, and even if there is low-cloud, you can be lucky and rise above it, to see a panorama of snow-capped peaks (including the main attraction - the Matterhorn).

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hikerbri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed for a couple of nights at the height of summer and this hotel was great for it. Just below the station, sufficiently far from the relentless daytime bustle of town, but still only a couple minutes walk. Breakfast was good, staff friendly. Our room was scrupulously clean and well-attired with a balcony and view to the north down the valley, but was on the small side. The hotel is comprised of several buildings and the one we were staying in is adjacent to the road and opposite a campsite. Was a little noise in the mornings for those who sleep lightly, but overall a very good place that I'd recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heebsbou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This is a really good choice for a family hotel as there are large rooms, free breakfast, a good pool and sauna area and free Wi-Fi. The resort is a cut above most other Best Westerns I have stayed in. We had a family room with a beautiful Matterhorn view. The staff was friendly and helpful. I would definitely return (and hope to someday). Good value for the area though still expensive (welcome to Switzerland/Zermatt). The restaurant served a delicious rostli for dinner.

It is a little removed from downtown and a bit far from the lifts if you are there for the skiing. The pool room is really, really humid since it has a low ceiling and the hot tub is located in the same room. However, that is not an issue once you are in the pool.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KJ84037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Large rooms, comfy beds, good breakfast and reliable free wi-fi are just a few of the things which add to the allure of this hotel.

Close to the centre of town, we had a room on the second floor of the "arca" building which offered the most amazing views of the surrounding countryside and beautiful photos at night with the buildings lights all twinkling. There are four buildings which make up the hotels rooms, and each building has its own name.

The staff were friendly, and when compared to even the prices of certain apartments to let, this is definitely good value for one or two people.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stopped in Zermatt and stayed at this hotel for 2 nights as we were on a 7-day Switzerland group tour. Amongst all the hotels where we stayed, this one was the best. We stayed in the building that's right next to the main hotel building with the reception. Rooms were super large. We also had a separate kid's room. Bathroom was large with a separate toilet area and a separate wash basin. All rooms have large balconies. The only problem in our room was that it was on the first floor and we did not have a view of the Matterhorn. Many rooms have a view of the Matterhorn. Also, our room's balcony was accessible from our neighbouring room and we could go to each other's balcony easily, therefore. For those seeking complete privacy, this could be a problem. But if I am right, that's just the case with our room; all other rooms had individual balconies.

Breakfast was good. The restaurant staff was also very efficient; front desk was helpful. Hotel is very beautifully maintained and is at a very nice location. I strongly recommend this one when in Zermatt

Room Tip: Pick a room on the higher floor. Some rooms also have a separate kid's room. Take rooms with a v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kayezad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Butterfly
0.2 mi away
Schlosshotel Life & Style
Schlosshotel Life & Style
#12 of 110 in Zermatt
920 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fleurs de Zermatt
Fleurs de Zermatt
#28 of 110 in Zermatt
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alpenhof
Hotel Alpenhof
#13 of 110 in Zermatt
437 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#41 of 110 in Zermatt
330 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jaegerhof Hotel & Apartements
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western PLUS Alpen Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western PLUS Alpen Resort Hotel

Property: Best Western PLUS Alpen Resort Hotel
Address: Spissstrasse 52 | 3920 Zermatt, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#16 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#19 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#33 Family Hotel in Zermatt
#62 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western PLUS Alpen Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alpen Resort is a modern first class hotel with large and quiet rooms; most with a view of the Matterhorn. The hotel is close to the train station and only a few 100 meters from the ski-lifts. We also have two outdoor tennis courts, two indoor swimming pools (30°C causal pool and 33°C healthy salt water pool), sauna, steambath and whirlpool (all for free). There is also a children's nursery, (Kinderparadies), right across the street! Also for free: pickup service from the train station in Zermatt, internet corner and W-Lan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TravelUp, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western PLUS Alpen Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Alpen Hotel Zermatt
Best Western Zermatt
Zermatt Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing