We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean, disappointing service”
Review of Hotel Holiday

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Holiday
Ranked #65 of 111 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 October 2011

We recently stayed in the Hotel Holiday while traveling with a group. The rooms are spotless and appear to have been recently renovated. The location is a bit far from town and inconvenient with hand luggage. The desk clerk was exceedingly helpful but the rest of the staff left much to be desired. In all of our previous accommodations, we had dinners included with w 2 drinks and fresh water. They did not bring water and said they would only provide 1 drink and if we wanted water, it would be $7.5 Swiss Francs or close to $10 for a small bottle. Upon check-in, our group gathered in the large bar and asked to order glasses of wine. The hotel said they would not sell glasses, only whole bottles. Since we were going to dinner soon, everyone chose to forgo the glass of wine which would have been very enjoyable. The hotel told us the desk would be manned nightly until about 9:30 or 10:00. After dinner, at 8;30, our group had many questions about activities in the area and went to the desk. There was a sign that said they would be right back but after waiting 30 minutes, we decided they had left early and were not returning. The dining staff was very unfriendly, never spoke to our group and seemed happy to say no they would not provide water. The internet is very expensive, there are no shampoos or toiletries. It felt like we were being nickle and dimed to death in this establishment.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Heath1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2011

The hotel renovated the rooms recently and therefore they were spotless and accommodating.
Now they should renovate immediately the lobby that was probably built in the early 1970's.
One annoying thing was that they charge 15 CHF for the shuttle service from the central train station to the hotel. I have stayed at many ski resorts and this is the first time that a shuttle for the guests is not for free, especially when the hotel is 15 minutes walk on not on plain level off course...

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dannyalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2011

Stayed here with friend for four nights in early April 11 for long weekend skiing. It was cheapest accom we could find though we paid premium to have view of Matterhorn, so worked out at £180 for two per night incl breakfast.
Rooms very clean, reasonably spacious and small but ample balcony. On 4th floor we could see Matterhorn as promised but we were looking thru scaffolding of a new build hotel. Service in hotel good when we needed a few items, and reception staff v helpful and friendly. Breakfasts were good - cold buffet but v good choice, including lovely fresh breads, fruit, cheeses and ham etc and cereals - hot boiled eggs too. Not much life around hotel in evenings. There is a very pleasant high street in Zermatt for window shopping only!
Location is reasonable - 150m downhill to Matterhorn Sports (and to bus stop) where we had hired skis (over internet as its much cheaper) and about 300m from funicular to get up to rothorn area. Skiing is brilliant for medium/good skiiers with great vertical drops and fantastic views. You definitely have to ski here at least once, though cheaper option is to stay in Cervina on Italian side (which we have done twice before, but you do run slight risk that lifts at top will be closed due to high winds - remember you are skiing most of the time at over 2000m and up to 3800m.
Zermatt is wildly expensive. Eating out in particular is expensive though we found Sparkys thru tripadvisor and highly recommend. In other restaurants expect to pay 30 to 45 CHF for your main course. In Sparkys limited menu but v tasty food with mains around 20 to 25 CHF. It was a pleasant 20 mins walk from hotel.
We walked (with wheeled bags) from railway station on arrival but lots of electric taxis as alternative.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Prospector1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2011

My main criteria for a hotel in Zermatt is proximity to lifts and a reasonably priced place that doesn’t require a 7 night stay. I wanted a room close to one of the lift systems and Hotel Holiday is about a 5 min walk to the Sunnegga (a underground rail that takes you to mid mountain). From there, you can access the Rothorn Paradise or ski down to the other two peaks at the resort.

Rooms - The rooms at Holiday are exceptionally clean and based on the décor, they were probably renovated before the winter season. The breakfast included with our room rate was excellent; a selection of juices, cereal, and cured meat. The staff at the front desk spoke English well and they were very helpful with our questions. Note, not all the rooms have a view (our faced a construction building) and the hotel is just a slight uphill walk (really about 2 minutes) from the road.

Transportation - From the train station (which is also the main road of the town with all the shops/hotels), the hotel is about a 10 min walk away. It’s definitely walk able in the summer but in the winter, the shortest path is slightly steep given how icy all the roads are. Still walk able with luggage if you’re careful. A slightly longer road is less steep but adds about another 5 minutes. Overall, I’m very pleased with the hotel and our skiing experience and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shannon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2011

We recently stayed for 8 nights at the Holiday Hotel over Christmas 2010 and were delighted. The hotel is spotlessly clean and very recently remodeled. We had a family room with two double beds together for my husband and I and a terrific fold out love seat for our 9 year old son which the staff made up every night while we were at dinner. The corner room had great views and windows all around and the bath was great. Very cozy and comfortable.

The hotel has a downstairs lobby area with wireless internet (you pay) and I truly wish this was available in your room, but it did force me to go downstairs and meet other people which, in the end, was really nice. My son made friends from Holland and the Innkeepers were very tolerant of having the kids playing in the lobby/living room every night.

The chef/owner is a superb french chef and the restaurant is great. Dinner is a real treat. The half board rate is an extremely good deal. The breakfast is good, although I would like to see a few more hot items.

Location is easy walking to the village and they have ski storage and an electric bus to shuttle you to and from the train station.

Overall a delightful inn and we will return.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank emailingann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2010

We had booked this hotel after going through the reviews and it turned out to be an utter disspointment. As soon as we landed at the hotel to check in, the receptionist told us that we had to be shifted to another "sister" hotel. We had chosen Hotel Holiday primarily for the view of the Matterhorn, the good restaurant, etc. However the hotel nearby we were shifted to had neither a view (it overlooked the neighbouring buildings) nor did it have any restaurant. We had booked a family room and had to live with double room at a "neighbouring" hotel. We felt very cheated and dissapointed despite confirming our booking with this hotel before we reached. Book this hotel only if you want to live with the uncertainity of where you would be spending your night. Very upset and dissapointed.

Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
2  Thank justbkfromswiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2010

The hotel is a 3 star on facilities. No pool or hut tub but it was brilliant in all other respects. Our rook had a fantastic view of the matterhorn, the service was excellent, the location an easy walk to the ski lifts and rental shop and the price excellent for Zermatt. I will stay here again if i go back to Zermatt as I would take a 3 star in a good location over a more expensive 4 star in not such a good location if i am there purely for the skiing.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank snowsandsurfswim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.6 mi away
Alpenblick
Alpenblick
#67 of 111 in Zermatt
139 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Phoenix
Hotel Phoenix
#24 of 111 in Zermatt
365 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Perren
Hotel Perren
#52 of 111 in Zermatt
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#38 of 111 in Zermatt
344 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jaegerhof Hotel & Apartements
0.3 mi away
Hotel Continental Zermatt
Hotel Continental Zermatt
#76 of 111 in Zermatt
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Holiday? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Holiday

Address: Gryfelblatte 4, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#57 Family Hotel in Zermatt
#64 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range: £137 - £270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Holiday 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Holiday is situated in a quiet place, 8 minutes' walk from Zermatt's centre and only 200 metres from the Sunnegga Express, taking you to the Sunnegga, Blauherd and Rothorn mountains. The ski slope from the Sunnegga down to Zermatt brings you right to the Holiday hotel. The Gornergrat train station and the bus stop to the Klein Matterhorn are as well easily reachable on foot. Our hotel has 36 non-smoking double or family rooms on four floors, with elevator access. Our family rooms have three or four beds, and some have connecting doors. Each room offers modern facilities in a warm and bright setting and has access to a balcony. Most of the rooms have a beautiful mountain view. Our restaurant,>, allows you to enjoy dishes prepared by our chef, Denis Matray, a former student of Paul Bocuse. Our cuisine distinguishes itself by its use of high quality seasonal products. After a peaceful night's sleep, our generous breakfast buffet will set you off on a good foot for the day. You may select our half-board menu or give in to the temptations of our a la carte menu. You will also appreciate the cosy and chic atmosphere of our lounge-bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Holiday reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing