We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding comfort, service, and food at a reasonable price”
Review of Hotel Holiday

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Holiday
Ranked #64 of 111 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2009

My wife and I , together with another couple of friends from Australia as we are, stayed four nights at Hotel Holiday in June 2009. I was a little apprehensive, having read some negative comments on TripAdvisor, but those mainly related to booking problems (of which we had none). We were collected by a hotel staff member at the Railway Station, and transported direct to the hotel, where we were given a large comfortable room with superb views of the Matterhorn -- simply magic on a clear summer evening to sit on the balcony and have a pre-dinner drink.
The staff at all times were extremely obliging and helpful in establishing in the mornings exactly which walking tracks were open and which lifts were operating. They also supplied us with lightweight dunas (duvees) for our beds when requested.
After one dinner in the centre of town, we elected to eat in at the hotel restaurant where the quality of food was extremely good. A good breakfast was included in the tariff, which by the usual pricey Swiss standards, was very reasonable.
We were told that the rooms had been renovated less than a year ago --something to be aware of in future when using TripAdvisor as assessments can readily become out of date. Cetainly we were delighted with the facilities that the rooms offered.
All in all, we would have no hesitation in recommending Hotel Holiday to prospective guests. It scertainly contributeed significantly to a wonderful stay in a super location.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FieryFreddo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Holiday
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2009

Just one of the many hotels you can find in Zermatt, but then with 2 very positive notes. The first one is the price. And Zermatt not being a cheap place that's quite an important note. We paid the equivalent of 120 euro for one night which is really not bad at all. The second positive note is that the rooms have been done up completely in 2008 and now look really nice. They are spacious, comfortable and not at all like the hotel rooms you can find in many other Swiss hotels, i.e. looking as if nothing has changed since the seventies.

It takes a small walk from the train station to reach the hotel. But in return you get a lot of peace and quite at night, without all the noisy bars which can sometimes make a stay in the center of town a little bit of a nightmare.

We will definitely go back to the Holiday Hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian_Rivera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2009

Zermatt is beatiful. The hotel is at walking distance from the centre and the slopes. The room are quite big and the breakfast very good.
Dinner is to0 much sofisticated, based on french cousine, elegant but not enough after a long day on the slopes. It is not possibile to be in Zermatt and have for dinner seabass and other sea food. Come on!
Prices are high.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maximovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2009

I already experienced a very bad hospitality service though I never stay there. I tried to make an inquiry of availability & price their hotel website and I don't expect that such "enquiry" force me to make a reservation by filling in my credit card information. After the enquiry I made, I've never received any email about this confimed booking. They simply assume that I've confirmed without an email re-confirmation. I really don't think it's general practice as I also enquired other hotels in Zermatt.
They directly charged a week accommodation to my credit card on the so-called "check-in" date which is over US$1,000!!! Remember, I only made an inquiry and no intention to confirm any room as my trip was not yet confirmed at that time.
When I sent email to them and explain I didn't make a firmed reservation and asked them to refund. However, they insisted to tell me that they do not have any mistake and saying that no refund at all. This is my first time to exeperience such hotel service without any concession to their customers.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank JJ728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holidayzermatt, Front Desk Manager at Hotel Holiday, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2009

We regret that bad experience, however we receive many reservations through our website. We did not imagine that someone who has provided their credit card details as well as agreeing with our reservation conditions, did not intend to make reservation. As the reconfirmation e-mail is an automatic answer it sometimes ends up in the spam folder.

Anyone that wishes to just make an inquiry at our hotel has to click the contact button and we will respond the question. If the reservation button is used and followed through then we receive the reservation and assume it as such.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2009

We chose this hotel for a family gathering of 12 family members, skiers and non skiers. The rooms had been refurbished during summer 2008, and were very very nice. Unlike another review I would not classify this hotel as being in 'Central Zermatt' as it is not in the Bahnhofstarasse or orther main streets. Rather it is in a slightly peripheral location, on the Rothorn side of town. The location is ideal, being not too far from all main amenities. It is easy to walk to and from the station and central Zermatt, an also easy to walk to the Sunnegga Express. It is close enough to a Ski bus stop for access to the Kelin Matterhorn Gondelbahn.

Breakfast was excellent

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WisetravellerUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2009

A comfortable central option in high-priced Zermatt.
Hotel: Nothing special about the Hotel Holiday from its neighbors, however the quality was above the average ski hotel. Though the least expensive option when booking 1 week in advance, the price/performance ratio is relatively poor.... but that is a factor of overpriced Zermatt, not the hotel. In a major European city, this room would be far less expensive.
Rooms: Larger than average, with large balcony w/obstructed-view of the Matterhorn. Comfortable beds, but with the typical Germanic habit of placing two twin mattresses in one double frame and offering only a duvet cover with no top sheet. Very clean room and bathroom.
Staff: Friendly. Weren't able to check-in at 3pm, upon arrival. However, after a long final day of skiing, they allowed us to change, despite having already checked-out that morning.
Location: 3 blocks from the town train station, in central Zermatt. Convenient.
Breakfast: Typically basic, with a few cereals, yogurt, bread and cold cuts + coffee and juice.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank washbrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2008

Great stay at the Hotel Holiday!

Stayed hear low season 08 and was pleasently suprised as the hotel really did offer everthing you needed. I work for a luxury UK tour operator and work with many luxury 5* hotels in all the best ski resorts in europe including Zermatt and I found this hotel to be up there with the rest!

The rooms needed updating which is happening this Autumn and there is no room service or a conceirge but you're not paying top dollar so you wouldn't expect this.

The food in the evenings is as good as some of the best resurants in resort and it's included in the room price. We paid less than £400 for the room for the week which was on the top floor with amazing matterhorn views.. better than those at the Zermatterhof and the Mont Cervin Palace.

Perfect location just far enough out of the main village you don't get disturbed by the noise yet you're close enough to walk anywhere. Have booked allready for next year and I suggest you do the same.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Redcrossback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.6 mi away
Alpenblick
Alpenblick
#63 of 111 in Zermatt
139 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Phoenix
Hotel Phoenix
#29 of 111 in Zermatt
354 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Perren
Hotel Perren
#51 of 111 in Zermatt
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ambiance
Hotel Ambiance
#55 of 111 in Zermatt
102 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#37 of 111 in Zermatt
342 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Adonis
Hotel Adonis
#69 of 111 in Zermatt
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Holiday? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Holiday

Address: Gryfelblatte 4, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#57 Family Hotel in Zermatt
#64 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range: £103 - £253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Holiday 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Holiday is situated in a quiet place, 8 minutes' walk from Zermatt's centre and only 200 metres from the Sunnegga Express, taking you to the Sunnegga, Blauherd and Rothorn mountains. The ski slope from the Sunnegga down to Zermatt brings you right to the Holiday hotel. The Gornergrat train station and the bus stop to the Klein Matterhorn are as well easily reachable on foot. Our hotel has 36 non-smoking double or family rooms on four floors, with elevator access. Our family rooms have three or four beds, and some have connecting doors. Each room offers modern facilities in a warm and bright setting and has access to a balcony. Most of the rooms have a beautiful mountain view. Our restaurant,>, allows you to enjoy dishes prepared by our chef, Denis Matray, a former student of Paul Bocuse. Our cuisine distinguishes itself by its use of high quality seasonal products. After a peaceful night's sleep, our generous breakfast buffet will set you off on a good foot for the day. You may select our half-board menu or give in to the temptations of our a la carte menu. You will also appreciate the cosy and chic atmosphere of our lounge-bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Holiday reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing