We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent, Customer Focused Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Metropol & Spa Zermatt
Ranked #52 of 109 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent, Customer Focused Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

My partner and I booked a double room with half board (46 euro extra) knowing that eating out in Zermatt would be very expensive.

On arrival we were warmly greeted by the Manager who offered us a welcome drink and salmon snack. He then personally showed us to our room which was spacious (a rarity in Switzerland), well laid out and had a superb view of the Matterhorn. At the evening meal we were welcomed by the staff and the Manager who was keen to ensure that we enjoyed the meal; always offering more of each of the four courses and checking whether we would prefer an alternative. The following evening he again greeted us and asked what would we like to eat. We were rather surprised by this as we expected to have had to choose from the set menu. But no. He made it clear that we could literally have anything that we wanted .. chicken, veal, lamb, fish......I opted for fillet steak with rosti whilst my partner had 4 superb lamb chops all accompanied by freshly cooked vegetables. Amazing value!

The next day it rained and when we returned to the hotel in the late afternoon the Manager offered us a complimentary drink as the weather had been bad!

The Metropol certainly has to be the best hotel that we have stayed in for many a year. Comfortable, centrally positioned (just 5 minutes walk from the railway station) and most of all customer focussed. Nothing was too much trouble. The only minor issue was the lack of a fridge/mini-bar but given everything else one cannot complain.

Room Tip: A room with the view of the Matterhorn is well worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keianne13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    34
    3
    5
    0
See reviews for
45
40
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Congleton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

We've stayed at the Metropol many times over the past 10+ years, summer and winter, and have always enjoyed our stay and been well very looked after by Mr & Mrs Taugwalder and their staff.

The hotel is pretty central and only about a 5 minute walk from the station but taxi collection can be arranged if preferred and is useful in snowy conditions.

The rooms are all pretty spacious with nice modern bathrooms and are exceptionally clean. Breakfast is generous continental style though cooked options are available too. We've never had an evening meal in the hotel as the village has a great variety of places to eat - all within a 5 - 10 minute stroll.

For skiers, the Sunnegga funicular is about 5 mins away and its even less of a walk to the ski bus stop to reach the other ski areas.

The wellness centre is wonderful and has a sauna, jacuzzi, solarium, small gym and a great pool with Matterhorn views. In summer, the lawned garden has relaxing sun beds for use free of charge.

Room Tip: Book a Matterhorn view if you can to truly enjoy the magnificent sunrises and catch the sun on your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Excelsior, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

I am surprised that this hotel is rated #42. Having been to Zermatt several times, once we found this hotel, we were set for all future visits. Service was excellent, the food service as good an any we have found in Zermatt and, the health spa is second to none. Very personal service, beautiful rooms (5 star) and many with 5 star views of the Matterhorn. Be there in August and back late Fall.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Matterhorn are worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RCW5908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaipur, Rajasthan, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013

the specialty of this hotel is its service and i has a spa and a hot water swimming pool in the basement and it has its van service to pick you u up from the railway station and the spa and hot water pool in open all day in times of turbulent weather ( snow fall ) you should visit the matterhorn glacier its wonderful but dont forget your warm clothes

Room Tip: it is a travelers paradise for the ones who love snow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pragyagadhaiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

I stayed here with my parents for 4 nights, we each got a bed (they moved an extra twin in). The half-board was an extra charge - but we found it provided great value and was very convenient, so had it every day we were there. Location was great. Walking distance to one of the lifts and about a 5 minute walk to the center of town. We got in late (and left very early) so had to arrange our own taxi service (the hotel's service is only available during business hours). The facilities are very clean and well maintained. Great pool, solarium, sauna, etc. Great views of the Matterhorn.
They paid great attention to us - the owner was there every day and served us each breakfast and dinner.

Room Tip: One side has a view of the Matterhorn. It costs more but we thought it was totally worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HJ425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

We stayed here with our 2 young boys in 1 room with perfect view to the Matterhorn. Location was fantastic, food was excellent, hospitality great. Will go back in winter for skiing. Recommend for anyone, great for families.

Room Tip: Best views of Matterhorn anywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Very much like home, nothing luxurious, but with very relaxing spirit about the hotel. The rooms to the south side have magnificent view! There are also some spa facilities including a swimming pool, sauna, steam bath and relaxation area.
I had a very good room with a balcony and a breathtaking view to the Matterhorn. I could have spent the whole day just enjoying the weather and the view.
The Wi-fi is free and high-speed.
Every evening there was some theme for dinner, like food from Wallis or an Italian buffet.
I would recommend the hotel to those who look for a good price for a good value.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Letyshchaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.1 mi away
Parkhotel Beau Site
Parkhotel Beau Site
#9 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alpenhof
Hotel Alpenhof
#14 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Perren
Hotel Perren
#45 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel National Zermat
Hotel National Zermat
#29 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fleurs de Zermatt
Fleurs de Zermatt
#24 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.2 mi away
Schlosshotel
Schlosshotel
#11 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropol & Spa Zermatt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropol & Spa Zermatt

Property: Hotel Metropol & Spa Zermatt
Address: Matterstrasse 9, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#34 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#37 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#45 Family Hotel in Zermatt
#56 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Metropol & Spa Zermatt 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your holidays in Zermatt while the Matterhorn keeps watching Welcome to our 4-star family Hotel Metropol & Spa in the heart of Zermatt! Experience genuine hospitality and a cosy atmosphere - we promise to make you feel at home. Enjoy our beautiful spa area with sauna, steam bath, jacuzzi and swimming pool with a unique view of the Matterhorn. The free wi-fi throughout the Hotel makes your holiday perfect. We look forward to your visit! Yours Franziska and Gabriel Taugwalder ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Metropol & Spa Zermatt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropol Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing