We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value in a central location for town and slopes”
Review of Haus Esplanade

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Haus Esplanade
Reviewed 20 February 2014

If you're a local, or willing to spend weeks trawling through dodgy apartment websites, you might find a better deal that Haus Esplanade for weekly rentals in Zermatt. But it's hard to go past the friendly and prompt service of the folks at Perren apartments. Although they don't offer cancellation (unless they can find a replacement guest), they were enormously helpful when I had to change dates.

We had Studio 4 at Esplande and everything went like clockwork (except for the breakfast orders). The apartment was small but adequate for just the two of us, and presented immaculately. The kitchen was small but well equipped, including a Raclette set. And given the price of eating out in Zermatt, we used it intensively. And, unlike some reviews I saw, our experience with the free WiFi was excellent.

It's a 600m, mostly flat, slog to any of the ski lifts, but the Red Line bus runs from about 100m up the hill to the South of the apartment. Access to the apartment is from the north east, so it's not as close to the lifts as it looks on the map. My special tip: If you ski off the mountain from the Sunnegga area, and the roads have snow on them, you can ski all the way off the mountain and down Reidweg to within 100m of the apartment.

The only gripe was that apartment 4, on the first floor, was pretty noisy with people coming and going and some of the permanent residents going about their business. And of course the view wasn't so great. I'd love to stay there again, but I will ask for something higher up (not apartments 1 -- 4). For winter, you probably need to book at least 4 -- 5 months in advance.

Room Tip: Try and go higher up the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Douglas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (10)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 10 of 10 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2013

Our family vacation consisted of 6 adults, we stayed on the top floor in the 3 bedroom, 3 bath. It was comfortable, very roomy, very clean and had a beautiful view of the Matterhorn. The furnishings are very modern and pretty.
We recommend these accommodations for your holiday.
A few notes:
#1 - We did have 2 elderly people in our party that had a difficult time managing the long unkept icy walkway. They could not go out without the help of others in our group as this walk was not cleared during our entire weeklong stay. I would think that this would be an easy fix as we noticed other walkways that were completely cleaned and cleared near our building, but not ours.
#2 - None of the very modern appliances and fixtures had instructions. So although they are expensive it didn't seem to make sense to not have some sort of instructions for their use. We had no idea how to operate the ovens, remote controls for the blinds and windows, dishwasher controls, jacuzzi tub, etc. It would seem that this would be another easy fix to print out a summary of instructions for the guests to be able to operate the appliances.
#3 - We had a few items that did not work in the room (toaster, 2 skylight blinds were stuck in the down position, etc) and we notified Susi on the 2nd day but she never responded until the 6th day. What was the sense? We would have loved to have been able to look out the skylight windows during the entire week but never were able to (isn't that the point?). And she told us she would have the housekeeper get us a toaster but we never did get one. Also, we had at least 5 lightbulbs out in the apartment. We would have been happy to replace them ourselves if there would have been a supply in the closet.
#4 - We had read on reviews before our trip that the wifi was not good in this building, but we never once had a problem with it. It worked perfectly the entire week.
#5 - The mattresses are the most uncomfortable mattresses we've ever slept on. They are the thin synthetic foam deals. Horrible. You can't possibly roll on the things. It takes quite a few nights just to get accustomed to laying on them. If you can, bring a sleeping bag!
If we were to go to Zermatt again, we would definately stay at this apartment again, although we would be careful to work out what is possible with Susi in advance.
Zermatt is a lovely little place to stay. We will have fond memories.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank DaisyMaeUnitedStates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susi-Wicki, Inhaber at Haus Esplanade, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our attic apartment. I'm glad to hear that over all you enjoyed your stay in Zermatt and would also consider coming back to our apartment.
I would just like to write my point of view on some of your comments:
- I'm very sorry to hear that your parents could not leave the house without help. The little path to Esplanade is on purpose not cleared complety, as if we did, it would mean that during daytime the snow on the side would melt and the water would cover concret, which would lead to a complety iced path. Even the main streets in Zermatt are not completly cleared because of this reason.
- During your stay we have spoken about the missing instructions, so we have solved this issue in the mean time. But if you had this many problems, why didn't you asked me when I was there to come and visit you on your first day to print the skipasses for you, or on Wednesday when I passed by with the homemade Muffins as a little mid-week treat?
- The Toaster was broken and I apologise that our housekeeper has missed out on bringing a new one around.
- The matrasses we have choosen for the apartment are 24 cm thick and are TEMPUR Matrasses, of which the price for one is Sfr. 1900.--, not really cheap I think...
- The 2 blind out of the 12 in total need to have a complete new motor, they have been ordered, but unfortunatly it takes a while, as they don't have them on stock.

I wish you a very nice summer and send you

sunny regards from Zermatt

Susi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Our group supervised by Daniel Masse has for years been sking in Zermatt and staying with Madame Perrin at the Haus Esplanade. The value for money has been exellent, clean and neat apartments, very bright and lots of room {even by Canadian standards}.Speakig for daniel and the rest of the ski group, we have been treated exceptionally well and fairly by the Perrin family.Thank you and we will continue in the comming years to stay at the Esplanade and ski our buns off in Zermatt and Chervina.

Room Tip: It is nice if the apts.would designate a bath or just a shower...Some like to soak in a bath after a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jayfitz f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Travelling Europe with five teenagers and this is our fourth hotel. As we are a party of six people it is sometimes hard to find accomodations that "fit" but this was a wonderful place to stay. We stayed in the two bedroom apartment (1,100 square feet). Ten minutes from the Zermatt Express. Remember Zermatt is a car free area. My teenagers were very surprised to know that and very excited to see actual horse drawn sleighs and even a sleigh baby carriage. Be advised there is a 40 meter walkway from the road to the building. May be slippery or snow covered. This is a row of apartment buildings and this is an apartment type accomodation, not a hotel.

Kitchen: Management provided juice, coffee, a bottle of wine, and Swiss chocolate upon check in. Very nice touch. Plenty of cookware and other utinsels. Very, very clean....white kitchen which appeared spotless. Seating for at least 8 people.

Living Room: Entire apartment is wood type floors which leads to cleanliness. Balcony with view of the Matterhorn. Large "L" shaped leather sofa which served as two twin beds at night. Also a CD player and flat screen TV.

Bedrooms - 2: Each room had a large king size type bed which could be moved apart to make two twin beds. There was also a wardrobe and small desk.

Bathroom: Very clean. Bathtub/shower combination with sink and toilet. No counter space.

Other: Free Wi-Fi is advertised, but it is either intermittent or not working at all. The building is not well marked, pay attention to the address on your reservation. Owners/operators are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MinnesotaM-GreenBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susi-Wicki, Owner at Haus Esplanade, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to review Esplanade and sunny regards from Zermatt.
Susi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Wollimoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BUHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel Butterfly
0.7 mi away
Best Western PLUS Alpen Resort Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Firefly
Hotel Firefly
#3 of 110 in Zermatt
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Jaegerhof Hotel & Apartements
0 mi away
Zermatt Youth Hostel
Zermatt Youth Hostel
#3 of 76 in Zermatt
144 reviews
0.8 mi away
Alpenlodge
Alpenlodge
#11 of 110 in Zermatt
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haus Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haus Esplanade

Address: Steinmattstrasse 84, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 76 Speciality Lodging in Zermatt
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon so you can book your Haus Esplanade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing