We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace, quiet, and perfection up on the mountain.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riffelalp Resort 2222 m
Ranked #43 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed at the Riffelalp for a week in early March with our adult son and 14 year old grandson. This was our second stay. Expensive but worth every penny. It is a magical spot. Being able to ski in and out was perfect for our grandson who learned his way around the mountains very quickly and hence was able to ski on his own until the very last light in the afternoons when we were already tired and relaxing with a cup of tea in the hotel lounge. The service is old-style European hotel service, a delight. The food was very good, sort of classic rather than cutting edge. (Well, actually the desserts were cutting edge, gorgeously plated.) The food suited the elegant alpine style of the dining room.

The hotel has a wonderful ski guide Jann who leads groups several times a week to parts of the mountain you might not discover on your own. An excellent experience and a good way to get to know the other guests.

On a moonlit winter night, the outdoor pool with its view of the Matterhorn is quite the unforgettable experience. The Spa has a lot of unusual features, several choices of saunas, steam rooms etc. Our grandson loved the billiards room. All of the rooms are lovely. We opted for the lower priced ones on our second stay and they were just as nice as the prime rooms with the Matterhorn view. In fact, while you are skiing, you are almost always looking at the Matterhorn, so we appreciated the view from our room of the path up to the hotel from the Riffelalp train station.

My only caveat is that this hotel is for people who want a quiet, peaceful, elegant experience. Stay in town if you are looking for nightlife.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KBAARCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (294)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 294 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014

This was our second stay at Riffelalp, unfortunately the service was nowhere near as good as the previous year. Not sure that it merits the 5* accolade, Some of the very basic elements were lacking and new and (very) inexperienced staff disappointed. The Al Bosco restaurant experience was a particular low point, appalling service and food not a patch on the previous year. Speaking with the manager a few days later he explained that it was a staff issue with the lady we described as being outstanding in 2013 having broken her leg. That covered the service issue but the cold scallops! The hotel is in an idyllic location with spectacular views, unfortunately that will not be enough to entice us back, we visited and ate at the Grand Hotel Zermatterhof which seems a far better option - albeit not ski in and out.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alfe87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We come here every year since 11 years for a week of skiing. Everything is first class at this hotel: the location, the rooms, the service, the cuisine, the wellness with outside pool, etc. It is five stars! It is up the mountain and you will. Ski-in and Ski-out directly at the hotel.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mario F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

This has been our third winter vacation at Riffelalp. You can read my previous reviews about the hotel.
Nothing has changed because there is nothing to improve.
The well trained staff, the sensation of owners taking care of things, the swiss perfection of every detail, the superb food in its 3 restaurants, the beautifull spa, the convenience of a private ski rental shop, the ski in - ski out practicability, the spacious rooms and bathrooms, the high speed free WIFI in rooms, the bowling alley, the pool table salon, the skating ring, all this makes it an unique lodging experience.
Luxury, elegance, peace and top 5 star swiss perfection for discerning skiers.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank guillermohoter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We just finished a one week stay at Riffelalp, and it was, by a wide margin, the best overall experience we've had at a ski hotel either in Europe or the US (including stays at top hotels in Courchevel, Val d'Isere, Corvara, Vail, Snowmass, and Whistler). Every element of our experience was nearly perfect, starting with the service. Riffelalp manages to achieve the elusive goal of service that anticipates your needs, rather than just reacting to them, something many hotels promise but few deliver. Before we arrived, they let us know everything we needed to know about getting to the hotel, which is a bit complicated because it is halfway up the mountain in Zermatt. When we arrived, we had already purchased ski passes, which turned out to be a mistake because we purchased the wrong ones. They helped us sort out the issues, and arranged for everything we needed. When we had an issue with the power in our room because of a faulty device we brought, there was someone there in about 2 minutes to help, and the issue was resolved within 5 minutes. Every issue we had (and there weren't very many) was dealt with quickly and professionally.

Some of the other elements that made this such a great stay:

- The rooms are very luxurious, with great beds, whirlpool tubs, espresso maker, sound system, top flight bathrooms, etc.

- Food at the restaurants was generally very good -- we felt no need to go into Zermatt for meals.

- The hotel provides a ski guide for anyone who wants to join, 4 days a week, at no charge. Jann, the guide, really made a difference in our stay. One day he took us to ski at Cervinia (Italy), another around Zermatt, and on a third day took a group of us onto within-bounds but ungroomed and less skied terrain. This benefit alone could be worth the price of your room on the nights you ski with him.

- The spa and pool area was fantastic, with many types of steam, whirlpool and sauna experiences, including two in cave-like rooms.

- The location on the slopes was very central and easy to get to at the end of the ski day.

Our trip to Riffelalp was our best overall experience in 30 years of ski trips to Europe and in the US. We're already planning our next trip back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Matterhorn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeBOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Excellent hotel offering in and out skiing; possibly not for beginner skiers, this the whole of Zermatt, and those staying at Riffelalp will need to be proficient to ski into Zermatt and connect to the extensive ski lift system although it is possible to take the train to Riffelberg if so required, albeit a more arduous and timely exercise.

While the hotel is situated slightly out of Zermatt and offers a lovely tranquil setting, if you want to travel down to Zermatt and participate in the festivities, after hour train timetable fairly rigid and not ideal; the hotel offers a partnership system with a number of restaurants in Zermatt for this purpose, but again you will need to make use of the train system which offers return trips at either 19h30, 21h50, or the last train at 23h30 - this all being fairly inflexible and not ideal. Personally, we found that the hotel was the better option but for those wanting to visit the town take note.

Room Tip: While more expensive, a view of the Matterhorn is a must; also try and get a room not too close to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shifty324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We chose to have Christmas lunch in this restaurant and all four of us were sorely disappointed. In direct contract to the Mark Twain lounge not but 20 meters away, the food and service here are almost a joke.

My pasta was almost inedible due to the amount of salt - does the Chef not taste the food? My wife tasted to to make sure I wasn't going mad but it really was verging on the inedible. The pizza's are more style then substance.

Poor food would be one thing, but to top it all off it is expensive and the service is horrible: inattentive and brusque. Fine for a diner, but not at this price.

Avoid if you can, or pop over the road...

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Schweizerli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Mont Cervin Palace
Hotel Mont Cervin Palace
#17 of 110 in Zermatt
517 reviews
1.4 mi away
CERVO Zermatt
CERVO Zermatt
#11 of 110 in Zermatt
700 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Omnia
The Omnia
#4 of 110 in Zermatt
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Zermatterhof
Grand Hotel Zermatterhof
#23 of 110 in Zermatt
525 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riffelhaus 1853
Riffelhaus 1853
#48 of 110 in Zermatt
152 reviews
0.9 mi away
Matterhorn Focus - Design Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riffelalp Resort 2222 m? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riffelalp Resort 2222 m

Address: Hotel Riffelalp, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Zermatt
#9 Business Hotel in Zermatt
#22 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#28 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#28 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#32 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range: £261 - £703 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Riffelalp Resort 2222 m 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riffelalp Resort 2222 m reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riffelalp Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing