We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Everything Except the Food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riffelalp Resort 2222 m
Ranked #39 of 111 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 September 2008

We were really looking forward to the Riffelalp Resort.

Everything at this hotel was 5 star except the food!

The room was outstanding! As mentioned previously, we could hit the button on the remote control and our curtains would open and the Matterhorn was visible from our bed!!

Nice touches...we arrived in our room to find a welcome snack, a bottle of chilled white wine and a bottle of water. After driving to Tasch and parking at the Welcome Parking Center, taking a taxi to Zermatt, meeting the porter to take us to the train, a 20 minute cog-wheel train ride and a 6 minute walk (they also have a trolley) to the hotel, the bottle of wine was really appreciated.

The spa was fantastic!! Great pools, at least 3 different saunas, a number of steam baths, and a grotto with laydown jacuzzi that I need to buy (immediately) for my house!!!

The location is just wonderful. Step outside and its another postcard photo!

The staff at the hotel was wonderful! From reception to dining, the service was excellent.

The bowling is often broken and I was able to bowl a few frames before the machine broke again.

The Food....

This was the major disappointment!

The breakfast buffet was outstanding and one of the best we encountered on our 21 day trip to Europe. You name it, they had it available in their breakfast buffet!! After drinking fresh carrot juice for the first time, I came home and bought a juicer.

We had lunch at the Italian restaurant outside the front door of the hotel lobby. The fondue was good (not as good as we had in Gruyeres). The raclette is to die for (and from all I ate I'm afraid I might!?). The staff at this restaurant was awesome!

The bar in the hotel really doesn't have "snack" food. Pasta bolognese, steak, etc. They need more appetizer type foods. If they had that I would have spent more time in the bar area.

The 5 course meals were extremely disappointing and the food extremely amateurish.

The salad buffet was good. The soups were poor! Everynight one soup option was the same consomme with either a spicy bread in it, or some other morsel. Really terrible.

The entrees were equally as bad. I had a fish stew one night that was supposed to be a saffron based fish stew with crotons and spicy rouille. Take some water add a pinch of saffron, throw in some fish pieces and spread some spicy mayo on the whole crouton. It reminded me of a husband who couldn't cook, trying to surprise his wife by cooking her dinner. My wife ordered salmon, it arrived at our table uncooked! We ate here two nights and decided to eat dinner the next two nights at the Italian restaurant across the way. Their food was not the greatest but acceptable.

The Riffelalp is also pretty isolated.

We will go back to Switzerland (hopefully many more times), but we will go back to the Belvedere Hotel in Grindelwald in the Bernese Oberland. Outstanding hotel, outstanding food, close to all gondolas, trains, etc. to all other areas (Murren, Wengen, Jungfraujoch, etc.). It was nice to see the Matterhorn once.

Special note one employee of Riffelalp was a waiter named Emmanuel (I believe). He was the tall skinny gentlemen who was an outstanding server. He was one of the finest waiters we have ever had anywhere!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank AVIDEATER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (284)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 284 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2008

We celebrated our wedding at Riffelalp 2222m and where in the very best hands both before, during and after.
Great food and superb service both at the wedding and at the restaurant. Very nice rooms, and the best view in the alps.
Toghether with the Gleneagles the best hotel we have stayed in, and we have stayed in a few.
Perfect location for trekking, skiing, families and lovers,
but not if you are in Zermatt for raving parties.
We will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Navigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2008

I have stayed at several hotels in Zermatt before, including the Coeur des Alpes, Omnia, Matterhorn Focus and Zurbriggen. All of these hotels are excellent, and I would recommend them all. But if you want to experience something special, the Riffelalp Resort is still something else. If you want to stay in the center of town, go to the other hotels I recommended, but if you enjoy a bit of isolation in a fantastic location, try this one. You won't be disappointed. Even the price is reasonable for what you get. If you are worried about having to dine at the same restaurant every evening, don't worry, it is excellent (simple, but great food)!

Tip 1. Don't go for the half board option. You can go a la carte for the same price, and it gives you more flexibility if you want to go to Zermatt one evening.
Tip 2. Do NOT "dine around". The food in the other hotels in Zermatt is not as good.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank LondonWestEnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2008

The service, the warmth, the vieuw, the food. virtually impossible to improve.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2008

We've been twice to the Riffelalp, so obviously we liked it. Maybe more the first time though...
The very best thing about this hotel is its location. You just take out your skis and head off from the hotel... no need to clunk around walking in your ski boots to the bus or lift. All the good things the other reviewers have said are true. The only thing that's not so good is the bar, it's pretty boring in the evening, the music was not up to 5* standard and it just lacked atmosphere. Also, when it comes to holidaying with young kids, we preferred Ferienart in Saas Fee. Overall though, Riffelalp is lovely!

  • Stayed: February 2004, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank contrex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2008

This place just gets better and better.
I reviewed the Riffelalp about this time last year and couldn't praise it highly enough then.
I have just returned from a week there and it was even better. The hotel itself is amazing in every way; the location, the views, the rooms, the restaurants, the pools, the bowling alley, the cinema, etc etc but really the whole place is brought together by the staff who are simply fantastic.
They are all so friendly and helpful, even when your children are causing some sort of havoc or destruction nothing phases them. What a superb team.
I am at a loss to think of any improvements they could make to this place.
Assuming the swiss franc calms down a bit we will be back next year.....

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank smokedsalmon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2008

We just returned from a week-long honeymoon stay at Riffelalp and were totally blown away by how wonderful the hotel was. It far exceeded our expectations at every turn. To start, the room was amazing. We reserved one of the chalet suites, which overlooked the Matterhorn. No joke, we could lie in bed at night and see the Matterhorn illuminated by the moonlight. Our room was very comfortable and modern, with a flat screen TV and everything powered by a central remote control. And the amenities in our room were top-notch - excellent closet space for the two of us, and the bathroom was amazing, with a full whirlpool tub and a wonderful standing shower. We especially liked the towel warmers and the cushy bathrobes and slippers. The spa was fantastic - so good that we went every day - and I particularly and a cavernous grotto with its cold showers and lie-down hot tub. Wonderful after a long day of skiing.

The hotel staff was incredibly friendly and helpful, and we loved sitting in the lounge by the fire each night after dinner. Restaurant Alex was good, though after a couple nights of 5-course meals there, we wanted to check out the regional restaurant downstairs and became hooked on the grilled meats, and cheese and chocolate fondues. Oh, and the morning breakfast at Alex is delicious - the croissants, especially, are wonderful.

As an American who had never skiied in Europe before, I was totally clueless about the layout of Zermatt and hence, was a little nervous when we booked our trip that Riffelalp wouldn't be centrally located enough. I was totally wrong. Perhaps one of the best things about Riffelalp is its location. It's ski-in, ski-out location allowed us to ski the Gornergrat area with total convenience and the hotel is perfectly situated between the Rothorn and Furi/Matterhorn areas. And Riffelalp is a stop on the Gornergrat Express for easy access to town, but I have to say, we hardly ever left the resort once we returned after a day of skiing. Big points for the ski valets and the boot dryers - so you never have to be clonking around the hotel in your ski boots and they're always nice and dry the next day.

This hotel was beautiful and is incredibly well-run. And the pictures on the website don't do it justice! You must visit to experience the magic of Riffelalp. We are already talking about when we could go back and for a longer visit. Our stay made it a very special place that we hope to return to someday.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jcg2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
1.3 mi away
The Omnia
The Omnia
#4 of 111 in Zermatt
549 reviews
1.4 mi away
CERVO Zermatt
CERVO Zermatt
#6 of 111 in Zermatt
673 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Mont Cervin Palace
Hotel Mont Cervin Palace
#18 of 111 in Zermatt
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riffelhaus 1853
Riffelhaus 1853
#56 of 111 in Zermatt
137 reviews
2.0 mi away
3100 Kulmhotel Gornergrat
3100 Kulmhotel Gornergrat
#30 of 111 in Zermatt
337 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Zermatterhof
Grand Hotel Zermatterhof
#23 of 111 in Zermatt
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riffelalp Resort 2222 m? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riffelalp Resort 2222 m

Address: Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Zermatt
#9 Business Hotel in Zermatt
#22 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#26 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#26 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#29 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range: £268 - £814 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Riffelalp Resort 2222 m 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your Riffelalp Resort 2222 m reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riffelalp Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing