We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great choice in Zermatt”
Review of Hotel Alpenhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Alpenhof
Ranked #15 of 109 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great choice in Zermatt”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We booked this hotel as a last minute break through Inghams. Hotel is excellent, brilliant staff, good rooms and good food. I have one criticism - there is no coffee / tea making facilities in the rooms and whilst I believe that this is the norm for hotels in Zermatt , after a long days walking it would really be appreciated and show that the hotel is not following the pack !. Really good to see the owners in the restaurant every night, taking an interest in their clients.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BootsyBoy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    102
    15
    3
    3
See reviews for
111
195
21
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Friendly staff, good atmosphere, a little expensive we got it for half price out of season. Located very centrally in Zermatt, but not in the middle of the pedestrian street. Cosy and very comfortable rooms. The hotel is placed close to the river as runs towards the city.

Room Tip: A room with balcony towards the street has a lot of noice from the river - but at great view to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianIversen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We spent a few days here as part of an Inghams tour. the hotel, the service, the food, the location, and, most important , the staff, all excellent. We can thoroughly recommend it for an enjoyable stay in Zermatt.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomBSm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

On arrival you are greeted at the station by their own porter and taken by minibus to the hotel. We where kindly upgraded to a two level suite which had an amazing view of the Matterhorn. Everything about the hotel was good especially the front desk staff who were very friendly. The hotel is well located in Zermatt so very easy to get around. A great hotel to stay in an amazing village.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GSJS2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
126 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

First of all what I want to mention is that the Alpenhof is a good example that guest in Swiss Hotels are treated friendly and get a very warm welcome. The Stay in Alpenhof started already perfect in front of the Train station where the driver was waiting for us as requested and welcomed us. The second highlight, was that we got a room upgrade to a Penthouse Suite. This is a great room. Especially since there is a window above the bed in the roof, where u can see the stars. The blinds can be operated by remote control. It was a great experience and very romantic. The whole stay was great, also the breakfast. The only negativ point was on the dinner, which was cooked excellently but the original quality of the beef fillet was poor.

Room Tip: For romantic stays, take the Penthouse Suite and sleep under the stars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Affolterli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Stayed one night after 2 nights elsewhere in Zermatt.
Thought it was an excellent value hotel, totally different to the other one we stayed in. Very traditional, can imagine big fire burning in winter and a warm welcome.
Possibly bit twee for us, but equally never thought of us a "modern". Bit Laura Ashley on steroids, but that is no criticism. Everything was very good and traditional, great value and service.

Hotel lower down in village, guess it is relatively old hence it's location, had good view of Matterhorn from balcony.

Did not use the gym, as had gymmed out at other hotel, equipment is very restricted so would not go for that, but good pool and steam room/sauna etc.

Breakfast buffet was excellent, one of best had for choice, quality and relaxed nature of it. Seems all diners had "pre-arranged" tables, linked to their room number, which is a good thing. Let very full and satisfied, would go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ceri e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
154 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Charming hotel located approx. 10 min. walk from the train station. The room was nice & recent, and had the originality to have the bathtub directly in it. However, no view on the Matterhorn from the first floor where we were. The hotel was calm and staff helpful. There was plenty for breakfast (delicious bread!) and dinners were also very good. The spa is great and very welcome after a full day's hike.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on 3rd floor to get a view on the Matterhorn!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris77CH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.1 mi away
Schlosshotel
Schlosshotel
#11 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Firefly
Hotel Firefly
#3 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fleurs de Zermatt
Fleurs de Zermatt
#28 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
#12 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
0.4 mi away
Romantik Hotel Julen
Romantik Hotel Julen
#13 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
#5 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alpenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpenhof

Property: Hotel Alpenhof
Address: Matterstrasse 43, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#12 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#13 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#27 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#30 Family Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Alpenhof 4.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family run Hotel Alpenhof lies in the center of Zermatt in a sunny, quiet location. The cable car Sunnegga, which access the ski slopes and hiking area, is directly across from the hotel and the train station and Gornergrat railway are just 5 minutes' walk away. The 5 floor Hotel Alpenhof offers 62 comfortable rooms, most of which have their own balcony. The rooms are equipped with bath/WC, minibar, telephone, radio, Wi-Fi, cable TV, safe and a cozy seating area. Look forward to the naturally lit, Alpenhof SPA area on the first floor. The new, stylishly renovated hotel lobby offers plenty of space to relax and enjoy regional snacks and wine specialties. We pamper our hotel guests every day with a new and freshly prepared 5-course selection menu. A special highlight is the exquisite cheese buffet. Our refined Cigar Lounge, one of a kind in Zermatt, offers fine digestives, smoky whiskys and a solid selection of cigars. Sitting in front of a roaring fire listening to our pianist is the perfect way to end a day's hiking or skiing. Every Wednesday during the high season the family run business offers you a free visit to their herd of black nose sheep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Alpenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenhof Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing