We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place”
Review of Europe Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Europe Hotel & Spa
Ranked #7 of 111 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Best value for money.
Delicious gourmet food, beatifull wellness, perfectly located, nice rooms, professional and really friendly staff, nice to drink a wine/cocktail in their bar, but not the noisy apres ski like you find it elsewhere.
The only problem is that the dinner is so nice that you prefer to eat in (and go in town afterwards). Stayed in many other hotels in town but this is my favorite by far.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank TheHague_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (592)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 592 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2014

we stayed a week in January. found it on the web with no prior expectations. It has all the hallmarks of a place where the owners are on top of everything and are naturally superb hosts.
the Matterhorn view rooms are amazing. The staff is uniformly great. Food is great. The bar is fun and welcoming every night and htey cannot do enough for you to make the stay special.

we needed an extra room and were prepared to pay up for it but they, on their own intiative, worked out a much lower rate. Well done. Would stay there any time

Room Tip: Matterhorn view is fantastic but the rooms are smaller than the new ones that do not have the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fisher157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Second time I went there. Service exceptionally attentive, they had discreetly noted that it was my birthday and the staff and owners came to congratulate me.
Rooms are spacious, quiet, well appointed and clean, with great views. Breakfast is copious and fresh, dinner every night a discovery; inventive and varied.
Staff is very competent and strives (and succeeds) to make you feel at home.
Their winterpackages are genuine value for money.
I will go back, absolutely

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We visited this hotel in Sep 2013 and booked it at the last minute (our trip to Zermatt was a last minute plan). I had not reviewed the hotel on Tripadvisor well so was a little skeptical about the quality, but we were really excited to see that it was way above our expectations !!

We took the room with the Matterhorn view (although a little disappointed that the weather was not that pleasant that weekend, overcast mostly), but for the time it was clear, the view was amazing, (and yea, never underestimate the size of Matterhorn if the photos are what you have seen of it till now)

The balcony for rooms with Matterhron view has easy chairs and the 'beach umbrella' thing for shade.. good for a nice siesta in the afternoons in Summers.

The staff were very pleasant and our check in was smooth. The spa was welcoming after the day long walk around Zermatt.

(The sheep theme was cute, with 'sheep shaped' soaps in the bath :))

Breakfast was as good as we ever experienced in any hotel. It was good that they had different varieties of Cheese to chose from :) .

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BharathSaiR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

The Europe Hotel and Spa was wonderful! The staff was so friendly, the hotel was very clean, in a great spot and super modern but cozy and the food was great! We had a wonderful stay here for our honeymoon.
The only negative I could find is that there is no fitness room and the small pool in the spa should not allow younger children. It was not relaxing when children were running around and splashing in such a small area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cari K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Excellent service and friendliness of the staff as always, we truly enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Europe!! We've been upgraded in a nicer room, the dinners were delicious and service impeccable. Thank you.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prangins77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Five of us had been trekking for 10 days on the Haute Route, Chaminox, France to Zermatt, Switzerland. Staying at this place at the end of such a fabulous trek was an amazing swan song to a terrific adventure. This place was the best in every way. It was pretty spendy but, if you've been in Switzerland for any time, you realize this is no place to vacation if you want to save money. It was about $250/US per night, as I recall. There is another, more expensive option, that includes dinner. While we didn't use this option, the food at the restaurant was exceptional and it would be a great option. There was a fabulous morning brunch included in the price. The rooms were typically smaller than their American counterpart (bigger is always better in America, it seems) but were very nice, clean and functional. There was a great spa downstairs with steam; suauna; pool; showers and a small, relaxing room for......well, relaxing. The staff was great. Everything about this place is 1st class and, if I ever were to come to Zermatt again, I would definitely stay at this stellar retreat. It's very central but pretty quiet. Zermatt is a great town and this is THE place to stay

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carynps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.1 mi away
BELLERIVE - CHIC HIDEAWAY
BELLERIVE - CHIC HIDEAWAY
#2 of 111 in Zermatt
459 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Firefly
Hotel Firefly
#3 of 111 in Zermatt
504 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
#8 of 111 in Zermatt
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Schlosshotel Life & Style
Schlosshotel Life & Style
#13 of 111 in Zermatt
992 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parkhotel Beau Site
Parkhotel Beau Site
#10 of 111 in Zermatt
791 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Hotel
Bella Vista Hotel
#5 of 111 in Zermatt
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Europe Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europe Hotel & Spa

Address: Riedstrasse 18, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#8 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#12 Family Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range: £145 - £380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Europe Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Europe Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europe Hotel Zermatt
Europe Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing