We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm family-business hospitality, with premium swiss service”
Review of Europe Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Europe Hotel & Spa
Ranked #7 of 111 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed at Europe Hotel at Zermatt. This was not our first time, we stayed in the same hotel and decided to repeat given our great past experience. We remembered Mr. and Mrs. Julen, the hotel owners, who ran the hotel themselves. They were always around leading a sophisticated and dedicated team, combining experience and dynamism, making sure guests enjoyed fully the experience.

My wife and I can only confirm that the service has actually improved! We met again Mr. and Mrs. Julen, always pampering guests, sharing suggestions on the menus, giving us tips on weather forecasts, or simply asking how we felt. We found out they have invested in expanding the hotel and developing a very nice SPA with a fairly large list of potential treatments. The expansion basically improved the overall experience within the hotel but kept the cozy family feeling of the past. We had dinner every evening in the hotel. The food was amazing! It was creative, delicious and served in delicate proportions. Every evening there was a wonderful complementary buffet of salads, and on the evening when they served Fondue Chinoise there was an exquisite fruit buffet. They have a very good selection of wines. We are from Barcelona-Spain, so we decided not to choose the good Spanish wines they carried, but we focused on the Saint Emilion, Pauillac and Saint Estephe that they selected from Bordeaux. Excellent selection!

The restaurant has two areas, the one we chose was the traditional one that has the traditional wood setting and warm environment from the Alps, but there was another modern and elegant area. There is a beautiful bar where you can get an aperitif before dinner or a drink afterwards, but the area that my wife and I liked the most was a living room they have with a very nice and modern chimney (fireside). That place became our favorite place to relax and chat.

We stayed in the “old” building (the one before extension) where the room was very comfortable. We had a wonderful view of the Matterhorn from our terrace that was huge for European standard sizes. It is a privilege to look at that beauty of nature every day after serious skiing in the vast pistes in Zermatt.

For the skiing fans like us, every room had a ski-locker assigned, which by the way kept our boots and gloves warm every morning when we wore them. In summary, all details were taken care of! We felt treated like at home and at the same with extremely good service that took care of all details for us.

We are planning to return next year and certainly highly recommend Europe Hotel at Zermatt.

Room Tip: All rooms are great, well equipped, comfortable and elegant. The quality of Wifi is very good. Howev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pedro P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (592)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 593 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014

If you are looking for an authentic Swiss Mountain Hotel in Zermatt, with spacious and beautifully decorated rooms, central yet quiet location, great cuisine and wine selection, cozy hotel bar, friendly and highly motivated staff, state of the art wellness facilities, etc etc...... the Europe Hotel & Spa is definitely the place to be.
We spent a one week skiing vacation at the Europe, and we cannot wait to come back again next year. Highly recommendable in all aspects!

Room Tip: We stayed at a "Design" double room in the 3rd floor of the new wing, and we were very ple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Werner B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Excellent food, friendly & resourceful staff, and outstanding facilities. Convenient location, very near popular bars & restaurants. Nice & cosy lobby area with fireplace, good bar. Very modern & relaxing Spa. The owners personally supervise every detail, every day.
We had a great vacation, and we hope to come back soon! We will surely share this experience with friends & family.

Room Tip: Go for the Matterhorn view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernat A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

This hotel is a family-owned business and the warm and personal service that is the consequence thereof is sensed in every detail.

The location is good, it's right where the village gets calmer and it's a short walk to the ski-bus. We used the hotel shuttle service to get from the train station to the hotel, a much appreciated extra.
The design of the public spaces -a modern interpretation of Swiss tradition- works very well.

The room was good. We stayed one night in a room in the not-yet-refurbished part. It was spacious, had a classic Swiss interior and a large balcony with uninterrupted Matterhorn view.

The hotel bar is well stocked and the young German barman is excellent both with drinks and with people.

We had a half-board package, the restaurant was nice, the food corresponding the level of the hotel and there were interesting wines to be had at a decent markup. After dinner we received new glasses to take the rest of our bottle of Ornellaia Serre Nuove to the room and enjoy a glass on the balcony: great!
Breakfast was generous and was restocked even 5 minutes before closure. You can prepare your own orange juice and there's an egg station where you can make your own concoction. Both can also be done for you, just as you like it. In the information leaflet (weather, excursions, a funny joke etc.) I recognized the personal attention of a family-owned business.

Should we need a hotel in Zermatt again this would definitely be my first choice.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DutchFlybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We spend a ski week with friends at this family run charming boutique hotel and enjoyed it so much we barely ventured into town. We had considered many 4 and 5 star properties, and chose the Europe because of the across the board positive reviews and its terrific location - quick walk to town and the main lift, but away from the noisy main street. All agreed, it exceeded our expectations in every way. Our hosts warm and intuitive hospitality was on display throughout the week with generous touches to make our stay personal - a hot water bottle on the bed to soothe a sore back after a mountain spill, a celebratory round of grappa and schnapps, tea and tarts, and a delicious home made hor d'oeuvres to sample in the lounge, and advice at the ready. Add to this a well trained and eager to please staff, perfect spa, spotless room, luxury bath, a generous buffet or service breakfast and an excellent 5 course meal every evening. Although the staff is very willing to make substitutes, their set menu is expertly prepared, perfectly delicious and the dessert is to die for. What a delight it was to join our friends at our lovely corner table each day and be taken such good care of.
Gail & Bob Read USA

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We stayed 1week at Europe Spa Zermatt in Feb 2014. We both are quite used to high standard hotel and were delighted with everything : perfect service, not too present and not too distant; very relaxing spa (not big but hotel is family driven and quite small so it was never too crowded); cleaniness everywhere and especially in the spa; and the 5-course diner is certainly the best food we had in ten year of 4* and more. In one word, we strongly recommend it for couples or adult groups. Although noone would make you feel so, I don't consider it's really meant for families with young children.

Room Tip: The Design room are just perfect and worth the price ( I have not seen the traditional ones)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was spacious, and the rest of the accommodations were great, including the jacuzzi and the breakfasts. Access to the slopes was quite easy. I recommend the hotel highly.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joseph R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.1 mi away
BELLERIVE - CHIC HIDEAWAY
BELLERIVE - CHIC HIDEAWAY
#2 of 111 in Zermatt
459 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Firefly
Hotel Firefly
#3 of 111 in Zermatt
506 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parkhotel Beau Site
Parkhotel Beau Site
#10 of 111 in Zermatt
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Schlosshotel Life & Style
Schlosshotel Life & Style
#14 of 111 in Zermatt
992 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
#8 of 111 in Zermatt
619 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Hotel
Bella Vista Hotel
#5 of 111 in Zermatt
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Europe Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europe Hotel & Spa

Address: Riedstrasse 18, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#8 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#12 Family Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range: £144 - £386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Europe Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Europe Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europe Hotel Zermatt
Europe Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing