We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel but the real highlight was the dining”
Review of Europe Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Europe Hotel & Spa
Ranked #7 of 109 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel but the real highlight was the dining”
Reviewed 4 April 2010

This stay didn't quite start as planned, the hotel claimed they have a cancellation of my reservation even though I didn't cancel. I stayed one night in one of the rooms in the attic, but from the second night they had a single room for me, which was great. The hotel is very clean, the staff is great, the location in the middle of Zermatt is very good if you want to take a stroll in the village but it's about 10 minutes walk from both of the ski cable cars.
The real highlight was the dinner at the hotel. 5 courses of excellent local food. The kind that you are waiting for all day.The breakfast was on the same standards. It's really one of the best hotel restaurants I dined in. All in all it was a great week, the hotel is highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank norbertsz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    447
    72
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
113
288
25
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2010

I stayed there for 5 days (snowboarding holiday) with my father and thought it was really good. The breakfast is great with a decent selection of many breads, cereal, fruit, continental and eggs with fresh orange juice and very nice tea and coffee. The rooms are really clean and ours had a view of the matterhorn. Every evening our bed was prepared for the night with a chocolate on the pillow, which is always a nice touch. We had dinner one night at the hotel and it was a delicious 5 course meal. I couldn't fault it at all it was just lovely. The staff are really nice and the spa at the hotel next door is great too, to wind down..if it's really cold, raining or snowing, it can be annoying to walk the 50 meters but otherwise the walk didn't bother us at all. The only downfall I would say is that you have to walk up a slightly steep rubber pathway for about 20 meters to reach the hotel, which is difficult when you have been snowboarding/skiing all day and your body is tired. Also as an english traveller the TV had only 2 english speaking channels it seemed..sky news and bbc international, which constantly showed holby city!!! The spa at the hotel next door didnt have a jaccuzi, which i felt was a shame but the pool was really warm with loads of settings for jaccuzi like experiences and there is a great steam room and sauna and massages on offer. Overall Hotel Europe was a very good hotel and a decent price for zermatt. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holoudays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2009

The hotel is well located, the food is excellent, the prices are more than acceptable considering the resort, the spa at a nearby hotel is state of the art (free access), the staff is always present to help you. I would definitely recommend this hotel. The double rooms have a great view on the mattherhorn!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrancoisBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2009

What a gem of a hotel! My review is quite late, but the hotel is so deserving of praise. Stayed four nights in mid-March 2008 for our 3rd anniversary, and loved every minute. Here’s what made it so wonderful:

1. The room was small, but cozy, with very comfortable beds. I loved the chalet feel and the stunning views of the Matterhorn from our balcony. After long days of skiing, I loved returning to our room for a hot bath in the large, clean, and bright bathroom.

2.Dinner – so being my first time to Zermatt, I had no clue how important having a hotel with a good dinner was. And luckily, the gourmet dinner each night was always more than we expected. Coming down for dinner was always a treat and a highlight of the day! With swish families and the staff toasting and laughing over aperitifs at the bar as if they’ve known each other forever rather than for a few days. The menu is posted each day in the elevator, and even if it didn’t sound spot on to our tastes, we always left the table stuffed and gleefully surprised by the outstanding presentation and quality. You have your same table each night, and the staff quickly learns your names. We were even able to order a bottle of wine, and being unable to finish, cork it and leave it for the following night – how accommodating! Of course, breakfast is as equally wonderful, but much more low-key with people lingering long enough to fill up and head out to the slopes. What a wonderful aspect of this hotel!

3. Apres-ski: A few days we would return to our hotel and sit outside in the snow-filled back garden, on sheepskin covered loungers being served drinks from the bar. Also, having no pool in the hotel, we were given access to a lovely pool and sauna at an adjacent hotel.

4. The staff: Family owned and it shows. Wonderful people willing to share their stories of Zermatt and as equally interested in yours.

With so many wonderful hotels in Zermatt, it’s hard to win loyalty, but this one has absolutely won our hearts while going easy on our wallets! Cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank somedayTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne
1 review
Reviewed 3 August 2008

In Zermatt, hotels usually offer very good quality accomodation but this hotel particularly. From the reception, the personel takes very much care of you. The rooms are well furnished and very elegant. We appreciated very much the balcony from where you have one of the best view of the Cervin. The hotel doesn't have a swimming pool inside but you have full acces to the equipement of the nearby hotel, which is very pleasant.
I recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Liked — the balcony, personel's attention, the terrasse
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sylvanito66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2008

This was our favourite stop on a recent trip to Europe and the hotel was one of the main reasons for this.

The service was friendly with English and several languages spoken. You are shown to your room which is large and includes a lovely sitting area and a fantastic bathroom. You feel like you are in someone's home because the hotel is small and you are always welcome to read a book by the fire, or watch tv downstairs. Also, the owners are always popping in and their friends often drop in for dinner or a drink which is lovely.

The half-board option needs to be taken. The 5 course meal each evening is a culinary treat and you can buy wine from the region to accompany your meal quite cheaply. If it is a special day or a holiday, the 5 course meal may have a theme! At the end of a great day in the snow, we would enjoy the free use of the heated swimming pool and sauna at the neighbouring Hotel Julen, then get dressed for dinner downstairs (with views of the Matterhorn, of course).

There is free wireless which is a nice touch. Breakfast is also very varied and good. (You can boil or fry your own eggs on a little stove in the corner!) There is fruit available all day too. The hotel will also pick you up and drop you at the train station so you don't have to walk. There is a room for your ski gear downstairs.

  • Liked — Food, pool, internet, friendly service, huge room, FOOD
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Magnus94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2007

This is a very big surprise for us when we reached zermatt. Zermatt firstly is a very nice place, its hard for you to go wrong as they have so many hotels, however, not many are open during this season.
Hotel europe is quite a bit of walk from the train station but the hotel sent someone to pick us up in an electric taxi. The taxi is very cute indeed. We were welcomed by the lady at the reception called Julia. She was so helpful and nice, the nicest we have met so far in switzerland! She was able to answer all our questions and gave me a magnificient room facing the great matterhorn. You can see the matterhorn from the pictures i took in our balcony.
Dinner was superb in the hotel. We paid CHF 20 each for half board and was definitely worth it with a 5 course dinner including soup, salad, main course, appetiser and dessert. We took half board for 2 days and missed it already. Julia would always make sure that we are fine with the food, accomodation and everything. We are very impressed with her service.
The hotel also gave us access to the nearby spa Hotel Julen where we did a bit of swimming and steam bath. It was very relaxing and nice indeed!

  • Liked — Julia and the food!
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank tartarSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
#5 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Firefly
Hotel Firefly
#3 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.1 mi away
BELLERIVE
BELLERIVE
#2 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Schlosshotel
Schlosshotel
#11 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
#12 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parkhotel Beau Site
Parkhotel Beau Site
#8 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Europe Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europe Hotel & Spa

Property: Europe Hotel & Spa
Address: Riedstrasse 18, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#8 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#12 Family Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Europe Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Europe Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europe Hotel And Spa
Europe Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing