We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quintessential Swiss Ski Hotel”
Review of Hotel Monte Rosa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Monte Rosa
Ranked #56 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Great location in Zermatt and extremely friendly staff. The hotel feels very old world swiss and we stayed in an absolutely beautiful suite. The breakfast buffet is very nice. I think most things in switzerland are over priced and though this is very expensive, it is actually worth the money you spend. Would definitely recommend and stay here again.

One thing is the spa is located in another hotel down the street. If you are interested in that, it is not very relaxing to bundle back up and run home. Would not stay here if you plan to use it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeilerHotelsZermatt, Gérant at Hotel Monte Rosa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2013

Dear Tripadvisor member,

Thank you for taking the time to share a comment about your stay at The Monte Rosa. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us in Zermatt.

We hope that we will have the pleasure to welcoming you back in the near future !

Yours sincerely,

André Seiler & the entire Monte Rosa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (211)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2013

This hotel met and exceeded all my expectations. The staff is very helpful and friendly, the amenities are fantastic and it is very clean. Here you are in the center of everything, we walked everywhere whether we were with our luggage or in our ski boots. And the breakfast is amazing, a lot to choose from. I am definately going back. Thank you!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cynzu2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeilerHotelsZermatt, Gérant at Hotel Monte Rosa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2013
Google Translation

Cher membre Tripadvisor,

Un grand merci pour votre très aimable commentaire. Nous sommes heureux d'apprendre que vous avez passé un excellent moment en notre compagnie à l'hôtel Monte Rosa.

Nous espérons pouvoir vous y accueillir très prochainement à nouveau !

Meilleures salutations de Zermatt.

Cordialement,

André Seiler et tout le team du Monte Rosa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

We arrived by the Glacier Express and the hotel transport was at the station waiting for us! Service was excellent and efficient -we were in our room in less than 10 minutes. And there was the majestic Matterhorn -we could see it from our window. The hotel location was central and ideal for long country walk or quick trips to the shops. The room was magnificent - it was a suite, and we could not ask for anything better- great bed, bathroom, etc - with silent, peaceful nights although our room overlooked the main street. We had a few drinks at the nice cozy pub on the ground floor. The reception staff arranged a booking for us at Restaurant Capri in a nearby hotel, where wine and food were perfectly matched and both were exemplary- an experience not to be missed! Our 3 nights at Zermatt were like a fantasy holiday.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roseandsatku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeilerHotelsZermatt, Gérant at Hotel Monte Rosa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2013

Dear Tripadvisor member,

Thank you for taking the time to share such a lovely comments about your stay at The Monte Rosa. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us in Zermatt.

We hope that we will have the pleasure to welcoming you back in the near future !

Yours sincerely,

André Seiler & the entire Monte Rosa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

Have just returned from another long weekend here, wonderful again! The Monte Rosa is so popular I had to move to one of their other hotels but no matter, that was in the same group so the service was great again. For a real taste of Zermatt there is simply no better place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 54richard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeilerHotelsZermatt, Gérant at Hotel Monte Rosa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2013

Dear Tripadvisor member,

Thank you for taking the time to share such a lovely comments about your stay with us. We really hope next time we will be able to welcome you again at the Monte Rosa.

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you very soon again in Zermatt with us !

Yours sincerely,

André Seiler & the entire Monte Rosa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

This is a small boutique hotel right in the centre of Zermatt. It is beautifully decorated and is peaceful and restful, despite its central location. The staff are outstanding and the service is excellent. The hotel is part of the Seiler group and offers a "Dine Around" option, which we really enjoyed, trying Thai, Japanese, Italian and Swiss food. We also tried the fantastic spa facilities at the sister hotel, Mont Cervin Palace. This is a great retreat for a Swiss ski getaway.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view of the mountains and make sure to get a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WandaTwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeilerHotelsZermatt, Gérant at Hotel Monte Rosa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2013

Dear Tripadvisor member,

Thank you for taking the time to share such a lovely comments about your stay at The Monte Rosa. We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your time with us !

We hope that we will have the pleasure to welcoming you back in the near future !

Yours sincerely

André Seiler & the entire Monte Rosa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

I stand 5 days for business and for pleasure in this hotel. This hotel is a traditional charming hotel: cozy (and luxurious), conformable and is in an excellent location. I had a junior suite in the 2nd floor with 2 balconies and all windows had view to the Matterhorn. It was incredible to open the windows and have such a great view! The service was very kind and the breakfast buffet was good. I had a great time!

Room Tip: Rooms in the 2nd or 3th floor south side have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ana Paula R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeilerHotelsZermatt, Gérant at Hotel Monte Rosa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2013
Google Translation

Cher membre Tripadvisor,

Un grand merci pour votre commentaire ! Merci d'avoir prix le temps de nous laisser votre feedback. Nous sommes très heureux d'apprendre que vous avez apprécié votre séjour à l'hôtel Monte Rosa !

Nous espérons pouvoir vous y accueillir très prochainement à nouveau !

Meilleures salutations de Zermatt.

André Seiler et tout le team du Monte Rosa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

We stayed 4 nights at Monte Rosa in April and loved it. We always try to stay at historical, more personal hotels and Monte Rosa combines historical charm with comfort and service perfectly (which is rare, unfortunately). When returning from the slopes in the afternoon it was wonderful to find tea and homemade cakes in the parlor. To be invited to "appertivo" one evening, with local wine, snacks and an elderly man at the piano, is also the kind of thing you appreciate and remember as a guest. We normally stay at slightly less expensive hotels but Monte Rosa offered discounted prices since it was the end of the winter season, which made our stay excellent value for money!

Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Jansson-Olsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeilerHotelsZermatt, Gérant at Hotel Monte Rosa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2013

Dear Tripadvisor member,

Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely comments about your last stay with us. We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your vacation at the Monte Rosa.

I do hope that we have the pleasure in welcoming you back to the Monte Rosa in the near future !

Yours sincerely

André Seiler & the entire Monte Rosa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mont Cervin Palace
Hotel Mont Cervin Palace
#19 of 110 in Zermatt
502 reviews
0.2 mi away
Romantik Hotel Julen
Romantik Hotel Julen
#12 of 110 in Zermatt
483 reviews
0 mi away
Grand Hotel Zermatterhof
Grand Hotel Zermatterhof
#29 of 110 in Zermatt
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alpenhof
Hotel Alpenhof
#13 of 110 in Zermatt
494 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mirabeau
Hotel Mirabeau
#16 of 110 in Zermatt
582 reviews
1.9 mi away
Riffelhaus 1853
Riffelhaus 1853
#49 of 110 in Zermatt
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monte Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monte Rosa

Address: Bahnhofstrasse 80, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#34 Family Hotel in Zermatt
#36 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range: £185 - £550 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monte Rosa 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Monte Rosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Rosa Hotel
Monte Rosa Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing