We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Monte Rosa, Zermatt”
Review of Hotel Monte Rosa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Monte Rosa
Ranked #56 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Hungerford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hotel Monte Rosa, Zermatt”
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Swiss ski resort hotels as they used to be!
Extra thoughtful, unforced service. Big comfortable rooms and excellent food. A calm , caring atmosphere that makes for a great holiday and the position relative to the town and the ski lifts is just right.

Room Tip: Ask to face Matterhorn
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeilerHotelsZermatt, Gérant at Hotel Monte Rosa, responded to this review, 31 March 2013
Dear Anthony,

Thank you for taking the time to share a comment about your stay at The Monte Rosa. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us in Zermatt.

We are very honored to have you as a regular customer. Thank you for your loyalty !

Looking forward to welcoming you next year !

Yours sincerely,

André Seiler & the entire Monte Rosa Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    23
    1
    2
    4
See reviews for
50
89
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Whilst this is marked as a four-star hotel, I really don’t understand how it is not five.

We stayed in one of their suites and were absolutely shocked at how luxurious and large they were. No, really – we actually walked around in awe for about ten minutes.

As you would expect, the staff are gracious and you’re made to feel that they can’t do enough to make your stay as wonderful as possible.

A large bonus is free access to their sister hotel’s (Mont Cervin Palace) pool and spa - definitely worth the short trek down the street.

We did not eat at the restaurant for dinner, but the breakfasts were sublime. The room was quiet, the beds huge and the pillows fluffy. What can I say; it was a perfect stay and worth every franc.

Room Tip: The suites are stunning; well worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schweizerli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeilerHotelsZermatt, Gérant at Hotel Monte Rosa, responded to this review, 31 March 2013
Dear Tripadvisor member,

Thank you for taking the time to share such a lovely comment about your stay at The Monte Rosa. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us in Zermatt.

Our goal is always to exceed our customers needs and expectations.

We hope that we will have the pleasure to welcoming you back in the near future !

Yours sincerely,

André Seiler & the entire Monte Rosa Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Great location in Zermatt and extremely friendly staff. The hotel feels very old world swiss and we stayed in an absolutely beautiful suite. The breakfast buffet is very nice. I think most things in switzerland are over priced and though this is very expensive, it is actually worth the money you spend. Would definitely recommend and stay here again.

One thing is the spa is located in another hotel down the street. If you are interested in that, it is not very relaxing to bundle back up and run home. Would not stay here if you plan to use it.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeilerHotelsZermatt, Gérant at Hotel Monte Rosa, responded to this review, 31 March 2013
Dear Tripadvisor member,

Thank you for taking the time to share a comment about your stay at The Monte Rosa. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us in Zermatt.

We hope that we will have the pleasure to welcoming you back in the near future !

Yours sincerely,

André Seiler & the entire Monte Rosa Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cynzu2
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

This hotel met and exceeded all my expectations. The staff is very helpful and friendly, the amenities are fantastic and it is very clean. Here you are in the center of everything, we walked everywhere whether we were with our luggage or in our ski boots. And the breakfast is amazing, a lot to choose from. I am definately going back. Thank you!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cynzu2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeilerHotelsZermatt, Gérant at Hotel Monte Rosa, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Google Translation
Cher membre Tripadvisor,

Un grand merci pour votre très aimable commentaire. Nous sommes heureux d'apprendre que vous avez passé un excellent moment en notre compagnie à l'hôtel Monte Rosa.

Nous espérons pouvoir vous y accueillir très prochainement à nouveau !

Meilleures salutations de Zermatt.

Cordialement,

André Seiler et tout le team du Monte Rosa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

We arrived by the Glacier Express and the hotel transport was at the station waiting for us! Service was excellent and efficient -we were in our room in less than 10 minutes. And there was the majestic Matterhorn -we could see it from our window. The hotel location was central and ideal for long country walk or quick trips to the shops. The room was magnificent - it was a suite, and we could not ask for anything better- great bed, bathroom, etc - with silent, peaceful nights although our room overlooked the main street. We had a few drinks at the nice cozy pub on the ground floor. The reception staff arranged a booking for us at Restaurant Capri in a nearby hotel, where wine and food were perfectly matched and both were exemplary- an experience not to be missed! Our 3 nights at Zermatt were like a fantasy holiday.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roseandsatku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeilerHotelsZermatt, Gérant at Hotel Monte Rosa, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Dear Tripadvisor member,

Thank you for taking the time to share such a lovely comments about your stay at The Monte Rosa. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us in Zermatt.

We hope that we will have the pleasure to welcoming you back in the near future !

Yours sincerely,

André Seiler & the entire Monte Rosa Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

Have just returned from another long weekend here, wonderful again! The Monte Rosa is so popular I had to move to one of their other hotels but no matter, that was in the same group so the service was great again. For a real taste of Zermatt there is simply no better place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 54richard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeilerHotelsZermatt, Gérant at Hotel Monte Rosa, responded to this review, 13 February 2013
Dear Tripadvisor member,

Thank you for taking the time to share such a lovely comments about your stay with us. We really hope next time we will be able to welcome you again at the Monte Rosa.

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you very soon again in Zermatt with us !

Yours sincerely,

André Seiler & the entire Monte Rosa Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

This is a small boutique hotel right in the centre of Zermatt. It is beautifully decorated and is peaceful and restful, despite its central location. The staff are outstanding and the service is excellent. The hotel is part of the Seiler group and offers a "Dine Around" option, which we really enjoyed, trying Thai, Japanese, Italian and Swiss food. We also tried the fantastic spa facilities at the sister hotel, Mont Cervin Palace. This is a great retreat for a Swiss ski getaway.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view of the mountains and make sure to get a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WandaTwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeilerHotelsZermatt, Gérant at Hotel Monte Rosa, responded to this review, 24 January 2013
Dear Tripadvisor member,

Thank you for taking the time to share such a lovely comments about your stay at The Monte Rosa. We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your time with us !

We hope that we will have the pleasure to welcoming you back in the near future !

Yours sincerely

André Seiler & the entire Monte Rosa Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mont Cervin Palace
Hotel Mont Cervin Palace
#16 of 110 in Zermatt
467 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Zermatterhof
Grand Hotel Zermatterhof
#22 of 110 in Zermatt
468 reviews
0.0 mi away
Unique Hotel Post
Unique Hotel Post
#38 of 110 in Zermatt
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mirabeau
Hotel Mirabeau
#12 of 110 in Zermatt
544 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Omnia
The Omnia
#4 of 110 in Zermatt
501 reviews
0.1 mi away
Backstage Hotel Vernissage
Backstage Hotel Vernissage
#32 of 110 in Zermatt
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monte Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monte Rosa

Property: Hotel Monte Rosa
Address: Bahnhofstrasse 80, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#36 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#38 Family Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monte Rosa 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Prestigia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Monte Rosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Rosa Hotel
Monte Rosa Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing