We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Monte Rosa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Monte Rosa
Ranked #54 of 109 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

This was my first visit to Zermatt, and it was more than I could of ever expected. The Hotel is the oldest in Zermatt, and centrally located so you can walk everywhere.
We stayed for 5 nights and wish we could of stayed another 5!
The staff was so helpful, the rooms were fully renovated and allowed plenty of room.
We loved the snow and the guide who took us skiing for 2 full days.

Room Tip: We were in Room 503 which was a corner room, quite a lot of space, very happy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jody F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeilerHotelsZermatt, Gérant at Hotel Monte Rosa, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Tripadvisor member,

Thank you for taking the time to share a comment about your stay at The Monte Rosa. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us in Zermatt.

We hope that we will have the pleasure to welcoming you back in the near future !

Yours sincerely,

André Seiler & the entire Monte Rosa Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    23
    1
    2
    4
See reviews for
50
89
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

The hotel, oldest of Zermatt, is located on the central square of the village facing the historic church. So you cannot be more centrally located.
We stayed for 2 nights in one of the suites on the top floor/6th floor. All rooms on that floor have been fully renovated and are decorated with a modern touch, while keeping a certain Alpine style that fits so well to Zermatt. Our suite had a small balcony with view on the Matterhorn, a great and cozy living-room, a sleeping room facing the back-side of the hotel (very quite) and a modern bathroom with a bathtub in its middle.
Service is super friendly, the hotel staff will try to fulfill all your wishes.
The breakfast, served in the historic early 20th century dinner room, offers fresh juices, a great choice of breads and pastries, local cheese and meat. And I can warmly recommend trying their home-made waffles, simply delicious!
There is also a spa - a very good spa - that is unfortunately not directly within the Monte Rosa facilities, but a short walking distance away at Mont Cervin Palance (belonging to the same hotel chain). There is a wardrobe with lockers, they provide you with bathrobes. There is a 25m (!) pool for swimming, and a much warmer pool for chilling out, also with an outdoor part. Otherwise there is a great jacuzzi and 2 different saunas (a finish and a "bio" one) + 2 different Hammam style rooms.
Zermatt is already a unique location, our stay at Monte Rosa made our stay there even more enjoyable, romantic and unforgettable. We will come back!

Room Tip: Room 601, the Whymper suite, with balcony and view on the Matterhorn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicolas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeilerHotelsZermatt, Gérant at Hotel Monte Rosa, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Tripadvisor member,

Thank you for taking the time to share a comment about your stay at The Monte Rosa. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us in Zermatt.

We hope that we will have the pleasure to welcoming you back in the near future !

Yours sincerely,

André Seiler & the entire Monte Rosa Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sliema, Malta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

This was our third visit to the Monterosa. It is indeed an amazing hotel, intimate and elegant. The staff are excellent especially the concierge who went out of his way to be kind and helpful. We will return.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kbugeja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeilerHotelsZermatt, Gérant at Hotel Monte Rosa, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Tripadvisor member,

Thank you for taking the time to share a comment about your stay at The Monte Rosa. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us in Zermatt.

We hope that we will have the pleasure to welcoming you back in the near future !

Yours sincerely,

André Seiler & the entire Monte Rosa Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed at the Monte Rosa for 5 nights beginning of September. We had informed the hotel that it was our wedding anniversary when we booked, and on arrival were upgraded to a deluxe room and also complimentary bottle of champagne, which was fabulous. Hotel offers complimentary taxi service from the train station, well worth booking.

The hotel is in the centre of Zermatt and very traditional. The rooms are immaculate and have all the facilities you require, including great toiletries. The breakfast buffet is great, with a wide choice available. A particular favourite of ours was being able to sit outside the hotel each evening, watching the world go by, with a glass or two of champagne of course! We even saw a shooting star one night! Wonderful.

The staff were excellent, very attentive and professional and helped to make the holiday memorable for us. We would highly recommend this hotel and already planning a return visit. Thank you very much and we hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GSCDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeilerHotelsZermatt, Gérant at Hotel Monte Rosa, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Tripadvisor member,

Thank you for taking the time to share a comment about your stay at The Monte Rosa. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us in Zermatt.

We hope that we will have the pleasure to welcoming you back in the near future !

Yours sincerely,

André Seiler & the entire Monte Rosa Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

The hotel is quite lovely and was renovated to include modern facilities. Our room was on the front side of the hotel which provided an interesting view of the town and hills beyond, but was rather noisy until late at night. The room was quite large and had a beautiful bathroom, with amentities like hair dryer, heated towel rack, shampoos, robes, etc. The waters, sodas and fruit juices in the minibar were included in the price of our room!

Although the hotel has an electric shuttle from the train station, it is in easy walking distance and the walk is quite nice. The hotel is the oldest in Zermatt and was made famous by Edward Whymper who was among the group that was the first to scale the Matterhorn. Although the hotel does not have great views of the Matterhorn, it is just a short distance on foot before you see it looming above you.

The restaurant is beautiful with crown moulding and crystal chandeliers and a wonderful breakfast buffet is served each morning. The staff were all outstanding - and you have access to the spa at their sister hotel The Mont Cervin which is just down the street.

I would highly recommend the Monte Rosa.

Room Tip: If you want to avoid the noise of skiers and hikers returning from late night partying, ask for a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bcox0610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeilerHotelsZermatt, Gérant at Hotel Monte Rosa, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Tripadvisor member,

Thank you for taking the time to share a comment about your stay at The Monte Rosa. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us in Zermatt.

We hope that we will have the pleasure to welcoming you back in the near future !

Yours sincerely,

André Seiler & the entire Monte Rosa Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

One of the top hotels I've ever stayed in. Just magnificent in every way. Every single person working for the hotel was absolutely lovely, and took a real interest in our happiness. Even off-season not an inexpensive place, but so worth it.

Room Tip: Hotels fronting on Bahnhof Strasse have excellent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magap99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeilerHotelsZermatt, Gérant at Hotel Monte Rosa, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Tripadvisor member,

Thank you for taking the time to share a comment about your stay at The Monte Rosa. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us in Zermatt.

We hope that we will have the pleasure to welcoming you back in the near future !

Yours sincerely,

André Seiler & the entire Monte Rosa Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Dogmaels, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

My husband had gone leaping up mountains so left to my own devices I did a bit of shopping in Zermatt and thought I would like to sit for a while with the papers and a coffee.
Looking around for somewhere nice my eyes fell on a board outside the Mone Rosa offering `kaffee & kutschen for 9.50sf - bargain I thought having not seen anywhere so inviting.
Sun was shining so I headed for the terrace, gave my order to a very nice young lady and settled down with my paper. The choice of cakes was impressive, apple, strudel, berries & cream and chocolate which was my choice. Order arrived promptly, lovely coffee and a gorgeous chocolate cake which looked almost too pretty to eat, but I managed it. Another waiter had arrived and chatted to me about the London Olympics which was really nice of him because sometimes when you are in a restaurant alone you feel a bit conspicuous especially for a woman.
I paid my bill and asked if I could use the toilet, my charming young waitor took me inside and gave me directions.The inside of the hotel is lovely and beautifully decorated, in all it is a lovely place with very pleasant and courteous staff, considering I was only there for coffee I was treated amazingly so thank you Monte Rosa, even if my husband does say I have delusions of grandeur.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoHutchings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeilerHotelsZermatt, Gérant at Hotel Monte Rosa, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Tripadvisor member,

Thank you for taking the time to share a comment about your stay at The Monte Rosa. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us in Zermatt.

We hope that we will have the pleasure to welcoming you back in the near future !

Yours sincerely,

André Seiler & the entire Monte Rosa Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mont Cervin Palace
Hotel Mont Cervin Palace
#17 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Zermatterhof
Grand Hotel Zermatterhof
#21 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mirabeau
Hotel Mirabeau
#13 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Unique Hotel Post
Unique Hotel Post
#35 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fleurs de Zermatt
Fleurs de Zermatt
#22 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sonne Zermatt
Hotel Sonne Zermatt
#20 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monte Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monte Rosa

Property: Hotel Monte Rosa
Address: Bahnhofstrasse 80, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#35 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#38 Family Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monte Rosa 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Monte Rosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Rosa Hotel
Monte Rosa Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing