We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Monte Rosa has had a Makeover”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Monte Rosa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Monte Rosa
Ranked #56 of 109 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Monte Rosa has had a Makeover”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2009

Forget all previous reviews on the Monte Rosa - it is in process of a major refurbishment. We stayed there for a weeks skiing in Jan 09 and had one of their superior rooms on the 6th floor. It was without doubt one of the nicest hotel rooms I have stayed in - and I have stayed in a few! All brand new and to the highest standard, pine vaulted ceiling, walnut floorboards, enormous bed, two balconies large bathroom with jacuzzi bath and separate shower etc etc.

The top 3 floors were refurbished in 2008 and the remaining rooms are scheduled for 2009. The public rooms will remain as is - elegant and traditional.

The staff are friendly and super-attentive. The food is good.

Perhaps the only word of caution is that the clientele appears to be mainly middle aged or elderly - some of whom come year after year. The atmosphere in the dining room is rather formal, and I felt a bit underdressed in casual clothes and an open neck shirt. So it might not be the best choice for young ravers!

Apart from that, this hotel is hard to fault.

  • Liked — Immaculate rooms, excellent service, good food
  • Disliked — Not much, a little formal, but some may like that
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scuddriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    23
    1
    2
    4
See reviews for
50
89
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2008

Me and 3 friends stayed here on their opening weekend of the season in 2006. Cannot fault it for service and quality. To top it all off we got free access to the adjacent 5 star hotel's spa and wellness centre, which was sublime.

  • Liked — The Spa
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bighonez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2007

This hotel is located in the heart of Zermatt and is one of the oldest. The people working at the front desk were extremely helpful when it came to planning hikes and areas to explore. The second floor has lovely sitting rooms with antiques and old photos. There are antiques throughout the hotel like old skies and an ancient wood burning stove which made each trip up the stairs interesting. There's even a cute little library that's filled with books that were donated. The room we stayed in was spacious and had a nice, clean bathroom. At night, mini Toblerones were put on our pillows. The breakfast buffet had a pretty good selection of meats, cheeses, breads and cereal, and the waitstaff was incredible. The dining room is very elegant. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for excellent service and a classic place with an old-world feel.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank mayacabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2005

Within the Hotel Monte Rosa lies the heart and history of old Zermatt. I have visited many of the hotels in Zermatt and there is an element of truth in saying it's hard to go wrong with your selection. But outside of wonderful dining or apres ski at one of these other hotels, I cannot imagine a more pleasant and enjoyable place to stay than the Hotel Monte Rosa. As it sits opposite the cathedral, I consider it to be located in the center of town and most convenient to everything else. (Even the chimes from the steeple are a delight.)

The service is outstanding and friendly. Within 30 minutes of arrival, I felt like the entire staff knew us by name, and I feel as though we made lasting friends. The formal dining room is beautiful, and though the meals may be equalled by a few sister establishments, they certainly will not be surpassed. From the lobby to the lounge, to the reading room to the bar, one can not only experience but actually feel the history of Zermatt and the magnificance of the Matterhorn.

We are returning to the Hotel Monte Rosa in January, 2006, and as often as life permits after that. We would not consider staying anywhere else in Zermatt.

  • Stayed January 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank jmichaelbarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
10017
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2005

I was not very impressed by this hotel. I know this is a very tradtional hotel howver I felt as if it was a little run down. The rooms were very dark and old. After a long day of skiing there was no where to hang out and relax, because the hotel bar was tiny and not very accomadating for this type of situation. The hotel restaraunt was not very impressive either, the atmosphere was not anything special and the food was avergage. Overall, I think the hotel is just rundown and has not been kept up for several years.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IsWarren1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2004

The Monte Rosa is a very classy, special place to stay. Spacious room, large bathroom, fabulous breakfast in an elegant dining room. The service is amazing. We had half-board, you can dine in one of 12 restaurants/hotels in Zermatt each night. The best of the three we tried was the Monte Rosa dining room. Twice a week they have a buffet and it is truly spectacular. We loved it.

They will put a flannel bag of small warmed stones in your bed each night to warm the sheets (unless you don't want it) and they provide robes and slippers for your use while at the hotel.

The location is perfect, and though not all rooms reveal the Matterhorn through the window, it is beautiful in any direction you look.

Although it is not cheap, I feel we got value for our money, it was worth it.

  • Stayed April 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
197 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2003

This will be our fifth year returning to the Monte Rosa. It is the perfect hotel... small, intimate with superb service.

We also see some of the same people each year, along with some new faces.

A warm and inviting place in a great location.

We also frequented the Mont Cervin (massages, tea, dinner) in the past and found the reception "chilly"; the same is true of the other sister property, Riffel Alp (cocktails, lunch.) We will always return to the Monte Rosa but will give its sister resorts a "pass" because of unfriendliness bordering on surliness.

Helpful?
5 Thank Barrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mont Cervin Palace
Hotel Mont Cervin Palace
#17 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Zermatterhof
Grand Hotel Zermatterhof
#21 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mirabeau
Hotel Mirabeau
#13 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Unique Hotel Post
Unique Hotel Post
#34 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fleurs de Zermatt
Fleurs de Zermatt
#24 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sonne Zermatt
Hotel Sonne Zermatt
#20 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monte Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monte Rosa

Property: Hotel Monte Rosa
Address: Bahnhofstrasse 80, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#37 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#38 Family Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monte Rosa 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Monte Rosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Rosa Hotel
Monte Rosa Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing