We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Romantik Hotel Julen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Romantik Hotel Julen
Ranked #16 of 109 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Corona del Mar, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Worth the price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2010

Indoor swimming pool, 2 great restaurants w/ excellent servers, small but beautiful rooms and attentive staff. We plan on staying there again!

Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ElizabethY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    305
    72
    18
    6
    6
See reviews for
87
229
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2009

Our second great stay at the Romantik Hotel Julen in Zermatt. Great location 650m from the main ski lift up to the two largest ski areas. The location is very quiet, but only 100m from the Church square where there are multiple bars and restaurants, although none as nice as the ones in the hotel itself. The communal areas and rooms are beautifully designed with very modern twists on traditional swiss aspects. The wellness and swimming pool areas are very large for a relatively small hotel.
The private heated ski lockers (one per hotel room) in the basement meant our ski things were safe, but dry every morning.
The service sets this hotel above others - it is attentive and highly professional but personal, warm and friendly. The choice of dishes on the (daily changing) menu meant that we did not want to go and eat outside the hotel - the food was simply superb. The lamb specialties from the Schaeferstube (the other restaurant in the hotel) were amazing.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidayqueenZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
128 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2009

Intimate, romantic hotel with quirky but fun decor. Took advice of previous Tripadvisor reviewers and requested room with view of the Matterhorn and couldn't have been more pleased. The hotel is conveniently located in easy walking distance of trams/trains to view the Matterhorn and near the old part of town. We phoned the hotel upon arriving via the train and they immediately sent around their electric car to collect us and our luggage. We had two fabulously clear days with our lovely view and balcony. The breakfast room also had a view of the Matterhorn along with a sumptuous brunch buffet that included eggs to order and some of the best muesli on our trip. We enjoyed one evening meal in the hotel which was convenient and delicious. The staff was friendly and extremely helpful. Switzerland, and Zermatt, is expensive, but worth a visit.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cal_Travel_Lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dallas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2009

My room had a balcony and when you opened the doors you saw the Matterhorn! Beautiful room in every way, definitely a romantic setting.
Breakfast buffet is very good continental breakfast fare. I found the fitness center adequate to get a basic workout in. The pool was much nicer than I expected for a hotel this size. Very nice staff.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank uray50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2009

Rooms were wonderful with full view of Matterhorn. Food was incredible. Great location, very quiet. Staff was friendly and helpful. Pool and Spa were superior.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eleviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA USA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2008

My wife and i were traveling with another couple and had adjacent rooms on floor 1 with a huge shared terrace (also shared by another room whose occupants we never saw) and the view of the Matterhorn from the terrace was stunning. Our room was very comfortable and beautifully decorated with wood paneling everywhere--good size and nice bathroom with very ample light and storage. The public rooms--bar, lobby and restaurant were all warm and welcoming though lobby decor was a little "over the top". Hallways a little strange and always full of carts. The spa and pool were fabulous--exceptionally beautiful and with every imaginable spa amenity (how about various temperature steam rooms?). Food at breakfast was very good, dinner food and service at main restaurant were good but half board menu-as pointed out by another reviewer-limited to two choices for each course. If one was something one did not eat (rabbit, pork) as was the case each night we were there, there was really no choice. We opted out of plan and ate at the "Shtube" downstairs--much more expensive but the food was memorable and our waitress, whom we were lucky enough to have two nights, was the greatest.

Two small complaints--we had car trouble and called from Visp to say we would not arrive until 7-8 pm. When we called upon arrival were told that porter may have left for evening and to get taxi but while we spoke porter showed up and then picked us up.
Other complaint--no staff in spa until 4 pm and then one all-purpose lady. Know summer not ski season but still very busy time and this not in keeping with quality of spa.

  • Liked — Wonderful service in bar and restaurants, view of matterhorn, room comfor,spa and poolt.
  • Disliked — Some confusion on partr of very nice desk personnel.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JackBAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2008

It's a sweet little hotel at a decent location.

We took the luxury suite which is supposed to be their best. The room was really nice... spacious, comfortable and clean. The decor was lovely... wooden walls and furniture with bright color accessories to liven up the feel. We found it very cozy. The room also had a flat LCD TV with a DVD player. And above all, the balcony had a really beautiful view of the Matterhorn. We stayed there 3 nights and it was mostly cloudy. But it cleared up on our last day, so we were lucky to enjoy the view. The staff too was friendly and helpful.

Among the negatives... we didn't think the breakfast was great. And although the room was nice, it was very pricey at over US$400 per night.

  • Stayed June 2008
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Will_me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alpenhof
Hotel Alpenhof
#14 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Firefly
Hotel Firefly
#3 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
0.4 mi away
Schlosshotel
Schlosshotel
#11 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fleurs de Zermatt
Fleurs de Zermatt
#17 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.0 mi away
BELLERIVE
BELLERIVE
#2 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
#5 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romantik Hotel Julen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romantik Hotel Julen

Property: Romantik Hotel Julen
Address: Riedstrasse 2, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#14 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#14 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#14 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#41 Family Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Romantik Hotel Julen 4.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charming 4-star Romantik Hotel Julen is situated just 10 - 15 minute's walk from the mountain lifts and the railway station. The three story Superior Romantik Hotel Julen offers 32 cosy chalet-style rooms in a refreshingly young alpine style. The rooms are equipped with flatscreen cable TV, free WLAN, a Nespresso coffee machine and a private balcony or terrace. The bathroom has a hairdryer, free cosmetic products and bathrobes. Relax in the three-storied Julen SPA. A large selection of massages and wellness therapies can be booked. Wellness enthusiasts can also use the Alpenhof SPA free of charge. Dine Around in the Tradition Julen: Half-board guests can have the best of both worlds and have their evening meal either in the Romantik Hotel Julen where a 5-course selection menu is served, or at the Hotel Alpenhof where a 5-course selection menu is served. Those who prefer ,,A la Carte" can enjoy local specialities in the traditional Schaferstube restaurant or they can enjoy delicious dishes at the Restaurant Julen. The Julen Lounge is a great place to meet for pre or after dinner drinks. Every Wednesday during the high season the family run business offers you a free visit to their herd of black nose sheep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion and Odigeo so you can book your Romantik Hotel Julen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romantik Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing