We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, recently renovated”
Review of Hotel Parnass

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Parnass
Ranked #23 of 109 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
400 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, recently renovated”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

This is a small family owned hotel that is right by the main street and a 7 minute walk to the train station. The owner (her name escapes me!) is delightful and has been running the hotel for years - her parents started it and she has taken over. She lives on premises so late check in is no problem as long as you tell her so that she can be waiting for you. The staff speaks English, German and French. I heard one of the ladies speaking to the housekeepers in French. The breakfast isn't much, but then again Europeans don't do big breakfasts - you'll get breads, cold cuts, cheese, yogurt, granola and boiled eggs. I would definitely stay here again as it was super clean (remodeled last year) and for the price in Zermatt, it is a good location and the hotels around it are easily 50-100+ Swiss Francs more. If you're skiing, you don't need a lot of frills!

Room Tip: Rooms can be small, but the Matterhorn room is a little bigger and offers a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExPat0331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    74
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
89
130
38
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Arkansas
Level Contributor
198 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in the center of town making it a good location to stay. Easy to very thing and the bus stops at the hotel.

The people here are very friendly and are very helpful.

Breakfast has a nice meat, cheese, juice, yogurts, cereals, and the rests rainy has an awesome view if the Matterhorn, weather permitting.

The price of the hotel makes it a great value and it is very clean. The ski room is nice and includes a wall of boot dryers.

I highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank VETJET1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stayed a week in one of the flats managed by the hotel Parnass (Haus Tuscolo), which are very well located in the resort, in a very quiet residence.
Great view on the Matterhorn.
The nice and welcoming owner will really go the extra mile to ensure you enjoy your stay in Zermatt.
I cannot find any bad things to say about the Hotel Parnass and the Haus Tuscolo.
I would definitely choose this place for a next stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean-Marc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nyon, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Best place in village, close to the ski station (5 min by feet to Sunegga). Bus station in front of the hotel - no waiting time. 4 mins by feet to the famous aprés-ski location Papperla Pub.

Staff very kind - they care about their clients ! My room was lovely with a amazing view to the Matterhorn (have a look to my picture taken from my balcony) Room perfect size, clean, TV with a lot of channels, nice bathroom, big wardrobe.

Room Tip: If you like a breathtaking view to the Matterhorn Mountain, ask for it. The room and the terrace is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mani B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We visit Zermatt and stay at the Hotel Parnass every year. The staff, location, food, and atmosphere are fantastic. We enjoy staying in a small family run hotel. The rooms are very comfortable, and we love the view of the Matterhorn. We are already looking forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulTEdwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leysin, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

There are so many hotels in Zermatt and you sometimes wonder which one to choose. Well, I never hesitate to make a reservation at Hotel Parnass! Before I stayed there, I used to spend overnight at various hotels in Zermatt. However once I found Hotel Parnass, I never go anywhere else. It is ideal for a single, a couple or a family as there is no group tourist and you are always treated as their special guest. The room is spacious with Matterhorn view, the friendly staff lead by Madame Theresia who cares every single guest by her multi-language capability. I always ask for a half pension which is highly recommended. Their suggested wine is always excellent. You might say the price is rather high. But you never feel sorry after your stay! You should save your money somewhere else and enjoy your stay at Hotel Parnass!!

Room Tip: Give them a ring or send an email to discuss your requests as they always accommodate your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akemitakayama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 January 2014

The hotel was in the centre of the village across the road from the ski bus stops to both of ski areas. The hotel was very clean and comfortable. The food was great and serviced by very friendly staff.
Highly recommend, would book again.

Room Tip: We had a beautiful room with balcony over looking the Matterhorn. I could lye in bed and see the su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 968Christine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.2 mi away
BELLERIVE
BELLERIVE
#2 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Perren
Hotel Perren
#46 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Testa Grigia
Hotel Testa Grigia
#27 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#38 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden Wellness
Hotel Eden Wellness
#20 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Hotel
Bella Vista Hotel
#21 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Parnass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Parnass

Property: Hotel Parnass
Address: Vispastrasse 4 | Postfach 189, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Zermatt
#14 Family Hotel in Zermatt
#14 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#30 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Parnass 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run 3-star hotel in Zermatt's best location. Very central, only 5 easy walking minutes from the train station and right next to the ski bus stop 'Zum Steg'. Stunning MATTERHORN VIEW from all the balcony rooms and our lovely hotel garden. All bathrooms new and top notch. Pleasant atmsophere, fine hospitality. Free Internet in all the rooms. Book your rooms directly through us by mail or just call us. You receive a direct booking discount of at least 3 %. Ask about our HALF BOARD offer including dinner and enjoy our delicious cuisine, fine meals, candle light dinners every evening in the winter. Cozy lounge with fire place where afternoon tea is offered daily. We also offer massages in house. Book ahead please. There is a ski room with a ski boot heater for your comfort. Luggage transfer from/to the train station available for CHF 5 per person and way. Please inform about late arrival. Thank you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Parnass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parnass Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing