We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful hotel”
Review of Hotel Pollux

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Pollux
Ranked #54 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Mesquite, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“wonderful hotel”
Reviewed 23 May 2009

WOW, I really loved this place. First of all, the charming town of Zermatt does not allow cars. So, when you get off the train, a car transfer from the hotel will pick up your bags and take you to the hotel. The Pollux is full of charm and warmth. Our room was clean and spacious with wonderful beds. We had a small balcony with a view of the mountains. The bar at night is just like a mountain village home, with a wood burning fireplace and friendly people. The hotel is within walking distance to everything. We had breakfast and dinner at the hotel and it was all very good. Food is very expensive in Europe, so you just have to adjust and pay it.

Right across the street is the Gornergrat Bahn train, which takes you up to about 12,000 feet to the beautiful high Alps and a close view of the Matterhorn. Its truly spectacular and I strongly recommend it to everyone. Its an unforgettable experience

Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank TAHOEAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    61
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
49
54
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2009

Stayed for a week - a little worried about street noise but we had a lovely quiet room on the 4th floor (# 400) which was bright & spaciuos with a balcnoy with a view to the Matterhorn.

We ate in the restaurant once - standard Swiss fare - but the Chämi bar was a great, lively and cosy bar for Apres Ski & well into the evening.

Breakfast was fine - eggs cooked to order if desired.

Didn't use the spa.

Location 2 minutes from the train station.

Service very helpful and friendly - would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank griffmarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level 6 Contributor
53 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2008

this hotel have nothing bad to complain every thing is great >>> the room - location - resturant - services every thing is great.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank aisha a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON, ENGLAND
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2008

From the moment you arrive in Taesch - the staging-point for the final 10 minute train ride train to Zermatt - you are a customer of the massive commercial organisation to provide for skiing in arguably one of the greatest ski-resorts in Europe. A massive indoor multi-storey parking lot will house your vehicle; you load your luggage onto baggage carts which wheel right onto the train and off at the other end.
You will need a pre-reserved hotel, and usually from Saturday to Saturday, as that’s all they accept in this town, and from Zermatt Bahnhof you will be swiftly transported to your chosen hotel or apartment by electric taxi. The town has hundreds of them but almost no cars are allowed.
Arriving at the Pollux, you will like its location, right on the main shopping street, but the outside doesn’t look anything eye-catching. However, get inside and you will find just after the reception, the Chami Bar, a cosy open fired leather settee sort of a place that is just great for all ages. Apres Ski starts here, and it’s also a wonderful place for after-dinner drinks.
There is a dancing bar for the youthful, and two restaurants, which currently serve the same menu, the informal Pinte, and the slightly more traditional Arvenstube. Both are nice clean places, with a good variety of local and International dishes, at medium prices.
The rooms are modern design using rustic materials. Wood and stone are used in ways typical of modern Swiss architecture. Our room was on the top floor and was a large attic space room. However it was far from cramped and the dormer windows had been made into a feature above the bed where you could sleep watching the stars. Sofa, chairs desk, all fitted well in addition to the twin large beds. Free Internet worked well.
The prices at this hotel are medium, and drinks etc are not extortionate or excessive. The location is one of the best in town, and I can think of no better small 4 star hotel to stay in. I have been coming back to Zermatt for 25 years and the Pollux is definitely one of my favourites.

  • Liked — The room
  • Disliked — Lack of a swimming pool
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Toofastcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norfolk
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2007

We recently stayed there in a group and really loved it. The hotel was spotlessly clean and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. It had a tradtional feel with a modern twist, it was warm and cosy without being fussy. There is nothing negative to say about this hotel.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank David131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2006

I stayed at the Pollux for two nights, and I found it very difficult to sleep due to the noise in the street below, which doesn't abate until the early hours of the morning. I had to keep the windows open, since it was hot and there is no air conditioning, but I think it would have been hard to sleep through the noise even with the windows closed.
Some of the hotel staff are friendly - the bartender is great and even arranged a paragliding session for me while she was on duty - but some of the dining area staff are curt and unfriendly.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
Thank CalTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2006

We spent 4 nights at Hotel Pollux and were disappointed. The Advertised spa is very small, and remarkably, closes at 8PM. The double room, while well-decorated, was small and without a balcony (although the reservation claimed otherwise). The 1st floor bar is a gem, and the service is excellent. Eslewhere the service is not nearly up to the usually wonderful Swiss standard; the reception people are curt and often pre-occupied. The Hotel is located on the main street, and although the French doors dampen the sound, the hotel is over-heated and opening the door at night is not an option. I would recommend hotels closer to the ski trams by the river (Pollux, unlike other hotels in the class offers no shuttle). These hotels are only 5 minutes from the center of Zermatt, much quieter and require less of a hike to the ski centers. Zermatt definitely yes, Pollux...you can easily do better.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelMeaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Simi Zermatt
Hotel Simi Zermatt
#64 of 110 in Zermatt
218 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Butterfly
0.0 mi away
Hotel Walliserhof Zermatt
Hotel Walliserhof Zermatt
#62 of 110 in Zermatt
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Testa Grigia
Hotel Testa Grigia
#21 of 110 in Zermatt
303 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Continental Zermatt
Hotel Continental Zermatt
#79 of 110 in Zermatt
46 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Schweizerhof
#49 of 110 in Zermatt
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pollux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pollux

Property: Hotel Pollux
Address: Bahnhofstrasse 28, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#34 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#47 Family Hotel in Zermatt
#60 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Pollux 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HRS, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Pollux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pollux Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing