We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of Hotel Romantica

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Romantica
Ranked #43 of 111 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2013

In the middle of the town, near all the entertainments but not on the main road and quiet of crowd and trafic. You can only get there breakfast but hundreds of restaurants are waiting for you in Zermatt.

Room Tip: any, special place for lovers in 3 Mazot
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liulin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

80 - 86 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2013

Very nice to see, flowers in bloom with brilliant colors. Surrounded by classic wood buildings and on a hill up from the main road. We were surprised at home type atmosphere and friendly staff. Room was very nice with two balconies and large windows. Small room but perfect as had all we needed. Very quaint place and area, and I thought a perfect place for a town like Zermatt. Bathroom was modern as was decor of room. Would go back again and hope to next year

Room Tip: I liked all rooms and there are small cabins available. But rooms are brighter and better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fredricsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Romantica. Michele and her staff were wonderfully attentive and made us feel right at home. The location is perfect; a few steps off of the main street but surprising quiet. Our family occupied the two rooms on the top floor. The view of the town and mountains was fantastic. We also loved the simple but filling breakfast each morning. The Hotel Romantica is an exceptional value in Zermatt.

Room Tip: Top floor facing the town was spacious with a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

What stood out most here is the hospitality. The staff and owners were amazing. Friendly, helpful, always around to assist. Our room was great with a good view of the valley and Gornergrat. What we didn't expect was a great location to really the heart of town. Literally 50 meters down the hill were the best bars and central to all the restaurants. Also their internet was fast and simple to hook on to, which always is pleasant, but not normal in Europe. Overall this is a classic Swiss hotel. Perhaps the only thing I missed would be a sauna etc.

Room Tip: Seems all rooms have a great view, though not of the matterhorn. The hotel is above the main buildin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winequaffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We selected Hotel Romantica from the reports in TripAdvisor, and we agree entirely with previous travellers. From the moment we entered the door and throughout or stay we felt like being at home, and owners Michelle and her mother went out of their way to make our stay as pleasant as possible,.
This is a small hotel, but with a genuine and warm Swiss atmosphere. The rooms are very inviting with large and comfortable beds and modern bathrooms, and with flat screen TVs with more than 70 cable channels. There are 2 old but nicely equipped chalets on the property that must be perfect for honeymooners.
Next to the reception is a small and cozy bar, but on our return from a tiring day on the slopes, Michelle readily brought us glasses of Glühwine to the room. On our departure she even sent with us a loaf of the special Zermatt bread we had enjoyed for breakfast.
Rest assured, we will be back!

Room Tip: Front rooms have balconies with sunshine in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Argent14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

My wife and I stayed for just one night in mid-September during a 9 day trip to Switzerland. We'd have liked to have stayed there more!

This Hotel is a real charmer, nicely located up a short (but steep) hill from the main street, and very well maintained inside and out. The family that runs the place could not have been nicer or more helpful. We had a beautiful room that appeared to have been totally renovated very recently - the bathroom was spectacular. It looked like what you might find in brand new modern day hotel - but at the same time it was decorated with a soft and comforting Swiss chalet feel. We learned that they are currently in the process of updating all of the rooms, and still have some to do. The continental style breakfast was very good.

As mentioned, the Hotel is just a short walk to the Bahnhofstrasse, with all its shops, reastaurants, etc. But is far enough away to be very quiet at night, at least in our experience - our room was on the 2nd floor facing the front.

Our recommendation for getting there from the train station would be to walk along Bahnhofstrasse and turn right at Grampi's Pub (Google's suggestion seemed longer & more work).

Note: we originally tried to book a room via Bookings.com and were told that no rooms were availabe for the day we wanted. I emailed the Hotel directly and they told us they did have rooms, so we dealt directly with them from that point.

So in summary it's a charming place, nicely situated, with very pleasant & helpful staff (the family!). I'm actually surprised it doesn't get more reviews in T/A than it has. We'd stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frodo6300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Stayed there for three nights in August (actually we were supposed to stay only for 2 but had such a great time we didn't want to leave). We stayed in the main building and the room was spacious and the bathroom was wonderful. The hotel is located on a steep hill and there is a nice view of the mountain side though you don't face the Matterhorn.
Breakfast was fantastic. The hotel owner is very friendly, nice and very accomodating. I look forward to going back. We ended up meeting our neighbors and it was their 3rd or 4th trip back to Zermatt and they had stayed at Romantica every time.

Room Tip: Stayed in the middle room on the second floor which was quite spacious. I think some of the side roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trailrunnergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.3 mi away
Bella Vista Hotel
Bella Vista Hotel
#4 of 111 in Zermatt
416 reviews
0.6 mi away
Alpenlodge
Alpenlodge
#11 of 111 in Zermatt
230 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Testa Grigia
Hotel Testa Grigia
#30 of 111 in Zermatt
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Butterfly
0.2 mi away
BELLERIVE - CHIC HIDEAWAY
BELLERIVE - CHIC HIDEAWAY
#2 of 111 in Zermatt
459 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Walliserhof Zermatt
Hotel Walliserhof Zermatt
#57 of 111 in Zermatt
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Romantica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Romantica

Address: Chrum 21, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#55 Family Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range: £139 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Romantica 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Romantica is a cosy, small and romantic hotel with a centrally, yet quietly location just 50 meters off the main street in Zermatt, Bahnhofstrasse, where you find a broad selection of restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Romantica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romantica Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing