We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Hotel Romantica

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Romantica
Ranked #46 of 111 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Zermatt
2 reviews
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

I was there 3 nighs with my boyfriend. We had a superior room. Nice, friendly, Switzerland atmosphere - we had a perfect stay! the hotel outside is beautiful and several people came to take pictures of the garden. Very clean, breakfast was tasty and staff very helpfull and friendly, room and bathroom was very nice. We requested late check out and that was no problem!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Maria Louisa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    25
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
87
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed at Hotel Romantica for 3 nights in late June. It is very conveniently located in town but just up from the Main Street so it feels nicely secluded and very relaxing. We arrived late after a long day of traveling and the hotel upgraded us to a nicer room which was incredible!!!! Room was very large and extremely tidy! Bathroom was modern and large as well. Breakfast each day was also awesome as they had a wide spread of delicious food that was very cozy in their dining room. The hospitality of the staff was amazing and they were helpful with everything.

Overall an excellent experience at hotel romantica. Highly recommended for its location, value for money, hospitality and overall Swiss charm with modern touches. One of my favourite places on a 3 week trip to Europe!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeaners15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cannes
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

In the middle of the town, near all the entertainments but not on the main road and quiet of crowd and trafic. You can only get there breakfast but hundreds of restaurants are waiting for you in Zermatt.

Room Tip: any, special place for lovers in 3 Mazot
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liulin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrenceville, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Very nice to see, flowers in bloom with brilliant colors. Surrounded by classic wood buildings and on a hill up from the main road. We were surprised at home type atmosphere and friendly staff. Room was very nice with two balconies and large windows. Small room but perfect as had all we needed. Very quaint place and area, and I thought a perfect place for a town like Zermatt. Bathroom was modern as was decor of room. Would go back again and hope to next year

Room Tip: I liked all rooms and there are small cabins available. But rooms are brighter and better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fredricsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina, USA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Romantica. Michele and her staff were wonderfully attentive and made us feel right at home. The location is perfect; a few steps off of the main street but surprising quiet. Our family occupied the two rooms on the top floor. The view of the town and mountains was fantastic. We also loved the simple but filling breakfast each morning. The Hotel Romantica is an exceptional value in Zermatt.

Room Tip: Top floor facing the town was spacious with a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

What stood out most here is the hospitality. The staff and owners were amazing. Friendly, helpful, always around to assist. Our room was great with a good view of the valley and Gornergrat. What we didn't expect was a great location to really the heart of town. Literally 50 meters down the hill were the best bars and central to all the restaurants. Also their internet was fast and simple to hook on to, which always is pleasant, but not normal in Europe. Overall this is a classic Swiss hotel. Perhaps the only thing I missed would be a sauna etc.

Room Tip: Seems all rooms have a great view, though not of the matterhorn. The hotel is above the main buildin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winequaffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We selected Hotel Romantica from the reports in TripAdvisor, and we agree entirely with previous travellers. From the moment we entered the door and throughout or stay we felt like being at home, and owners Michelle and her mother went out of their way to make our stay as pleasant as possible,.
This is a small hotel, but with a genuine and warm Swiss atmosphere. The rooms are very inviting with large and comfortable beds and modern bathrooms, and with flat screen TVs with more than 70 cable channels. There are 2 old but nicely equipped chalets on the property that must be perfect for honeymooners.
Next to the reception is a small and cozy bar, but on our return from a tiring day on the slopes, Michelle readily brought us glasses of Glühwine to the room. On our departure she even sent with us a loaf of the special Zermatt bread we had enjoyed for breakfast.
Rest assured, we will be back!

Room Tip: Front rooms have balconies with sunshine in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Argent14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.3 mi away
Bella Vista Hotel
Bella Vista Hotel
#5 of 111 in Zermatt
389 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Testa Grigia
Hotel Testa Grigia
#26 of 111 in Zermatt
309 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Couronne
Hotel La Couronne
#43 of 111 in Zermatt
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BELLERIVE
BELLERIVE
#2 of 111 in Zermatt
438 reviews
0.0 mi away
Unique Hotel Post
Unique Hotel Post
#35 of 111 in Zermatt
478 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Butterfly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Romantica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Romantica

Property: Hotel Romantica
Address: Chrum 21, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#55 Family Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Romantica 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Romantica is a cosy, small and romantic hotel with a centrally, yet quietly location just 50 meters off the main street in Zermatt, Bahnhofstrasse, where you find a broad selection of restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Romantica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romantica Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing