We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully charming and convenient hotel, terrific staff - friendly and helpful”
Review of Hotel Romantica

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Romantica
Ranked #43 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderfully charming and convenient hotel, terrific staff - friendly and helpful”
Reviewed 3 March 2011

This lovely hotel is in a peaceful location just steps removed from the center of town - the location could not be better. The rooms are immaculate and comfortable. The staff is friendly and helpful, going out of their way, for example, to make brothy soup for a sick child. We could not have been happier with our stay

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rmkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    24
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
83
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2011

A quick phone call from the train station and we were picked up within minutes. This charming hotel was small, but cozy. Just off the main street, Romantica is central to everything including lifts, ski rental, shops, restaurants and night clubs. The staff is friendly and our room was clean, if a little on the small side. Breakfast was good (as far as continental breakfasts go) and the coffee was great.
I would definitely reccommend this hotel as it is great value, clean and central. In a town where everything costs an arm and a leg, this is a great find.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJlovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2011

We were skeptical initially with the hotel since it was more economical that other places we had come across during our research for hotels. Most of the other hotels required a minimum number of nights during the peak season (which this hotel did not).

We were extremely pleased with the location (right of the main street), central to everything within walking distance, the staff were friendly and helpful and fare exceed our expectations in terms of the room, cleanliness and the breakfast served. It prepared us well for a day on the slopes!

If we come back again, we're coming back and try to book early for the cabin rooms. We stayed in a regular room but felt quite spacious and slept very well (since it wasn't on the main street).

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tchijiiwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roatan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2010

One of the best hotels we stayed at in our 2 weeks in Switzerland. Cozy rooms, nicely updated bathrooms and very hospitable staff. The location was ideal for walking to the train station, restaurants, access to lifts and hiking paths and everything else. I would highly recommend Hotel Romantica to anyone!

Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jill2dive4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2009

We stayed three nights at Romatica as part of a family vacation. As we travel with two young children, we had requested the family room, which turned out to be spacious, clean, comfortable and recently renovated. A large balcony provided a nice view of the village rooftops and mountain scenery. Breakfast included all you need to get energized for a day of mountain exploration.

Romantica has a great location, right in the middle of the village, about 50 yards off the main street with all the busy shops and restaurants. The railway station is a ten minute walk, though the hotel will pick you up or drop you off at the station if you wish.

What we liked best, however, was the friendly staff, making us feel right at home. They gave us great advise on excursions that would suit even the younger family members, such as taking a train ride to Gornergrat and seeing the marmots at Sunegga.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller-6122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2008

We opted to stay in one of the cabins that the Romantica has. If you are a couple and they are free - you should do this. We stayed int he 'old fasioned' one which is on two floors, with twin beds in the roof and bathroom and living room area below. It was not huge, but perfect for skiing - gives you plenty of room for all your kit.
The family who run the place are friendly, and very helpful.
Breakfast is your standard mountain affair, with plenty on offer.
They have a good ski/boot room with secure lockers for each room.
The hotel is right off the main street, but far enough away to avoid all the noise and about a 5 min walk from the Gornergrat train.
If you don't want to spend a fortune on an uber cool hotel (The Omnia) or stay in a Disney style hotel (Mont Cervin Palace) then this is a brilliant option.

  • Liked — The cabin was private
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank idontwanthisname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
273 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2008

My husband and I stayed in one of the cabins at Hotel Romantica for our 10th wedding anniversary. It was such a beautiful cabin and even though they look old from the outside (apparently 200 years old), they have been completely remodelled inside and are ultra modern. They are very quaint and small but for 2 people they are just perfect and as the hotel is called, very romantic. They must just look so magical in the winter with a layer of snow on them. They are very clean and get serviced daily. The breakfasts were more than enough and I loved the personal touches in the cabins of family photographs and knick knacks. Staff were very friendly and helpful and the gardens of the hotel are beautiful.

The hotel is very centrally located and a 5 minute walk from the railway station. Try and get a lift from the hotel from the station so you don't have to pull heavy bags up the hill to the hotel.

Zermatt is a beautiful place and even though my husband and I are not skiers and decided to stay in Zermatt for the scenery, it was an absolutely beautiful place and to be able to see the "Toblerone" mountain up close was just breathtaking.

Don't set your heart on seeing the Glacier Palace - apparently it's hardly ever open due to weather conditions. I don't know if there's much to do if it's raining but if the sun is shining explore the village and do some trekking - you'll get some wonderful landscape shots.

Zermatt is a wonderful place and so is the Hotel Romantica.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — how cold it was
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jetsettingaussies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.3 mi away
Bella Vista Hotel
Bella Vista Hotel
#17 of 110 in Zermatt
353 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Parnass
Hotel Parnass
#28 of 110 in Zermatt
362 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Couronne
Hotel La Couronne
#44 of 110 in Zermatt
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Unique Hotel Post
Unique Hotel Post
#37 of 110 in Zermatt
452 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden Wellness
Hotel Eden Wellness
#21 of 110 in Zermatt
258 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Testa Grigia
Hotel Testa Grigia
#25 of 110 in Zermatt
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Romantica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Romantica

Property: Hotel Romantica
Address: Chrum 21, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#55 Family Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Romantica 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Romantica is a cosy, small and romantic hotel with a centrally, yet quietly location just 50 meters off the main street in Zermatt, Bahnhofstrasse, where you find a broad selection of restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Romantica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romantica Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing