We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but disappointment with the room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Schlosshotel Life & Style
Ranked #15 of 111 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 March 2014

First of all I need to say that the overall impression on the hotel is very good!
Location is perfect to my mind – close to the station (~150 meters), but isolated from the street noise, beautiful Matterhorn view.
Elegant lobby and bar for a daytime or evening drink next to the fireplace.
Authentically decorated breakfast restaurant with good selection of food to start your day.
Nice pool and a small but functional SPA area. Ski room with plenty of space and lockers for each room.
On the negative side - I was given a room which to my mind cannot be a boutique junior suite rustic style as advertised on the site when doing booking, but it’s rather a standard double room.
Though booked very well in advance (somewhat 7 months) and clearly stated in the booking my requirements on the room style I finally got something different. Be aware that rustic style junior suite will not be with wooden walls and two separate areas as on the picture, it will be white walls, a bed right next to the door, and some extra space with two armchairs and a small table. A big disappointment and a feeling that I was cheated.
But Zermatt is good as always and provides your with a lot of winter sport fun!

Room Tip: Be aware that rustic style junior suite will not be with wooden walls and two separate areas as on t...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MakulyaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (974)
There are newer reviews for Schlosshotel Life & Style
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

444 - 450 of 974 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2014

We spent 5 days in Zermatt and our stay at the Schlosshotel exceeded our expectations. The staff & management were exceptionally helpful on all our requests, and our happiness of our stay was of their greatest concern. The hotel's location is only a 2 minute walk from the main train station & the Gornergrat train that takes you up on the mountain / slopes / lifts. Our room was very spacious, large modern bathroom, modern furnishings, nice television, and large balcony with view of the Matterhorn. The breakfast room had a great selection and quality of food, and excellent service. After a hard day on the slopes it was great to relax in the very nice spa facilities -> pool, sauna, steam room. Our ski trip to Zermatt was the best of my ski travels, and it will be hard to top this ski vacation. Highly Recommended !

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ARL1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Our 2nd stay was amazing. Schlosshotel delivers true quality. It is most likely the best hotel in Zermatt today. Everything is new and fresh at very good value. Outstanding friendly service from all staff. Free wifi with very good speed appreciated. Superb breakfasts! Eccelent gym, pool, sauna, spa, wellness facility!!
We love everything about the hotel and will definitely be back!!!

Room Tip: 128 is a very good room with Matterhorn view!!
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank larspetre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

The Hotel was one of the best we stayed at in Zermatt ... Rooms are very clean and cozy ... Internet access is very fast ... Staff are very professional helpful ... What I did not like is that the check out time is 11:00 AM instead of 12:00 as usual ... I highly recommend this property in Zermatt

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mohammed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I exchanged numerous emails and phone calls with the very helpful staff at Alex Schlosshotel prior to arriving in order to get information on skiing and dining. We had an extended family staying at the hotel, not all arriving at the same time. They accommodated our needs very well and gave us a lot of helpful information prior to our arrival. The penthouse apartment is amazing-modern appliances (which the staff had to come upstairs and explain how to use) and furnishings. The vaulted wood ceilings and beautiful mountain views maintained a mountain chalet-like feel. The unit includes an induction cooktop, wine cooler, cappucino/coffee maker, oven, dishwasher, washer/dryer/detergent, dishes/etc. It was also very quiet, without train noises. The included breakfast was very good- great breads, cold cuts, cereals, eggs, lox, pastries, etc. The ski lockers were well set-up with boot dryers, helmet shelves, and a hole for the skis to prevent water pooling. The pool/spa area was very well done (the hotel was completely renovated in the fall of 2012) and we all enjoyed relaxing in the jetted part of the pool. Alex himself was often at the front desk and was the most helpful of the staff. Ask him for skiing advice- where to go, etc, as he knows the mountain very well. If we go back to Zermatt, this is the only place we'd consider staying. It is a few minutes walk to the Sunnega funicular (to get to the Rothorn mountain), across the street from the train station and the Gornergrat bahn (to get to the Gornergrat mountain), and the shuttle or taxi stand to get to the Klein Matterhorn is also right there- a great location!

Room Tip: Great suites. The penthouse has a great view of the Matterhorn.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SilkeB441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We just came back from a fantastic week at the Alex Schlosshotel in Zermatt. Beautiful decorated hotel with great staff and personal engagement. the breakfast is included and very good for a day in the slopes. Top service. The hotel is fresh and clean, lovely pool and spa-area with steam- and dry sauna. We stayed in one apartment of 3.5 rooms and loved it. The location of the hotel is very good, super close to the Gornergrat train up to the skiing area. Warmly recommend this hotel and we will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FiaIng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Just spent a week in a junior suite at Schlosshotel. Firstly, I would say it is very well maintained, and exceptionally clean hotel. The location is one of the best in the city! 70 meters from the main train station, and even closer to the Gornergrat Station. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. We, unfortunately, did not get the rustic style junior suite we saw online. Our room, however, was technically a Junior suite because it had a wall splitting the room in 1/2. In my opinion is was the bare minimum definition of a junior suite, but it was ok. It was the missing things at this hotel which left me scratching my head. The room had no coffee, no kettle (but one was provided when asked), no mini bar, no refrigerator, however, it did have a nice digital bathroom scale. Why someone on holiday would want to monitor their weight, but not have coffee or tea is beyond me, but that is the way it was. Internet was ok, but off and on a few times, and some dead areas in the room and bathroom. The pool area is gorgeous, as is the sauna and steam room, but no whirlpool was disappointing. Breakfast was fantastic, with a large variety of very fresh items! Ski room was clean and conveniently located. Hotel was quiet, and bed was very comfortable. Our room was on the ground floor facing away from the Matterhorn. All in all, we had a great stay, which is why we rated this hotel highly, however, I would add that over all the price of the room was high compared to other similar products in the local market. We have been to Zermatt several times and paid less for a junior suite with more features.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Never_stop_smiling47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.4 mi away
BELLERIVE
BELLERIVE
#2 of 111 in Zermatt
451 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpenhof
Hotel Alpenhof
#16 of 111 in Zermatt
472 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
#6 of 111 in Zermatt
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Parkhotel Beau Site
Parkhotel Beau Site
#10 of 111 in Zermatt
785 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western PLUS Alpen Resort Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Firefly
Hotel Firefly
#3 of 111 in Zermatt
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schlosshotel Life & Style? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schlosshotel Life & Style

Address: Bahnhofplatz 18, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland (Formerly Alex Schlosshotel )
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Zermatt
#9 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#10 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#13 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#26 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range: £162 - £337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Schlosshotel Life & Style 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome at the Schlosshotel in Zermatt! In our Hotel with 49 luxury rooms and Suites everyone feels good. Chose your room or your Suite just according to your wishes and requirements. At the Schlosshotel, very centrally located in Zermatt, you live a fairytale! Thanks to the Schlosshotel's central location in Zermatt, you can enjoy our fabulous facilities just 50 m from the station, a stone's throw from the main street and directly next to the Gornergrat railway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Schlosshotel Life & Style reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schlosshotel Tenne Zermatt
Schlosshotel Tenne Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing