We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVE this hotel!”
Review of Unique Hotel Post

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Unique Hotel Post
Ranked #34 of 111 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Danbury, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“LOVE this hotel!”
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We had the pleasure of staying here for 2 nights during our 2 week European vacation. It was our favorite hotel of the entire trip. I wanted to stay longer just to stay here a bit more! I greatly appreciated the shuttle to/from the train station. Even though the hotel is within walking distance, with luggage, it's much easier to have the shuttle get us to/from. On the day we checked out, we woke up to about 6 inches of snow (at the end of May!), so this was especially true - no way would I have wanted to lug my suitcase through the snow!

As for the room, we were on the 5th floor facing towards the direction of the train station. The room was very clean and very cozy/comfortable. I loved the decor throughout the entire hotel and the touch panels for the elevators was just too cool. I also loved that the bathroom had an anti-fog mirror. While none of the hotels in Zermatt are 'cheap', this one definitely lived up to the price. I felt taken care of from the moment we arrived. Once you check in, they don't just hand you the key and point you to the elevator, they actually escort you to the room, tell you about the area, and make sure you're comfortable with the room.

The breakfast is a buffet, but it was well stocked with yummy options, so no complaints there. It was a great way to start the day! The location of the hotel is ideal...it's right in the middle of the main street, so tons of shops and restaurants are within walking distance.

All in all a wonderful stay in a wonderful town. I would love to visit Zermatt again, and if I get the chance, I wouldn't hesitate to stay at the Unique Hotel Post again!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    321
    114
    26
    9
    10
See reviews for
62
265
30
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Rooms are super staff are nice. It is located in a very central location. Breakfast wonderful. Did not try the spa. The wifi signal in my room (single room) was not too good, but it was not a problem as i carried my own wifi device. Overall the experience was super. If I return to Zermatt I will be staying here again. No doubt.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aliceyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texas
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Yes this hotel is chic and fun, but the guest services is what truly makes this property unforgettable. Jon Phillipe (assistant manager) showed my husband & I the VIP experience with a tour of the property which will surely make us return!

Room Tip: Matterhorn Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennaTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 334 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Nice arrival service by electrobus to hotel. Reception staff nice and helpfull, showed us to the room and explained all amenties. We had 1 room with bathtub and1 room with rain shower. Both were very nice and functioning well. It was a snowy day with not much to do and the staff helped us in finding a nice program. There is a little SPA with a masseur available. Breakfast is good, brown cow bar always busy. Very centrally located, just 5 walk minutes from the station. Decoration is all wood and stone, very chic alpstyle.. We had a good stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SwissTravelManager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed 2 nights at this hotel after a tour on the glacial express. The hotel is in the middle of the town and allows easy access to and from the train station (500 metres away) and is situated slightly uphill on the left hand side of the street and also within a few metres for a view of the Matterhorn as well as to the many shops with goods to sell. The staff were pleasant and willing to assist with guidance to what was best to see whilst on our stay. Our suite was on the second floor and it consisted of 2 floors of small space. The downstairs was a sitting room and very small bathroom. Upstairs via windy steep slippery wooden stairs was the king size bed and an enormous spa that we were warned about was self cleaning and could start at any time of the night to clean itself, if used. This deterred us using the spa and gave us hope of a solid night sleep. There is free wifi in the rooms. The meals - the Post has a great little bar at the front were more than suitable and reasonably priced. We were in the mainly off season with little skiers about so this gave us more time to enjoy the sights. The supplied weather conditions that we found on our room door handle were great and allowed us to plan our day. They were fairly accurate as well. Worth the stay if you want comfort and convenience. We would stay here again.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank review53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eschen
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed in Zermatt for 3 days last week with my whole family and it was just perfect. The hotel is in the main street of the village. Just a 5 minutes walk from the train station. Plenty of restaurants, bars etc. are just next to the hotel (there are also some restaurants, a bar and a club in the hotel itself, though we did not stay there for dinner as those restaurants do not offer typical Swiss food, which I personally think is a bit of a pitty as I'm not going to the Swiss mountains to eat Mexican or Italian food...). The breakfast buffet at the hotel was amazing. They have a huge variety and very good quality. You can also order eggs etc. any style you want, any type of coffee and freshly squeezed juice - all included to the price.
The hotel is clean and has a nice and modern renovation but I think it still fits into the mountain environment as they used a lot of wood and stone. We had two normal rooms (303, 201) and one suite (402). For the normal room, 303 is great as it has a bigger balcony and you can see the Matterhorn. My mum stayed in 201 and she complained that it was a bit noisy during the night as her room was facing the street and guests from the club in our hotel stayed outside smoking and talking for quite a bit.
The hotel also has a small but lovely spa. They have a jacuzzi, steam and sauna.

Room Tip: 303 - big balcony with view of the Matterhorn. Further this room is not directly exposed to the road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah1708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I stayed there for 3 days and specially loved the interior design of this hotel. The room was neat and tidy with a balacony which I could see a bit of the mountain view. The toilette provided was great. Breakfast was good with reasonable choices, felt very comfortable and warm in the restaurant. Location was excellent, along the main street (around 5 mins walk from the train station)

The only thing that was not quite realistic was perhaps the basin which was so small.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.4 mi away
Fleurs de Zermatt
Fleurs de Zermatt
#27 of 111 in Zermatt
207 reviews
0.3 mi away
Schlosshotel Life & Style
Schlosshotel Life & Style
#14 of 111 in Zermatt
957 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
#6 of 111 in Zermatt
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BELLERIVE
BELLERIVE
#2 of 111 in Zermatt
442 reviews
0.1 mi away
Backstage Hotel Vernissage
Backstage Hotel Vernissage
#29 of 111 in Zermatt
313 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
#15 of 111 in Zermatt
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Unique Hotel Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Unique Hotel Post

Property: Unique Hotel Post
Address: Bahnhofstrasse 41 | 3920 Zermatt, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#23 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#25 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#29 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#52 Family Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Unique Hotel Post 4.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerce in a totally new hotel experience: sophisticated, yet homey, Mountain Lodge Style with an international touch – be enchanted!Situated in the center of Zermatt, the Unique Hotel Post unites one individually styled hotel rooms & suites, a stylish SPA area and a diverse range of popular restaurants and bars under one roof.Our unique hotel rooms & suites - equipped in a sophisticated Mountain Lodge Style - combine skilfully regional, natural materials, sandblasted fir wood, centenarian quarry stone walls and straight, modern design to an equally fresh and authentic mountain experience which already starts in your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Unique Hotel Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Post Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing