We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a place to relax”
Review of Unique Hotel Post

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Unique Hotel Post
Ranked #35 of 109 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Begnins, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not a place to relax”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Nice hotel, helpfull staff but you will need some days to recover and to catch up with your sleep after you have stayed here. The beats coming from the club downstairs in the hotel vibrate through the complete hotel every night until 03:30 in the morning; even if your room is on the top 4th floor.

If you plan an hotel to relax, this should not be your choice.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    297
    108
    23
    8
    8
See reviews for
54
243
30
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

I stayed here on 26 September night and it was lovely. As some reviewers said that I could ask for a room with the view of matterhorn and I tried to do it. Ended up I am allocated a room on 2/F with a balcony. The balcony isnt that great because you can actually see the people eating in the restaurants right opposite to the hotel. The hotel staff explained that since everyone is asking for a room with the view of matterhorn, and the only room they can give me is this one. I guess it is because I book it hotels.com and thus they are bound to give me room with limited views.

As I arrived at around 7p.m. on Zermatt, I was already very tired after the 3.5 hours train from Basel airport, I wish to take a good rest before exploring Zermatt on the next day. The staff recommended me to go to their jacuzzi and sauna which is at the basement of this hotel. The water there isnt very hot and no one was there except me. The service of this hotel is excellent, and when I asked whether there is any air conditioning facitilites in this hotel, they said no. Then I asked for a fan and they provided me one and sent to my room.

The breakfast in this hotel is also satisfactory, which is a good energizer before starting the next day exploration in Zermatt. The location is also prime, which you can walk to the train station within 10 mins (slowly) and to nearby road tracks within 10 mins.

Room Tip: If you wish to have a balcony room, you may try to ask for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agnespret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one week and was not disappointed! Room very comfortable and made to look like a chalet. Staff are very friendly and helpful. View from balcony was to die for! The church was just there and a glance to the right was the Matterhorn. Hotel itself is just about 5 min walk from the railway station and the station for the Gornagrat line. The hotel has a pizza and spaghetti factory where you can choose an option from the menu or design your own pizza. The Penne pasta with chicken, pineapple and curry was very tasty. The Brown Cow was an excellent informal place to eat and drink.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gray2057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We stayed here for 02 nights while in Zermatt. This is 5-10 mins walk from the train station through the maze of shops and tourists.
We got the one facing matterhorn, with a nice balcony with it. We really enjoyed the early morning view of the mountain from our balcony.
The rooms are quite nice with wooden interiors, with temperature control. the bathrooms are quite spacy and well done up.
Only drawback was the breakfast, not too much of a variety and the seating orientation was not good either. The girl in the dining area looked in too much hurry to clean things up even when the guests were eating. Really need to improve on the breakfast part.
If you plan just to stay and no food, this is a good option.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globe_traveller_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

This hotel is wonderful. When I checked in, I was escorted to my room and they made sure everything was perfect before leaving. The rooms are rustic looking but very modern. I had asked for a view of the Matterhorn when I made my reservation and I got one ! Perfect view right out my window...or I could sit on my huge balcony and relax. The restaurant in the hotel gives guests a discount but it is still a bit pricy. The location is excellent and right in the middle of town on the main street...just walk out the front door and you're there. Easy walking distance to any of the cable cars or the train station. They will pick you up at the train station but I decided to walk. The spa/steam is great. The entire hotel is spotless and everything is kept up. Front desk was very eager to help with directions, maps or just visit for a minute. I hated to leave and will stay there again without any doubt !! Thank you for a wonderful stay !!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Stayed there for three nights, a bit regret not to stay longer. Part of it was because of the stunningly beautifl mountains, part of it because of this lovely hotel. I was upgraded to the loft room on the 4th floor where it has a high ceiling, making the already spacious room even bigger and cosier. Bed was huge and comfy. Room is clean and with nice design.

It has a small balcony which could see a little bit of Matterhorn if the weather is good enough, but it also faces other buildings in very close distance. Fortunately the weather there was quite cool and there is A/C in the room so there was no need to open the window, otherwise it could be quite noisy as downstairs are bars and restaurants, people laugh and talk until after mid night. There are big windows facing the main street which also offer great view.

No minibar in the room but you can order drinks. Also no kettle in the room but you can get one from the reception.

All in all, I love this hotel so much and I am thinking to return some day for a longer stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eva L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

Everything was excellent! We had a massage at the spa and also there we were very happy!
The breakfast is also very good! You can find everything you need and want there. We also tried the gourmet restaurant and we need to say exactly the same. This place is unique!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rimini27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.3 mi away
Schlosshotel
Schlosshotel
#11 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
0.1 mi away
Backstage Hotel Vernissage
Backstage Hotel Vernissage
#36 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fleurs de Zermatt
Fleurs de Zermatt
#28 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
#5 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alpenhof
Hotel Alpenhof
#15 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
0.2 mi away
Europe Hotel & Spa
Europe Hotel & Spa
#7 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Unique Hotel Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Unique Hotel Post

Property: Unique Hotel Post
Address: Bahnhofstrasse 41 | 3920 Zermatt, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#23 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#26 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#29 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#52 Family Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Unique Hotel Post 4.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerce in a totally new hotel experience: sophisticated, yet homey, Mountain Lodge Style with an international touch – be enchanted!Situated in the center of Zermatt, the Unique Hotel Post unites one individually styled hotel rooms & suites, a stylish SPA area and a diverse range of popular restaurants and bars under one roof.Our unique hotel rooms & suites - equipped in a sophisticated Mountain Lodge Style - combine skilfully regional, natural materials, sandblasted fir wood, centenarian quarry stone walls and straight, modern design to an equally fresh and authentic mountain experience which already starts in your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Unique Hotel Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Post Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing