We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel lovely rooms”
Review of Unique Hotel Post

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Unique Hotel Post
Ranked #38 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel lovely rooms”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We organised for a complimentary pick up from the train station and we were greeted by thei courteous porter who helped us with our bags. We were greeted warmly by front desk, and check in was quick and straightforward. A welcome drink was in our hands too in no time by the fireplace. Maps and tips were provided for us first time skiers, and our luggage a were brought into our room without even us knowing. We were shown to our room, something that I've not experienced before, and the most magical part happened - seeing their amazing room. We fell in love with it straight away, and felt at home as soon as our shoes were off. We had dinner at the hotel which served some lovely and reasonably priced food. Comfy beds and fluffy pillows, warm room perfect for snowy village. The bedroom also came with a lovely bathtub where you could soak after a long day. Our lonely regret was not booking a longer stay !

Room Tip: Could get noisy at nights due to night spots around hotel. Room 201 did not have views of Matterhorn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belinda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    110
    24
    8
    10
See reviews for
56
249
30
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

Just come back from 4 nights at the Post in Zermatt. Where do I start.... The hotel experience probably made this one of our best holidays ever and we have a few! The hotel itself has just got everything right. The ambiance is perfect. I could rave on about how good every aspect of our experience at the hotel and Zermatt was but the main thing I'm going to big up are the staff. Just thank you for making our stay a delightful experience. And once you've been to Zermatt - you'll realise there is nothing close to it. Pricey but for good reason. It's different class

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Danomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Great hotel with modern rooms and friendly staff in the center of town. It also hosts a music bar, cocktail bar and a club in case you enjoy nightlife. The only thing we found a little weird is that everyboyd seems to get naked in the mixed spa area which has mixed showers. We didn't enjoy to see all these people we ate breakfast with naked. But other than that there is really nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott_Zelda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

After spending the weekend in this lovely little hotel, I am already looking forward to my next stay.
The furnishings are contemporary, the bathroom luxurious, yet the original character of this 18th century building is clearly in evidence.
There is a lot of entertainment on offer and the ground floor has a definite party feel, but this can easily be avoided if partying is not on your agenda.
One negative, the restaurant staff may be friendly, but not particularly efficient.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

With no two rooms the same, this hotel, in the center of the car-free town is very cool. It's been noted that many famous people and musicians have stayed here! And, why not- with it's central location and rustic and upbeat atmosphere. The restaurant-in house-has great food and the staff is very pleasant and efficient. Many rooms have windows that open to the famous Matterhorn view and others open up to the quaint atmosphere of the town's churches and businesses. The nightclub in the basement is sometimes 'hopping' and others has been quite mellow on the 1/2 dozen or so times I've ventured there. Give it a try and I would bet you'll be back to stay!!

Room Tip: Ask the staff when reserving a room what they would recommend to fit your needs. In the huge scheme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Littlejohn820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I stayed in this beautiful hotel from November 21st for 9 days.
The hotel is very modern and chalet like at the same time which I really enjoyed!!! It is in the very centre of Zermatt and only 10 min walk from Matterhorn express lift!
My single room was very warm and cosy with a big balcony but with NO separate bathroom!!! It was ok but I would prefer to have a shower and a wash basin in a separate room and not in front of my bed! It is also quite inconvient to step out of the shower into the room!
The spa is very nice as well! I really enjoyed the jacuzzi! There are not enough space for relaxation though!
The quality of sleep can be poor I must say! There is a night club downstairs! The sound vibrates through the hotel!!! So if you are young and don't mind the noise it is not a problem! I am using earplugs all the time so it wasn't a big issue but on Friday night it can be really insane!!!
The staff is very friendly and helpful! Breakfast is fantastic!

Room Tip: no preference really
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evgenia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Beautiful Hotel in Zermatt, you can ask for pick up at train station but need to mail to the hotel in advance, however you can walk to the hotel, it's not far.
I love their Jacuzzi, Steam and Sauna.
Staff is friendly but they can't give you any travel information.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niponpat K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.4 mi away
Fleurs de Zermatt
Fleurs de Zermatt
#28 of 110 in Zermatt
201 reviews
0.3 mi away
Schlosshotel
Schlosshotel
#10 of 110 in Zermatt
905 reviews
0.1 mi away
Backstage Hotel Vernissage
Backstage Hotel Vernissage
#32 of 110 in Zermatt
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Romantik Hotel Julen
Romantik Hotel Julen
#11 of 110 in Zermatt
427 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
#5 of 110 in Zermatt
579 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alpenhof
Hotel Alpenhof
#14 of 110 in Zermatt
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Unique Hotel Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Unique Hotel Post

Property: Unique Hotel Post
Address: Bahnhofstrasse 41 | 3920 Zermatt, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#24 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#27 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#29 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#52 Family Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Unique Hotel Post 4.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerce in a totally new hotel experience: sophisticated, yet homey, Mountain Lodge Style with an international touch – be enchanted!Situated in the center of Zermatt, the Unique Hotel Post unites one individually styled hotel rooms & suites, a stylish SPA area and a diverse range of popular restaurants and bars under one roof.Our unique hotel rooms & suites - equipped in a sophisticated Mountain Lodge Style - combine skilfully regional, natural materials, sandblasted fir wood, centenarian quarry stone walls and straight, modern design to an equally fresh and authentic mountain experience which already starts in your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Unique Hotel Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Post Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing