We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay in the heart of Zermatt”
Review of Unique Hotel Post

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Unique Hotel Post
Ranked #35 of 111 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We had our family (all adults) in two rooms at this hotel. The rooms had that Mountain Lodge feel but with a modern twist. The reception staff was super helpful and very nice. Big tub in one of the rooms, shower in the other. The rear facing room was quiet...the street facing rooms are not. If you have to have quiet to fall asleep- don't face the street. The locals and the tourists love to sit outside the bars till LATE. It's all a very high energy vibe- nothing rowdy. We enjoyed our stay tremendously. We walked absolutely everywhere.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Candy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (488)
There are newer reviews for Unique Hotel Post
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 488 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

Hotel Unique Post is about a 10 minute easy walk from the train-station, up a slight hill. Check in was quick and easy. The staff were friendly and efficient.
Our Comfort room 203 was incredibly small, a tiny desk, 2 beds zipped together, no coffee/tea making facilities or fridge. No chairs to sit on, just a cube below the desk. There's plenty of storage in the 2 small wardrobes either side of the bed. Behind the bed is a fairly broad bedhead which has 2 lamps on it and you can store bits and pieces there, but it's inconvenient. The bathroom was spotlessly clean and very large.
Breakfast was basic, but OK.
The free wifi would not let us send emails, only receive them, which was frustrating.

Room Tip: Do not book a Comfort room it's much too small if you're staying for more than 1 night.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rovers816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Where should I start?
It was my first visit in Switzerland and Zermatt, and the hotel helped it to be much easier and fun.
It starts with the location, just 3-4 minutes decent and lovely walk from the train station, and continues with 5 minutes walk from all the other cable cars (Gornengrat, Sunnega, glacier paradise).
The hotel is 2 seconds away from the church and Matterhorn museum.

The room (loft) was perfect, large for couple, we got matterhorn view balcony, which was great!
The breakfast is very tasty as well.

The only cons that I can say is about the Spa, which is too small and basic, but still, good place to relax from the day.

Room Tip: 406 - Loft with matterhorn view.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yogev A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This was the first time we choose for a hotel during our ski holiday in Zermatt. We didn't regret it for one second. Hotel Post is as it's name: Unique. In the midst the opulence of many Zermatt places the rooms have a minimal, but at the same time extremely luxurious look and feel. It's simple, it's elegant and stunning. Breakfast very tasteful and all restaurants serve good food.
Location is perfect and everything in Zermatt is at walking distance. Rooms are not cheap, but then again nothing in Zermatt us. If we stay in a hotel as opposed to an apartment, Hotel Post will remain our first choice.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miriamdxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

I booked this hotel well in Switzerland based on a recommendation from a friend. Unfortunately, I came down with bronchitis and called to cancel and asked about issueing a credit and booking for another date. The customer service person didn't know I'd they could issue. Credit and said they would call me back. A number of days passed before we rcieved a return call. I sent a follow up Emil in the meantime which I beleive prompt them to deal with me. They stated that they have a non refundable cancellation policy and they needed to know why I had canceled again. I told them I would like to book a room for another weekend that month of they could help us out with some sort of credit. They decided to not give us any sort of credit toward the $375 cost of the room. To get to that decision the hotel took a week to come to that decision. They added that because we canceled on the scheduled day of arrival they could not resell the room. Not sure what that was a problem as my travel partner looked up availability at the Hotel Post for that day and they had available rooms.

Too bad the customer service experience was so poor. I can not recommend booking there after getting the run around. Too bad because the hotel itself is rather nice.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Unique Hotel Po... Z, Sales & Marketing at Unique Hotel Post, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Mister Snodgrass,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.

As clearly stated in our cancellation policy every cancellation made 5 days prior arrival is free of charge and every cancellation made after that is charged with 100% of the stay if we are not able to sell the room.

We always try to resell the rooms in order not to charge our guests. Unfortunately in this case the cancellation was made only a few hours before arrival and even if we tried hard we weren’t able to sell the room even on a discounted price.

Again we thank you for your feedback and understanding.

Kind regards

Timothy Mantegazzi
Direction Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

being there mid november the for christmas time, it becomes a must for my personal comfort as much for holidays as for business seminar. at the bar you prfit from their mojito (0,5 lietr), smoke a cigar outside under a blanket and a warm radiator. Rooms are really beautiful mixing wood, stones and steel in a very design way. Owners at work and service perfect. then get down to thejazz bar and at the nightclub, excellent music. trying it is addictive

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fabien_Guim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel was perfect in every way! I picked this hotel as most of the other hotels on my list were actually closed in what is apparently low season in Zermatt. But I believe I hit jackpot with a hotel that was perfect in every way for three of us including a 5-year-old in tow. Free pickup service to and from the railway station made for a perfect and pampered beginning and end to our stay at this hotel. The receptionists were always lovely and accommodating and an early request to the hotel for a quiet room facing the Matterhorn was met with a room exceeding all expectations! We were placed in a junior suite room 404 and it came with a balcony giving us perfect views of the Matterhorn! On both days! The fireplace in the room was also a wonderful touch. The hotel is beautifully renovated and has managed to combine both a modernist look with a traditional alpine touch - a real treat to admire! Loved the nespresso machine in the room and the wonderful breakfast spreads in the morning! Will definitely be back at this hotel when I come back to Zermatt - the location along the main road in the middle of town was just fantastic!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katherinehor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
#7 of 111 in Zermatt
614 reviews
0.3 mi away
Schlosshotel Life & Style
Schlosshotel Life & Style
#14 of 111 in Zermatt
976 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fleurs de Zermatt
Fleurs de Zermatt
#30 of 111 in Zermatt
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Backstage Hotel Vernissage
Backstage Hotel Vernissage
#33 of 111 in Zermatt
320 reviews
0.2 mi away
BELLERIVE
BELLERIVE
#2 of 111 in Zermatt
452 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Omnia
The Omnia
#4 of 111 in Zermatt
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Unique Hotel Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Unique Hotel Post

Address: Bahnhofstrasse 41 | 3920 Zermatt, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#24 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#25 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#29 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#52 Family Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range: £170 - £383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Unique Hotel Post 4.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerce in a totally new hotel experience: sophisticated, yet homey, Mountain Lodge Style with an international touch – be enchanted!Situated in the center of Zermatt, the Unique Hotel Post unites one individually styled hotel rooms & suites, a stylish SPA area and a diverse range of popular restaurants and bars under one roof.Our unique hotel rooms & suites - equipped in a sophisticated Mountain Lodge Style - combine skilfully regional, natural materials, sandblasted fir wood, centenarian quarry stone walls and straight, modern design to an equally fresh and authentic mountain experience which already starts in your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Unique Hotel Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Post Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing