We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything you need in a hotel in Zermatt” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Unique Hotel Post

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Unique Hotel Post
Ranked #34 of 109 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Everything you need in a hotel in Zermatt”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Modern mountain lodge, beautifully decorated and extremely clean. It is conveniently located in the centre of Zermatt. It has numerous restaurants, I ate at the Spaghetti Factory and the food was excellent. The pub and the lounge are also very convenient and have a nice atmosphere. A healthy breakfast is included and you can eat it in the restaurant or order to your room. Rooms are a reasonable size and very comfortable. The staff is friendly, knowledgable and always ready to help. Wifi worked perfectly. The spa is gorgeous. I have stayed there 6 times already and will continue to return.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a very quiet hotel, this might not be it. Rooms on higher floors and at the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DomVallee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    107
    21
    7
    8
See reviews for
53
228
30
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
140 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

We slept there for one night end of June. The design of the rooms and the hotel is great, with a nice mix of wood and stone. The breakfast was excellent, the wellness area is cosy and is probably busy in high season, but was perfect when we stayed there.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OneAdvisedTravaller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

We had our family (all adults) in two rooms at this hotel. The rooms had that Mountain Lodge feel but with a modern twist. The reception staff was super helpful and very nice. Big tub in one of the rooms, shower in the other. The rear facing room was quiet...the street facing rooms are not. If you have to have quiet to fall asleep- don't face the street. The locals and the tourists love to sit outside the bars till LATE. It's all a very high energy vibe- nothing rowdy. We enjoyed our stay tremendously. We walked absolutely everywhere.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Candy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Hotel Unique Post is about a 10 minute easy walk from the train-station, up a slight hill. Check in was quick and easy. The staff were friendly and efficient.
Our Comfort room 203 was incredibly small, a tiny desk, 2 beds zipped together, no coffee/tea making facilities or fridge. No chairs to sit on, just a cube below the desk. There's plenty of storage in the 2 small wardrobes either side of the bed. Behind the bed is a fairly broad bedhead which has 2 lamps on it and you can store bits and pieces there, but it's inconvenient. The bathroom was spotlessly clean and very large.
Breakfast was basic, but OK.
The free wifi would not let us send emails, only receive them, which was frustrating.

Room Tip: Do not book a Comfort room it's much too small if you're staying for more than 1 night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rovers816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maalot Tarshikha, Israel
Level Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Where should I start?
It was my first visit in Switzerland and Zermatt, and the hotel helped it to be much easier and fun.
It starts with the location, just 3-4 minutes decent and lovely walk from the train station, and continues with 5 minutes walk from all the other cable cars (Gornengrat, Sunnega, glacier paradise).
The hotel is 2 seconds away from the church and Matterhorn museum.

The room (loft) was perfect, large for couple, we got matterhorn view balcony, which was great!
The breakfast is very tasty as well.

The only cons that I can say is about the Spa, which is too small and basic, but still, good place to relax from the day.

Room Tip: 406 - Loft with matterhorn view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yogev A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
110 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

This was the first time we choose for a hotel during our ski holiday in Zermatt. We didn't regret it for one second. Hotel Post is as it's name: Unique. In the midst the opulence of many Zermatt places the rooms have a minimal, but at the same time extremely luxurious look and feel. It's simple, it's elegant and stunning. Breakfast very tasteful and all restaurants serve good food.
Location is perfect and everything in Zermatt is at walking distance. Rooms are not cheap, but then again nothing in Zermatt us. If we stay in a hotel as opposed to an apartment, Hotel Post will remain our first choice.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miriamdxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

I booked this hotel well in Switzerland based on a recommendation from a friend. Unfortunately, I came down with bronchitis and called to cancel and asked about issueing a credit and booking for another date. The customer service person didn't know I'd they could issue. Credit and said they would call me back. A number of days passed before we rcieved a return call. I sent a follow up Emil in the meantime which I beleive prompt them to deal with me. They stated that they have a non refundable cancellation policy and they needed to know why I had canceled again. I told them I would like to book a room for another weekend that month of they could help us out with some sort of credit. They decided to not give us any sort of credit toward the $375 cost of the room. To get to that decision the hotel took a week to come to that decision. They added that because we canceled on the scheduled day of arrival they could not resell the room. Not sure what that was a problem as my travel partner looked up availability at the Hotel Post for that day and they had available rooms.

Too bad the customer service experience was so poor. I can not recommend booking there after getting the run around. Too bad because the hotel itself is rather nice.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Unique Hotel Po... Z, Sales & Marketing at Unique Hotel Post, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Mister Snodgrass,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.

As clearly stated in our cancellation policy every cancellation made 5 days prior arrival is free of charge and every cancellation made after that is charged with 100% of the stay if we are not able to sell the room.

We always try to resell the rooms in order not to charge our guests. Unfortunately in this case the cancellation was made only a few hours before arrival and even if we tried hard we weren’t able to sell the room even on a discounted price.

Again we thank you for your feedback and understanding.

Kind regards

Timothy Mantegazzi
Direction Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.1 mi away
Backstage Hotel Vernissage
Backstage Hotel Vernissage
#35 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fleurs de Zermatt
Fleurs de Zermatt
#17 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alpenhof
Hotel Alpenhof
#15 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Schlosshotel
Schlosshotel
#11 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
0.2 mi away
Europe Hotel & Spa
Europe Hotel & Spa
#7 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
#5 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Unique Hotel Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Unique Hotel Post

Property: Unique Hotel Post
Address: Bahnhofstrasse 41 | 3920 Zermatt, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#24 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#25 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#29 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#52 Family Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Unique Hotel Post 4.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerce in a totally new hotel experience: sophisticated, yet homey, Mountain Lodge Style with an international touch – be enchanted!Situated in the center of Zermatt, the Unique Hotel Post unites one individually styled hotel rooms & suites, a stylish SPA area and a diverse range of popular restaurants and bars under one roof.Our unique hotel rooms & suites - equipped in a sophisticated Mountain Lodge Style - combine skilfully regional, natural materials, sandblasted fir wood, centenarian quarry stone walls and straight, modern design to an equally fresh and authentic mountain experience which already starts in your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de and Odigeo so you can book your Unique Hotel Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Post Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing