We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay at helpful, non-pretentious hotel right at the center of the action” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Garni Tannenhof

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Zermatt
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Garni Tannenhof
Ranked #87 of 109 Hotels in Zermatt
Stevensville, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely stay at helpful, non-pretentious hotel right at the center of the action”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

A short walk from the train station coming from Tasch. I stayed for a night in a single room with no bathroom - clean and comfortable room with close access to bathroom and shower. The lady at the reception was extremely helpful and accomodating. The breakfast was good, typical european, nothing to complain about. Very reasonable price for the location. Would go again if I was back.

Room Tip: Second floor closer to shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moises_Norena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    50
    14
    2
    2
See reviews for
11
45
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

We arrived very late like 9:30 and was all dark already.
We called before to have a late check in. Reception already left us a key.
The room was warm,clean and with everything you needed. It was good to have bath.
No AC and have to open the windows.
Quite noisy at the morning, you would easily heard people talking and walking in the street
The location is good, like 7 mins walk from the zermatt train station. If you dont want to walk with the luggage, you can got a taxi of 15 CHF

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pinky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

I'm not sure what happened to a previous reviewer here, but we were treated exceptionally by the staff at Hotel Garni Tannenhof! The proprieter went out of his way to accommodate us, and we were somewhat needy. He got us robes to wear for more comfort, put us in a room with a surprisingly nice view given the bohemith of a hotel next door, and helped us choose itineraries. He even annotated several maps of Zermatt, the Matterhorn area, and the Canton for us based on our interests. The breakfast crew also helped me clean my water bottles and made us some special snacks. They even offer a to-go sandwich and thermos of hot beverage of choice for an unheard-of 3CHF, made to order however you like it. The only drawback was being two floors from the shower. But, I never had to wait for a shower. The beds were comfortable, and the entire place was spotless. The location is excellent and situated right between the main lifts. We were thrilled with out choice to stay here, thrilled by the value, and we were grateful to have been taken care of so well.

Room Tip: If I were booking again, I would probably spring for a room with en suite bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank superphoebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

This hotel has a very central location in Zermatt. However, it has some of the most unhelpful unwelcoming staff I have come across. This, together with the very small rooms lacking any amenities, didn't make our stay very pleasant. At best functional, if you can't find something more cheerful.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPVLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
117 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

I like the Tannenhof. I have been there three times now, it's my B&B / hotel of choice in Zermatt. The rooms are simple but adequate, the location is superb right in the centre of Zermatt. The breakfast buffet offers a good selection. The manager is always friendly and helpful. If only the Wifi was free of charge, but there is free wifi in the town so it's not too much of a let down.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MunroBasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
413 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

We were not ready for the number of tourists in Zermatt. However, the hotel manager made us very welcome and showed us to the room which was small but more than adequete. Our balcony gave afforded us our evening drinks whilst watching the world go by. It beats watching TV! The breakfast was more than sufficient and again the manager was helpful with ice and electric adaptor.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony when reserving a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jin6x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
91 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

I was lucky to get a room upgrade which made my experience perfect.

In Zermatt which is an extremely popular tourist destination especially in summer, getting a well-priced accommodation is tough.

Just a 5 mins' walk from the train station, room had a balcony which overlooked the main street, spacious toilet was equipped with a bathtub, bed was huge and comfortable.

Receptionist was very helpful and friendly. He recommended me some tours and even called the tour company on my behalf.

Breakfast buffet was limited but delicious.

Although there is no lift and my room was on the 4th floor, everything else made up for it.

Value-for-money, you will not regret this choice!

Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank wintryposy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Testa Grigia
Hotel Testa Grigia
#28 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Artemis Garni
Hotel Artemis Garni
#89 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Weisshorn
Hotel Weisshorn
#82 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Romantica
Hotel Romantica
#45 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Walliserhof Zermatt
Hotel Walliserhof Zermatt
#69 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Derby
Hotel Restaurant Derby
#98 of 109 in Zermatt
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garni Tannenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garni Tannenhof

Property: Hotel Garni Tannenhof
Address: Bahnhofstrasse 72, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Garni Tannenhof Hotel
Garni Tannenhof Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing