We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect price-quality ratio”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Zermatt
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Garni Tannenhof
Ranked #90 of 111 Hotels in Zermatt
Bern, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect price-quality ratio”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Very friendly staff, clean and quiet rooms! This hotel is well situated if you want to stay in the middle of Zermatt without the noise of a "main" street. The (female) manager is very attentive and professional. She helps you whenever you ask for help (if she can). The rooms are small, but adequate. The bathroom was very clean and I think recently renovated. After 9h p.m. the hotel gets quiet and beside on some late-homecomers it remains quiet. The breakfast was good but the choice is small. If you consider the price of a stay, this hotel is excellent.
The only thing that is a little minus is the distance to the next skibus or skilift - 10min walk with your skiboots...

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeurDicht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    50
    14
    2
    2
See reviews for
11
45
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We just returned to the US from a lovely trip to Geneva and Zermatt. Our four nights in the Tannenhof were heavenly. Great location, wonderfully friendly and helpful innkeeper, and comfortable, well-kept rooms. The breakfast buffet was plentiful and delicious (fresh breads, amazing homemade muesli, meats, cheeses, fresh soft boiled eggs). Our room was clean and quiet. As expected for the cost, it was without many frills. We loved chatting with the innkeeper in the mornings at breakfast and again in the evening on our return from skiing. Storage room for skis and boots was a lovely touch and kept us from cluttering our room with equipment. The shower was on a separate floor, but toilet was on our floor. We never had to wait for either, though I believe the inn was fully booked.

Room Tip: Room 17 was a corner room, so had windows in 2 walls. Lovely views and quite quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We visited Zermatt to work for two weeks and the Tannenhof was perfectly situated being in the middle of Zermatt so everything was a short walk away for us. The customer service was excellent and we all thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Misty T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2014

I stayed here for one night in February with a friend in room 26.
We were greeted on arrival by Christiane who was extremely friendly and gave us plenty of suggestions of things to do whilst in Zermatt. The hotel is an easy 5-10 minute walk from the train station.
The breakfast included is great and has a wide variety of cereals, breads, cheeses and cold meats and they even cook you an egg if you want one.
When booking, if you choose a room option with a shared bathroom, there is only one shower in which all these rooms within the hotel have to use. As our room was on level 3, we had to walk to level 1 to use the shower. Even though there is only one shower, I never had to wait and the hotel was busy when we stayed. There is one communal toilet on each floor of the hotel and each room is equipped with a sink.
Hotel Tannenhof is very well priced and I highly recommend it to anyone wishing to stay in Zermatt.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FloKeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

I have stayed here before and found it to be an excellent location.
I spent two weeks here this January to find that there was a new manager. There are lots of nice changes to this very traditional hotel. Christiane has already made it feel so much more welcoming and the service is excellent. The breakfasts have always been good but there is more variety now and fresh eggs and coffee at breakfast.
Although the rooms,especially the single ones are not massive, they are fantastic value for Zermatt and you are right in the centre of the village.
I always recommend this place to my friends and will continue to do so. It is not flash or designer but just a nice small hotel especially if you like traditional Swiss hospitality.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrancesB615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

This hotel is quite simple, but it has everything you need.
The ownwe and service maid are nice and give good advice on hotels, treckings, skiiing etc....
The rooms are small as usual in Europe, but clean and they are enough for sleeping afer a winderfull skiiing or trecking day.
Breakfast is very good and gives whatever one's need for the day.
Price is very good for Zermatt.
I will go back to that hotel without any doubt.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RafaSantiago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevensville, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

A short walk from the train station coming from Tasch. I stayed for a night in a single room with no bathroom - clean and comfortable room with close access to bathroom and shower. The lady at the reception was extremely helpful and accomodating. The breakfast was good, typical european, nothing to complain about. Very reasonable price for the location. Would go again if I was back.

Room Tip: Second floor closer to shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moises_Norena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Testa Grigia
Hotel Testa Grigia
#26 of 111 in Zermatt
309 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Elite Garni
Hotel Elite Garni
#70 of 111 in Zermatt
93 reviews
0.0 mi away
Unique Hotel Post
Unique Hotel Post
#35 of 111 in Zermatt
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Omnia
The Omnia
#4 of 111 in Zermatt
520 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Zermatterhof
Grand Hotel Zermatterhof
#28 of 111 in Zermatt
480 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jaegerhof Hotel & Apartements
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garni Tannenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garni Tannenhof

Property: Hotel Garni Tannenhof
Address: Bahnhofstrasse 72, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Garni Tannenhof Hotel
Garni Tannenhof Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing