We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good facilities and excellent service”
Review of Hotel Antika

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Antika
Ranked #9 of 32 Zermatt B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location, good facilities and excellent service”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We use the Hotel Antika for our clients who book on our trekking holidays in particular on the Haute Route. The feedback we have received from our clients this summer has been great... it has a fantastic central location, good facilities, friendly helpful service and a lovely breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Montblanctreks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    61
    11
    4
    12
See reviews for
18
58
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We had booked Antika Annex for a night in September 2013. The annexe is located roughly 50m away from the main hotel building though the walk isnt too long. The room was quite basic and compact but was clean. The bathroom too was clean and worked for us. The only concern we had was with the safety/ security. The annexe does not have a reception and has only one door which is open throughout the night so the only means of security you have is the door to your own room and nothing else.

The guests staying in the annexe are allowed to use the facilities in the main hotel but they close early in the evening as a result we could not use them as we arrived late in the night and were out the entire next day.
The staff was quite friendly and helpful and we had no complaints there either.
The breakfast was good. Although people expecting a warm English breakfast will have to make do with cold meats and cereals. No eggs or sausages here though you do get served boiled eggs.
The location of the hotel is great. It is a short walk from the train station and quite close to the various attractions that Zermatt has to offer.

Overall a very pleasant stay and we didnt feel the pinch as far as the price was concerned even though we had booked at the last minute.

Room Tip: Rooms in the annexe are quite close to the next hotel. The people staying in the next hotel were qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank axe_singh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
151 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Annex Antika is part of Hotel Antika but located in a separate building. When we booked the hotel we knew that our room will be located in the basement but did not realise that we have to use so many staircases from the main hotel reception. First you have to use narrow staircases to get to lower street level then walk 50 meters and then use another set of staircases to enter the basement of Annex Antika. If you have suitcases, like we had, then it might be difficult

Our train arrived at Zermatt just after 5pm and when we phoned the hotel for a pickup service they told us that the pickup service is only available up to 5pm. The hotel is less than 10 minutes away from the railway station on foot. So it wasn’t a big problem.

The basement double room we booked was more than adequate for us. The room had all the amenities we needed and the bathroom was good too. If you are looking for no-frills hotel accommodation this is good.

The breakfast is served in the main hotel building. They serve excellent breakfast, plentiful with different verity. We didn’t use the hotel restaurant for evening meal. There are many restaurants nearby but please be aware that Swiss restaurants are in general very expansive. Prior to arriving in Switzerland we travelled in Germany and we had to pay almost twice as much in Swiss restaurants for the same sort of food as in Germany.

The main hotel reception was good and friendly and provided all the information we needed to make our stay in Zermatt enjoyable.

Would I recommend? Yes, but be aware of stairs if you are staying in Annex Antika.

Room Tip: Annex Antika is ideal if you are expecting to stay out throughout the day going to use the hotel roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sidwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Zermatt is a place which grows on you and matterhorn has a chararcter of its own, so unique from the other mountains. Hotel Antika is right in the centre of this small city..the sound of the church bells and the running water are just few of the many good things about this property. The room was absolutely fantastic - spacious, clean, comfortable and the interior decor was so typical swiss!! Well due to budget constraints we took the room which had a cemetry view and not the mountain view, however this view was equally breathtaking! The B'fast was good and was served in the base garden area,,absolutely lovely! The hotel staff was really cordial and helpful..the hotel owner even dropped us at the station in her Buggey and as promised to her, here I am writing an unbiased review about the hotel.

Room Tip: choose any room,..both the balcony views are just great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Namrata_Himanshu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 September 2013

The room was compact but not small, with plenty of storage and a sitting area with a couch, but the important thing for me was the balcony and it's view of the mountains. I spend my spare time sitting out there with binoculars watching what was going on in the mountains around me. Very much worth the mountain view room.

The building you see pictured actually holds about 5 hotels, all in varying degrees of fancy. I would say that Antika is somewhere in the middle. They do also have a low building on the other side of the back yard called the Annex that is not going to have any of the view the hotel gets.

Room Tip: There are rooms above floor 3, but the lift stops at the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eponymous_Ben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Zermatt is a very nice mountain resort with beautiful view of Matterhorn, pleasant restaurants and kind people.
Antika hotel has nice and spacious rooms, pleasant balcony (unfortunately, I didn't found one with view, mine was towards the cemetery ... but never mind, the mountains view was behind).
The breakfast was decent and the staff helpful and friendly.
Advice for owners of electric devices (power supply, mobiles, ...) with schuko type earthed plug, they do not fit in Swiss sockets. You may borrow one adapter from the hotel reception (if they have) but better get one with you, they are pretty expensive here (about 20 CHF).

Room Tip: Rooms "with view" towards Matterhorn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Constantin53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We had been travelling through Switzerland and Zermatt was our third stop over in Swiss. I had gotten a very appealing deal in one of the hotels in Zermatt and had booked it, however on reaching there it was just not worth staying there. So we decided to move out and Hotel owner was kind enough to refund our money back.

We were checking various hotels and we liked Hotel Antika a lot and decided to check in there for our 2 days stay. Our room was very spacious and everything worked wonderfully well. Even though our room was facing the cemetery, the views beyond it was good. Breakfast was included in the room rate and we found it to be very Swiss, with loads of butter, cheese (which we absolutely loved). They had their own sauna and spa which was also included in the room rent but which we did not use because of us being out of the hotel mostly.

We found the owner and her family to be very helpful and they were very honest in their opinions. Restaurants suggested by them turned out to be spot on and their other suggestions were also very helpful.

A good place to stay in Zermatt, definitely recommended

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amateur_trvaller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Butterfly
0.1 mi away
Jaegerhof Hotel & Apartements
0.1 mi away
BELLERIVE
BELLERIVE
#3 of 110 in Zermatt
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#35 of 110 in Zermatt
329 reviews
0.4 mi away
Schlosshotel
Schlosshotel
#10 of 110 in Zermatt
902 reviews
0.1 mi away
Romantik Hotel Julen
Romantik Hotel Julen
#11 of 110 in Zermatt
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Antika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Antika

Property: Hotel Antika
Address: Kirchstrasse 42, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Antika 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Antika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antika Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing