We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Resort Hotel Alex

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Resort Hotel Alex
Ranked #14 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

A great hotel located a stone's throw way from the train station. Although I did not have a room with a view, the room was spacious with a large bathroom and very strong wifi. The room had a nice rustic look to it and there were a few English TV stations to help one catch up on world events. I did not experience any noise from the street as the hotel is half a block from the Main Street.
Front desk staff were efficient and friendly.
The breakfast buffet could do with a new toaster and some teapots - very difficult steeping pot style tea bags in cups! Staff could be a bit more polite in this area.
That said I would return there in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abuite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    394
    103
    22
    10
    7
See reviews for
138
188
49
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

What a wonderful hotel. We had a suite that included a living area, large bedroom with a balcony overlooking the Alps and a large bathroom. All very comfortable and welcoming. Beautiful, rustic feel throughout. Lots of wood and carvings from master builders, I imagine. Great bar area inside and outside. I'd love to return someday. You won't be disappointed. I felt part of Switzerland with this hotel. Not one thing to complain about! Pictures on line don't donor justice.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanette B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Our rooms had a spacious lounge, bedroom, bathroom and balcony with two TVs capable of receiving several BBC and 1 ITV channel, lots of wardrobe space and hangers. The whole Hotel is kept immaculate. The service is not only willing but warm and friendly. Evening meals were of haute cuisine standard and offered choice and variety throughout our stay. I made use of the indoor tennis court in the basement. It has an excellent playing surface. The hotel lends quality racquets and serviceable balls. There is also a Swiss point ball serving machine to practice against. There is a squash court and sizeable swimming pool, jacuzzi, choice of single sex and mixed saunas and steam room and massage facilities. The tone of the Alex is set by Frau Perren its owner/manager who is so friendly and takes an interest in guests, their preferences, and their welfare.

Room Tip: I think all rooms are good. Ours, 508, was convenient in having a lift which connected to the swimmi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John_William_Moore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

This was the most eclectic, quirky, beautiful hotel we have ever stayed in….and we travel extensively! Our room was spectacular. We had a separate sitting room with balcony, another room with a table and chairs and unusual leaded glass piece, TWO bathrooms, jacuzzi, king bed, lots of closet space, beautiful decor and paintings on the ceiling…it was gorgeous. The hotel was wonderful to explore. I took so many photos just of the interior of the hotel. It had such an unusual decor….a mix of a hunting lodge, ski lodge and eclectic richness. Very interesting. The location was perfect for walking to downtown and to the train station. We ate 4 meals here and the food was outstanding each time. Don't miss it on your travels to Zermatt. Even if you don't stay here, be sure to stop by for a drink at one of their charming bars.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brendainoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Myself and my wife had been to Hotel Alex previously during our visit to Zermatt and the very first instance we had experienced it we feel in love with the place. No wonder why we planned our most important day at the hotel.
I can actually details my experience in a few important quotes:
1. Their is a never say NO attitude from each and every staff member...
2. A complete luxurious experience.with every facility available...Tennis, swimming pool with Jacuzzi, Massage, Gym, fantastic dining experience and above all the super fantastic staff.
3. Every aspect is so well thought off. Beginning from the The breakfast selection until dinner venues every experience was a memorable one.

The team in true sense showcased amazing spirit of team work and caring approach.
Bruno: My breakfast server...amazing memory and super quick
Gustav: The veteran player...
Silverio: a perfect captain of the team
Patrick: Omnipresent and thoughtful
The middle aged receptionist and The gentleman at the concierge (apologize for not remembering their names) were always ready to help and assist with any requirement.
Rene:The amazing leader of this true all star team.

Not only this experience was very important as we got married in Hotel Alex but because of the efforts the team put together to make us feel special.

We surely plan to visit this hotel on our every visit to Zermatt.
Cheers to the fabulous team spirit.

Room Tip: The Rooms facing the Matheron is great. Especially they have a suite with a walk in Shower in which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allwyna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This hotel is something really special, the décor is a combination of quirky modern style with traditional Swiss. It really has to be seen to be understood, the photos definitely don't do it justice. There are some amazing facilities here as well, the spa is great, there is a full size indoor tennis court and squash court, and the wine cellar/private dining area is beautiful. On top of all this the staff are really friendly the food was amazing, (definitely go for the half board option)and the rooms spacious and comfy.

Highly recommended !

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank imjonnoyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BC Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We travelled with a tour booked into this hotel. We would not stay here again. Perhaps in winter the "charm" would hold more appeal but the lack of air conditioning and darkness of most to the public areas makes it quite uncomfortable and depressing. The beds were comfortable. Perhaps because meals were part of the tour the food was not very appealing. .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msmess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.1 mi away
Schlosshotel
Schlosshotel
#10 of 110 in Zermatt
902 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alpenhof
Hotel Alpenhof
#15 of 110 in Zermatt
425 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parkhotel Beau Site
Parkhotel Beau Site
#8 of 110 in Zermatt
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Firefly
Hotel Firefly
#2 of 110 in Zermatt
471 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Hotel Butterfly
0.7 mi away
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
#5 of 110 in Zermatt
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resort Hotel Alex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort Hotel Alex

Property: Resort Hotel Alex
Address: Bodmenstrasse 12 | 3920 Zermatt, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#12 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#13 Family Hotel in Zermatt
#42 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Resort Hotel Alex 4.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Popular Valais Hotel in 5-story chalet built of stone & natural wood, with side courtyard & abstract-art mural on front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HRS, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Resort Hotel Alex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alex Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing