We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enchanted fairytale in the mountains!”
Review of Resort Hotel Alex

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Resort Hotel Alex
Ranked #19 of 111 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enchanted fairytale in the mountains!”
Reviewed 8 February 2011

My fiance and I stayed here for a week at the end of January 2011. It was one of the most romantic, perfect places we have ever stayed. The room was large but cozy, with a balcony view of the Matterhorn. The staff was so friendly and accomodating, speaking English, French and German. We ate dinner every night in the hotel restaurant downstairs and the food was simply incredible! Thank you so much, Hotel Alex for a vacation we will never forget. We'll be back soon!

****p.s. Huge Bonus: a beautiful, tranquil spa with jacuzzi, pool, multiple steam rooms, solarium and massage!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dakotasundance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    417
    107
    24
    10
    7
See reviews for
146
199
51
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2011

Hotel is nicely situated (essentially next to the train station & right off the main street), so very easy to get to & access the town. The indoor pool/whirlpool & in-room jacuzzi were especially welcome after a long day of skiing. Service is generally quite good, but not always consistent. Room cleaning/turn down was excellent, front desk was sometimes great & restaurant staff tried very hard, but was overworked. The interior decoration made the biggest impression: it's just bizarre. I'm an architect so can appreciate avant-garde or vernacular styles, but I didn't get it. Had a junior suite, but the parlor/sitting room was so uninviting that it just became a repository for our drying ski clothes.

The restaurant is quite nice (dinner & breakfast are included). The dinner menu/approach changes daily (had huge salad/appetizer buffet the first night, but was replaced the second night by 2 additional served courses), so lots of variety & interesting dishes. Food was well-prepared & wait staff really tried. However, there was a lot of inconsistency in service.

All this does not come cheap. Paid more than $500/night for double occupancy. Granted Zermatt is expensive & it included half-board, but not sure if there isn't better value elsewhere. If part of the price is based on the unique experience provided by the hotel setting/interior, I'm not sure I would pay for that privilege again.

PS. The double bed is 2 twins pushed together, so we kept on falling through the crack in the middle of the night. Supposedly it is a regional thing, but don't recall having it in Munich, Frankfurt, Vienna, etc...

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nyctravelr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sevenoaks
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2010

We enjoyed our stay at the Alex and had a lovely relaxing few days with glorious weather. Our room was nicely appointed with a beautiful view of the village and the mountains, we were up on the 5th floor. We made good use of the swimming pool every morning which is a lovely facility and was very quiet, however our trip to the gym was less successful as it is not fantastically equipped. Unlikely to bother most people wanting a relaxing stay or a walking trip in the mountains! The breakfast buffet was not the best we have experienced but perfectly satisfactory. We did not experience lunch or dinner in the hotel. The slight let down for us with this hotel was the staff who just didn't seem particularly friendly or welcoming. There was no sense of warmth from the reception staff when we made an enquiry, and the breakfast staff made us feel a little as if we were intruding. The only big negative for me was the hotel's refusal to lend us an iron. This was apparently due to safety issues, something clearly every other hotel I have ever stayed at has disastrously overlooked!! They kindly offered to charge me a fortune to iron my shirt, an offer I politely declined. We very much appreciated the free internet though. Overall the hotel is in a fantastic location and we would recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank felicityj7oaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2010

This hotel is close to the train stations, but not right on the main road so it is quiet.. Their are many levels, lots of steps to encounter, so not suitable for some physical handicaps. Elevators are available, but steps are unavoidable. Our room was small with furniture poorly arranged for best use, but most everyone in our group was very pleased with their rooms. restaurant food was excellent. Groups' buffet breakfast and specialized egg orders were very good. Free wireless internet was available though signal was poor in our room but was excellent at the bar! If weather is good be sure to take the Gornergrat Bahn to see mountains from a 360 degree perspective and walk to the end of town to see the Matterhorn without roof tops in your pictures.

Stayed September 2010
Helpful?
1 Thank sandy_scout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2010

Stayed here with my son for a walking holiday so my comments refer to a stay in summer. The hotel is close to the Station and central to the shops. We found the hotel staff to be very friendly and helpful at all times it was good to have all the systems explained on arrival including meal times and were restaurants and bars were. The food was above what I would have expected with a good choice of both Continental and English breakfast available ( Large groups have a different menu) the evening meal was usually a 4 course set menu occasionaly with a buffet salad and there was some flexibility if you didnt fancy anything (Again large groups have a different menu). We found the staff in the restaurant to be especially helpful and courteous. Our room was on the second floor so you could just see the tip of the Matterhorn on most days. The whole hotel is very Swiss in character which gives a very charming atmosphere. The swimming pool was larger than I expected so was very welcome at the end of a walking day with its accompanying jacuzi. We did find drinks in the bar to be above many of the local establishments. The hotel also has free Wi Fi which I found very useful as I had my laptop with me. We did get a 5 day ticket for the local transport system which gave savings over paying for each trip and was more convenient.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurieLuton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2010

Our tour guides kept telling us European hotel rooms were smaller than US, but we had a nice size first floor room with a patio, bedroom, sitting area, and a split bathroom with whirlpool tub - very nice. Try to get the top floor room; I'm told it has a great view of the Matterhorn - if it's not in the clouds. Had two breakfast buffets and one supper in the restaurant. Food was very good. Close to everything, but quiet since Zermatt is a walking town (No vehicles). Very comfortable bar with plush furniture. Big TV was in a separate room so its did not interfere with conversation.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fosoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East of England
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2010

We were lucky enough to be upgraded to a suite at Hotel Alex. Amazing! Totally over the top and fantastic. Fun hotel. Fantastic breakfast excellent wellness facilities and pool. Only complaint was that the restaurant was far too hot and a bit noisy.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank supermummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.1 mi away
Schlosshotel Life & Style
Schlosshotel Life & Style
#14 of 111 in Zermatt
957 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alpenhof
Hotel Alpenhof
#18 of 111 in Zermatt
454 reviews
0.4 mi away
BELLERIVE
BELLERIVE
#2 of 111 in Zermatt
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Best Western Hotel Butterfly
0.3 mi away
Parkhotel Beau Site
Parkhotel Beau Site
#9 of 111 in Zermatt
773 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mirabeau
Hotel Mirabeau
#17 of 111 in Zermatt
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resort Hotel Alex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort Hotel Alex

Property: Resort Hotel Alex
Address: Bodmenstrasse 12 | 3920 Zermatt, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Zermatt
#14 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#17 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#42 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Resort Hotel Alex 4.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Popular Valais Hotel in 5-story chalet built of stone & natural wood, with side courtyard & abstract-art mural on front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Odigeo, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Resort Hotel Alex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alex Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing