We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
Ranked #12 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed 27 August 2012

This is an outstanding hotel with great location and easy access to the town and the chair lifts plus the railway station is only a 5 minute walk. The food and generous hospitality was excellent The hotel was very clean and the staff exceptionally helpful. This hotel made for a great summer vacation and in the evening we sat out on the terrace enjoying a drink whilst overlooking a fantastic, unspoilt view of the snowcapped Matterhorn. I am about to book this again for next year!

Room Tip: Front facing rooms have excellent views of the Matterhorn
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schonegg, Gérant at Chalet Hotel Schoenegg, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Dear John

Thank you very much for your kind message! We are very pleased that you had a nice stay in our establishment! All our staff wants to thank you very much for your compliments to them. That means a lot to us!

We look as well forward to welcoming you soon at the Chalet Hotel Schönegg!!

Best regards
Sebastian Metry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    379
    79
    14
    3
    1
See reviews for
103
244
27
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2012

We arrived late in the evening, after a long day of travel. Even though the kitchen was closed, they prepared a lovely selection of cold meats and cheese. A very nice gesture, that got our six days off to a great start.
Our room was spectacular and comfortable. Booking a room with Matterhorn view is a must, as the mountain view is constantly changing due to cloud movements. Get up early, order coffee and sit on the balcony and watch the sun rise over the summit. Incredible!
We were collected at the train station and within 5 minutes were entering the unique tunnel that drops you off at the hotel lift (elevator). The tunnel is a huge benefit, due to the elevated location of the hotel. It makes the walk into the village very comfortable. The tunnel is lit with color lights and music plays. It only takes a minute to reach the lift.
Breakfast was buffet style, but you can order eggs etc from the kitchen A great spread of typical Swiss breakfast choices.
We had dinner in the hotel on two occasions, and were very pleased with the choices and the food. The hotel has a good wine list, with some very nice Swiss selections.
Schoenegg is family owned and operated, and it shows. The service was really good, and senior management was always there, happy to answer questions and give advice.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a Matterhorn view. Ask for a corner room if avaialable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schonegg, Gérant at Chalet Hotel Schoenegg, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Dear Jan C.
Thank you very much for your nice review! It is always a big pleasure for us to see that people that staid in our establishment leave with a smile. We always try our best to meet your attentions from the hotel.

We look forward to see you again in the future as a happy guest of the Chalet Hotel Schönegg family.

Best wishes from sunny Zermatt

Sebastian Metry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012 via mobile

We stayed as a family (with 2 sons, 20 and 17) for two weeks and were delighted. The hotel is clean and beautifully presented. Our rooms had balconies looking out over the town towards the Matterhorn and were serviced twice a day. The breakfast buffet had a wide range of juices, teas and coffees, cereals, breads, fruit, yoghurt, meat and cheese as well as bacon and scrambled eggs every morning. Evening meals included in half board were to die for! 5 or 6 courses of the most exquisite food every night with the offer of simple alternatives where the set menu was not to someone's taste. And the icing on the cake is the service - all the staff, without exception, we're friendly and helpful, making us feel relaxed and at home. A very special place which we would heartily recommend!

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Revkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schonegg, Gérant at Chalet Hotel Schoenegg, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Dear "Revkc"

Thank you very much for your comment! It is always very grateful to receive such nice compliments! This shows to us that our daily effort in trying to do our best for our guests bears fruits...

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon back at the Chalet Hotel Schönegg in Zermatt.

Yours sincerely

Sebastian Metry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Its definitely a unique experience.....entering a hotel thru a cave...!!! The cave entry does give this hotel a very different charm....imagine u enter a cave..then take a lift upto the reception and get the best view of Matterhorn in front of you....!!
Hotel Schonegg is one of the first hotels which came up in Zermatt and definitely has an old world charm... the Staff is very friendly especially the reception staff....
the room is reasonably spacious as is the bathroom....plus if you can manage to get a matterhorn facing room...nothing like it...imagine getting up in the morning and seeing the magnificient Matterhorn staring at you....the room decor is beautiful and the bathroom has all the basic amenities...
We were not very impressed with the restaurant though.....had breakfast in the mornings but there was hardly any staff around...and more so they were more interested in wrapping up the breakfast than attending the guests...also not much options for vegetarians....
But would like to say that these small problems dint assume much significance when you soak in the beauty of this town ....
The beauty of Zermatt takes your Breadth away...!!!
A special thanks to the reception staff who arranged a horse carriage ride around the town and made our last day in switzerland memorable....!!

Room Tip: Definitely go for rooms facing Matterhorn...!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karunzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schonegg, Manager at Chalet Hotel Schoenegg, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Dear Sir and Madame,

Thank you very much for your kind comment. We are very sorry for the little inconvenience you had. Often the staff has to redress tables in the morning because some tables are always occupied several times. In order to serve all guests on a high level, we have to do this. But anyhow the staff has to do this in a sensitive way without forgetting to pay attention to our other guests.
We encourage you to tell us if you prefer vegetarian dishes. Our kitchen staff is always delighted to prepare a nice substitution that meets your taste.
We are all happy, that you enjoy your stay in our hotel.
We look forward to see you again.

Best regards from sunny Zermatt

Sebastian Metry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
Level Contributor
82 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

At walkable distance from the railway station. Service is not good. There would not be any body after 9.00 pm even to attend the front gate. The breakfast is OK. If you are lucky enough you may get a room facing the Mathorn. Room is small. The Bath room is spacious

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GKIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schonegg, Manager at Chalet Hotel Schoenegg, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your commentary about your trip to Zermatt.
We apologize for the inconveniences you had during your stay. We always pick up our guests, free of charge, from the train station. If you would have informed us about your late arrival time we would have arranged the pick up for you.

Regarding the room issue we unfortunately have to inform you, that you booked a room without view to the Matterhorn. Most of our rooms have a magnificent view to the Matterhorn. These are bigger, but therefore these rooms are a little bit more expensive. For your next stay with us, please inform us in advance that you would like to have a room facing the Matterhorn. You will find more information about our rooms on our website.

Our sincere apologize, yours faithfully

Sebastian Metry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2012

This hotel was wonderful. It is located a hill slightly above Zermatt with excellent views of the Matterhorn and the town. If you don't want to climb the hill to the hotel, it has an elevator to take you up. The rooms were very clean, well decorated with fabulous views. The hotel staff was extremely helpful with recommendations for hiking and where to go in the town. The restaurant had great breakfasts and wonderul five course dinners. We will return there anytime.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swoodstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schonegg, Inhaber at Chalet Hotel Schoenegg, responded to this review, 24 January 2013
Dear “swoodstone”

Thank you very much for your kind review on TripAdvisor. We are very happy, that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel! Thanks for pointing out the view at the Chalet Hotel Schönegg. Our prestigious advantage from all other hotels in Zermatt… We are always delighted to show you some nice hiking tracks or hidden slopes.
We are looking forward to regal you during your next visit at the Chalet Hotel Schönegg

Best wishes – your hosts

Anna & Sebastian Metry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Excellent accommodation, hospitality second to none. Wonderfull gourmet meals which, whilst set, the waiter always checked if all was in order and chef would accommodate any dislikes. Room service incredible, checked mornings and evenings. Vista to die for even when the Matterhorn not visible.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schonegg, Manager at Chalet Hotel Schoenegg, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Dear John

Thank you very much for your comment! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Chalet Hotel Schönegg! We do look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Best regards from the sunny mountains!!

Sebatian Metry
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.2 mi away
Schlosshotel
Schlosshotel
#10 of 110 in Zermatt
902 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
#5 of 110 in Zermatt
577 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parkhotel Beau Site
Parkhotel Beau Site
#8 of 110 in Zermatt
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BELLERIVE
BELLERIVE
#3 of 110 in Zermatt
416 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Firefly
Hotel Firefly
#2 of 110 in Zermatt
471 reviews
0.3 mi away
Europe Hotel & Spa
Europe Hotel & Spa
#7 of 110 in Zermatt
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Hotel Schoenegg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Hotel Schoenegg

Property: Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
Address: Riedweg 35, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland (Formerly Grand Hotel Schoenegg)
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#9 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#9 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#10 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#19 Family Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chalet Hotel Schoenegg 4.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chalet Hotel Schoenegg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing