We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another amazing stay at the Schoenegg”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
Ranked #13 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 March 2013

This was our second stay at the Hotel Schoenegg, following a very successful stay in February 2011. The staff on reception were helpful and welcoming and again we were shown to excellent large and comfortable rooms (twice the size of the single rooms we booked for a similar price at a ski hotel in St Anton last year). The beds are very comfortable with soft feather pillows. There is a TV in the room but the only English Channel was BBC Prime (not worth providing) but I was happy to watch Italian TV and improve my language skills.

The day starts with a tranquil breakfast overlooking the Matterhorn (with an inclusive glass of Prosecco if you can manage it) then you are ready for a long days skiing. Skiing is easy to access, a few minutes walk to the Sunnegga funicular in the morning for us to catch the 8:50am or 9am train up (they leave every 10 mins) and then the whole of the amazing Zermatt-Cervinia monster ski area is available to you with its excellent mountain restaurants such as Les Marmottes, Paradies and Chez Vrony to name a few. The ski area was very quiet the week we were there, February24th to 1st March. At the end of the day a quick spin down the Riedweg run and you are back at the hotel for a drink on the hotel’s patio (if you’re lucky in the sun with a clear view of the Matterhorn).

The food in the restaurant is exceptionally good for half-board; it really is cuisine with delicate, perfectly proportioned courses which are more than adequate after eating lunch out at one of the fine mountain restaurants in Zermatt. One of the reasons we chose this hotel again was for the dining and friendly service. A lovely drink by the fire in the lounge every evening followed by a 5 course meal accompanied throughout by the charming resident pianist was a perfect end to the day.

The hotel is also opposite a very good ski-hire shop if that is required.

Another fantastic stay and I expect we will be back in 2015 if not before.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valentina88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schonegg, Inhaber at Chalet Hotel Schoenegg, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2013

Dear „ Valentina88“

We thank you very much for your lovely comment here on TripAdvisor!
We train our staff to be as courteous and frindly as possible! We are very glad, that our service was delivered in this way to you!

You also mentioned our location and view. We are very lucky for this 2 USP’s that we have comparing to nearly all other hotels in Zermatt! Since the hotel is a little bit higher we have this incomparable view over Zermatt and to the Matterhorn. But in the same time we are, thank to our own elevator and tunnel, very close to the ski slopes and the center of the village!

Our kitchen is very well known in Zermatt. Our chef is very delighted, that you liked his creations!:)

We look forward to welcoming you soon again @ Chalet Hotel Schönegg. Do not forget to book on our Website in order to get the best price on the web!;)

Anna & Sebastian Metry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (533)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 533 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2013

The Schoenegg staff are professional, charming, fun and helpful. One even fixed my broken parka zipper! The food is gourmet and plentiful with adequate choice for all tastes. Our room was extremely comfortable, from the heated floor to the long beds and cozy duvets. The view of the Matterhorn is unparalleled and unobstructed because the village is below the hotel. Major skilift systems are just steps away, or you can take the green bus to the other end of the valley. Also, the Spa provides a much-needed way to relax and soothe your body. If you want luxury, friendly and consistent service, comfort and an unforgettable experience, this is the place to stay in Zermatt. We have already booked our 2014 visit!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Matterhorn. Most, but not all, of the rooms face that direction. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schonegg, Inhaber at Chalet Hotel Schoenegg, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2013

Dear “Donald C”

Thank you very much for your kind comment about our hotel. We are very glad, that our service met your expectations! You may don’t know, but we specialized in broken zippers…;)
Thank you very much for the compliments for our kitchen! Beside the kitchen the view and our location are the other advantages from our hotel compared to the other hotels in Zermatt. We are higher then the village with a breath-taking view over Zermatt and towards the Matterhorn, but thanks to the elevator

We look forward to welcoming you next year!!

Warm regards from sunny Zermatt

Anna & Sebastian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

I spent a week at the Chalet Hotel Schoenegg with a large group of friend for my birthday last week and all I can say is that it was beyond amazing.
Sebastian and the Metry family took such good care of us and were so flexible in our booking that it made the whole organisation process seamless.
The hotel is a combinantion of modern minimalistic luxury chalet design with more traditional design in the old part of the hotel. The rooms are very comfortable, quiet and clean. The spa was very cozy, well-equiped and had a breathtaking view of the Matterhorn mountain.
The evening dining included in the half-board package was so extraordinary that I never ate outside the hotel during my one week stay in the hotel. The five course menus are healthy, light and beautifully designed by a German Gault Millau and Michelin chef. The perfect treat with a good bottle of wine after a day of skiing! The dining room has a spectacular view of the Matterhorn so your breakfast is guaranteed to be enchanting!
The skiing access is very easy and the hotel is located on a cliff with a tunnel and lift access (very much like James Bond in the film "on her Majesty's Secret Service"). The tunnel is located less than 50m from the Sunegga ski domain access so no need to worry about location!
When you are skiing definitely go to the amazing Fruhalp restaurant on the Sunegga domain. Sebastian, the exceptional manager of the hotel will give you all the secret tips so listen carefully!
I have stayed in almost all the best hotels in Zermatt and this is without a doubt the best hotel I have stayed in. Human-sized hotels are the way as you trully feel unique and looked after in a way that larger hotels struggle to deliver. If you are planning a trip to Zermatt, the Schonegg hotel is definitely the way.
I will be back soon.
Pierre-Yves

Room Tip: Contact Sebstian or Anna for all the tips!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PY L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schonegg, Inhaber at Chalet Hotel Schoenegg, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2013

Hi “PY L”

We are very happy, that you enjoyed your stay in our establishment and that you and your friends had a great time! The organisation of your party is part of the service that we provide. We are very happy to make an effort for our guest in order to fulfil their wishes.

Thank you for the compliments for our chef. They try every day to improve and to impress our guests with the dinner menu! And of course, no dinner is completely achieved, without a bottle of swiss wine…;) …especially with this view over Zermatt by night, from our dining room.

Our location is indeed very lucky. Thanks to our proper elevator and tunnel, we are very close to the Sunnegga station and the bus to all other ski domains starts just in front of the tunnel. But located a little bit higher the Zermatt in this “Schönegg Plateau” we benefit from a unique view over the town and towards the Matterhorn.

Thank you very much for the flowers…;) We are very much looking forward to see you soon!

Very warm regards from Zermatt

Anna & Sebastian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

My wife and I just passed 3 great nights in the Petit Chalet (the newer part). The hotel location is perfect.. short walk to trian station, basically attached to Sunnegga ski area and only a few steps from the closest bus stop to go on Matterhorn express. They are on top of a cliff with a view over the town and the matterhorn which I find quite remarcable. The view from their dining room is exquisite to say the least. Service was top and we had tremendous food in the evenings (strongly recommned this option) with 5 course meal each time. The owner is super attentive. Breakfast buffet super complete and tasteful.
Great spa area, super clean and again with super view. Hotel has its own lift from the street level to the lobby and has a small tunnel that makes you think about a James Bond film.
The Petit Chalet has lovely rooms with wood throught. Really nice.
You can also ski directly back to the bar of the hotel which has a lovely terrace for your apres-ski session. Do go by train which is super convenient and they come to pick you up with lovely electric vehicles which are very 70's.

Room Tip: Petit Chalet - Matterhorn view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swiss_freeride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schonegg, Inhaber at Chalet Hotel Schoenegg, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

Dear "Flying_Italian"

Thank you very much for your kind review!
We are very pleased, that you like the rooms in our new wing the "Petite Chalet". The Location & View are, beside of the good kitchen, our more important USP’s! It is very rare in Zermatt to offer the possibilities to ski in. We are happy, that our clients can ski to the hotel.

Pointing out, that everything is clean in our hotel is very kind from you. All these small details are very important and we pay a lot of attention to it.

We look forward to welcoming you soon again in our establishment. Maybe together with you children. In the meantime have a look on our webcam on the schonegg web page.

Sunny wishes from Zermatt...

Anna & Sebastian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

We are from Los Angeles and booked out of London, a tour package which included this hotel. If you want a truly 5* star experience it would be here. From the hotel view to dining everything that you imagine a true Swiss ski vacation is at your fingertips.

I have traveled all over Europe skiing and this hotel has the most pristine jacuzzi's we have ever seen. The view from our room and from dining room couldn't been better. The hotel staff was wonderful and I would come back and stay here again. We were celebrating our 20th Anniversary and my friend's 40th birthday and the staff did special touches to make this a wonderful vacation.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kjlongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schonegg, Inhaber at Chalet Hotel Schoenegg, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2013

Dear KjLongo"

thank you very much for your kind review on TripAdvisor! We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel! You are such a nice person, you mad our work to make you happy very easy!;)

The view from the dining room and the Jacuzzi is unique for Zermatt as well... We are very happy that you appreciated that!

We look forward to see you soon back in Zermatt!!

Anna & Sebastian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We stayed in Schoenegg for 4 nights during February.
Bottom line: i couldn't think of a better place to spend our stay in zermatt.
The hotel has the best views of the Matterhorn, both from our room, the restaurant and the spa
(the webcam from the zermatt website is located in the hotel terrace
http://www.zermatt.ch/en/page.cfm/webcam_schoenegg)
A tunnel entrance is located below the hotel, so that you can easily reach all main attractions in town within minutes (located not far from the funicular railway station to Sunnegga)
The rooms in the chalet are much more modern, but our room located on the 7th floor of the hotel was great: clean, comfortable, free wifi and with a great view of the Matterhorn.
The breakfast had a rich variety and was one of the best we had in years: fresh orange juice, bacon and eggs, classic croissants, fresh bread, cheese and the sweetest fruit ever.
The jacuzzi was just what we needed for some relaxation before dropping back to town for the night.
The staff was friendly and extremely helpful.
Not cheap, but we enjoyed every minute

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adereth1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EHL_Traveller_young, Inhaber at Chalet Hotel Schoenegg, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2013

Dear „adereth1“

Thank you very much for your kind review on TripAdvisor! Thanks as well for putting out the view from our Hotel. Since we think that it is the best view one can have of the Matterhorn in Zermatt, it is always very grateful to see that our guest like the view as well!
The main entrance to our hotel is through the tunnel. Thanks to the tunnel you are very close to the Sunnegge ski area (less then 2 minutes walk) and as well the center of Zermatt is reachable within 5 minutes.
We are as well very happy, that you enjoyed our breakfast. We keep improving this offer every year.
We hope, that you also had the time to enjoy our steam bath, sauna etc while you were in the SPA…;)

We look forward to hopefully welcome you back in our Hotel any time soon!

Best wishes from “ALWAYS” Sunny Zermatt…;)

Your hosts

Anna & Sebastian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

We have just returned home from staying at this hotel for a week skiing. The hotel is situated in a perfect location with stunning view of the Matterhorn. All the staff, without exception, were friendly, professional and couldn't do enough to help with any request we had.

The food was amazing. Beautifully presented and to the highest quality. Unusual flavours put together to make every meal a joy to eat and admire! If there was something on the menu that was not to our taste we were always offered an alternative. The service was attentive without being intrusive. The one and only negative I can say is that the dining room was unbearably hot. We did ask, on the final evening, if the heating could be turned down and it was - we should have asked earlier.

I do not ski so spent a lot of my day at the hotel while my family hit the slopes. When the charming lady on reception noticed that I was around a lot she went out of her way to advise me on walks etc and how to fill my days making the most of this stunning area. A typical example of how caring everyone is at the Schoenneg.

The spa was spotless and a joy to spend time in. Everything there that you needed. My family and I had a few massages and I have to say these were the best I have ever experienced. The masseur was so knowledgeable and tailored every massage to our individual needs.

Stay at this hotel!

Room Tip: The rooms with a view of the Matterhorn seem to be best, not just because of the view but the sun is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesley1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EHL_Traveller_young, Inhaber at Chalet Hotel Schoenegg, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2013

Dear „Lesley1953“

Thank you for your very nice review on TripAdvisor! It looks indeed like you had a nice time in Zermatt. As well thanks to our services…

You mentioned the location. We are indeed very lucky to have such a nice view over Zermatt and towards the Matterhorn. No other hotel has such a nice view…
The friendliness of our staff is a very important factor in our hotel. Since the hotel is family owned, we care a lot about our guests. Thanks to that we have a lot of returning costumers every year. By the way, the charming lady at the reception is my sister Anna. She is very much touched by your compliment!;)
I will as well transmit all compliments to our chef. Our kitchen is doing an amazing job every day. It is very amiable, that you enjoyed the food!

It would be a big pleasure for us to welcoming you back at the Chalet Hotel Schönegg for you next vacation…

Best regards from Zermatt

Anna & Sebastian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.2 mi away
Schlosshotel Life & Style
0.1 mi away
Parkhotel Beau Site
Parkhotel Beau Site
#8 of 110 in Zermatt
806 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Firefly
Hotel Firefly
#3 of 110 in Zermatt
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western PLUS Alpen Resort Hotel
0.3 mi away
Fleurs de Zermatt
Fleurs de Zermatt
#30 of 110 in Zermatt
223 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alpenlodge
Alpenlodge
#14 of 110 in Zermatt
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Hotel Schoenegg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Hotel Schoenegg

Address: Riedweg 35, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland (Formerly Grand Hotel Schoenegg)
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#9 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#10 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#11 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#18 Family Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range: £187 - £508 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chalet Hotel Schoenegg 4.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Chalet Hotel Schoenegg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing