We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic stay, very friendly staff - see the Matterhorn from the whirlpool!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
Ranked #12 of 109 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
609 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay, very friendly staff - see the Matterhorn from the whirlpool!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

It was the first time we stayed in this hotel, but we visit Zermatt on a regular basis. Schönegg has one of the best locations in town, beautiful dining rooms and restaurant. An extremely charming hotel (used to be a Relais Château) Be aware that there are different classes of rooms! The one facing the Matterhorn side are renovated, the ones on the mountainside not. Our room was very clean and nice. Just the shower was not ideal. The bathroom was wet after having taken a shower.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamesfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schonegg, Propriétaire at Chalet Hotel Schoenegg, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear “Jamesfood”

You are a professional writer for TripAdvisor as I see. As long as you continue to write so nice comments about our hotel I like that…;)

You mentioned our location. Indeed we are very happy with it! Your compliment goes to our grand father who bought the land and constructed out first Hotel Schönegg back n the 1950’s. We are very flattered, that you think our hotel is charming! We have been member of Relais & Chateaux. We quit this prestigious chain back in the year 2002. Regarding the rooms we like to inform you a little bit about our renovations… During 2005 and 2007 we renovated all of our rooms – Matterhorn facing and the ones that are not facing the Matterhorn. In 2010 we built our new “Petit Chalet Schönegg”. The house is a very modern extension of the Chalet Hotel Schönegg and it is connected to the main building and to the SPA of the hotel.

We are very sorry about your problems with the shower. This has already mentioned to us more often. Unfortunately we could not find a solution so far. We are looking for an entire solution since there will be some rooms that we have to change. We hope we can make you happy with a new solution during your next stay at the Chalet Hotel Schönegg.

Sunny mountain greetings from Zermatt

Anna & Sebastian Metry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    377
    77
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
102
241
27
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

No doubt, for first time Zermatt-travellers the Matterhorn is the number one attraction! However, having seen the Matterhorn several times in plain view, the chalet hotel Schönegg is my personal number one attraction! Located just a 5 minute walk from the train station, the chalet hotel Schönegg towers over Zermatt and offers one of the best views of the Matterhorn.
After the warm welcome we have been shown to our suite for the weekend. The modern but authentic interior, the spacious bathroom with shower and bath and of course the heavenly bed made it really difficult to leave this beautiful place! The staff is super friendly and helpful. The lavish breakfast the next morning was the cherry on top!

A big thank you to the family Metry and its staff for this amazing experience - we will definitely come back!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ninarajcic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schonegg, Inhaber at Chalet Hotel Schoenegg, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Dear „Ninarajcic“

It seems that you had a nice time in our hotel…☺ Thank you very much for these warm compliments! It is always nice to hear that our aim, to reach a perfect service, is reaching our clients!
The situation of the hotel is indeed our strongest USP. Thank to our hotel tunnel you can enjoy the view over Zermatt but in the same time you can reach the center of Zermatt within 5 minutes.
I will forward your compliments to our staff!

We hope your little dog enjoyed his time as much as you did…☺

The Family Metry, thanks you as well for the lovely time you spend in our hotel!

We are looking forward to you next stay with us!

Herbal fresh regards from (“always” sunny) Zermatt

Anna & Sebastian Metry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

Would you like to stay in a comfortable, beautiful chalet with a James Bond secret tunnel and a view of the Matterhorn right out the window of your room? Then look no further, the Schoenegg has it all! It's a little off the beaten path, but Zermatt is not that big and it's a short walk to anywhere you need to go and it's only a few minute walk to the train station. Definitely get a room with a view of the Matterhorn! The staff is exceedingly friendly and accommodating. We were there in early summer and the weather was perfect and we thought the hotel was perfect also!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripwarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schonegg, Inhaber at Chalet Hotel Schoenegg, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear „tripwarden“
What a pleasure to receive such a nice compliments about our hotel! Thank you very much!
Your are right, that our location is not in the center. But thanks too the “James Bond” tunnel entrance our elevator bings you direct in the middle of Zermatt. Thanks to this location we benefit from the unique and spectacular view.
I will transfer your compliments about the accommodation and friendliness to our collaborators.

We look forward to see you soon back here in lovely Zermatt. The Chalet Hotel Schönegg and the Matterhorn are waiting for your visit!

Best regards

Anna & Sebastian Metry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

It's difficult to know how to review a hotel with no faults, but it would be strange to give up on the task just because a place is nearly perfect.

The Chalet Hotel Schoenegg sits a couple of hundred feet above the attractive ants' nest of Zermatt, so you're looking across the rooftops and have an un-cluttered prospect of the Matterhorn in the distance, supervising the proceedings like the chairman of the board.

But don't be concerned about the slog up the hill; shared with its immediate neighbour the Alpen Royal, the Schoenegg boasts the most dramatic hotel entrance in Zermatt. An archway in a rock face off one of the central streets takes you into a dimly-lit (and cool) tunnel running a hundred yards through the living rock, from the end of which a lift whisks you up the equivalent of several storeys to the hotel reception. Described by our Inghams' rep as a 'James Bond' entrance, our first trip along the tunnel in the Schoenegg's 'electro wagon' from the station put me more in mind of Harry Potter's Gringotts' Bank.

You emerge into a classic alpine chalet hotel, comfortable and pristine, managing to be both cool and warm at once, to a welcome both attentive and unobtrusive. Since we'd booked a room with a Matterhorn view at the front we shouldn't have been surprised to get one, but the first glimpse out of the balcony window of our large and comfortable room (number 409) was still breathtaking.

We were on half board and any nervousness about the nightly set menu was dismissed on the first evening. The meals are superbly selected, balanced, measured, presented and served, with the added zest of the views up or down the valley over Zermatt's alluring rooftops. The restaurant's carved timber interior exudes hospitality and comfort - as do the staff.

Over the week we used a 'Peak Pass' to go up everything and walk about - or down - and on most days took up the Schoenegg's offer of a packed lunch after the generous and bountiful breakfast buffet. To return to the Schoenegg for a leisurely bath or shower and cool off on the balcony before another superb dinner was almost too good to be true.

Having booked three nights in Montreux before returning home it was with heavy hearts that we left Zermatt and the Schoenegg in particular. It was going to be a hard act to follow - and the Riviera of Lake Geneva failed to live up to the town or this lovely hotel.

Room Tip: The back is probably great with views down the beautiful valley... but the front gives you an uninte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ballastplough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schonegg, Inhaber at Chalet Hotel Schoenegg, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Dear „Ballastplough“

I’m very impressed about your review! Your compliments are very flattered for us!! At the same time I will not forget, that the great weather you had helped us a little bit to make your stay so wonderful!;)
We are indeed very lucky about the situation of the hotel. On our “Schönegg Plateau” we benefice from a unique position over Zermatt with a breathtaking view towards the Matterhorn. All of our rooms facing towards the Matterhorn have a free view to the Matterhorn – I guess we are one of the only hotels in Zermatt to offer this!! Our rooms are more or less the same, as long you book a double room with Matterhorn view!
The “dramatic entrance” and the tunnels allows us to be very close to the town. The centre of Zermatt is so reachable within 5 minutes of walk! As well all departures to the mountains are close – or the bus that takes you there is close!
I will transmit your compliments about the dinner to the chef and our service staff! Thank you a lot! Our staff tries every day to make the difference from a normal hotel experience to a unique hotel experience! They will be very delighted about your compliments!

We look forward to welcoming you soon back here at the Chalet Hotel Schönegg in Zermatt!

Wonderful regards perfumed with fresh mountains flower flavours…;)

Anna & Sebastian – your host
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

What a lovely stay! Very warm welcome, professional and friendly service, amazing view on the Matterhorn, beautiful room and balcony with the view over Zermatt! I stayed there for the Swiss national day so I even got the fireworks and the raclette on the terrace! The Spa is nice and invites to a relaxing time. Great buffet for the breakfast. The Chalet Hotel Schoenegg is definitely an address to keep and share! THANK YOU to all the team!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Apolline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schonegg, Inhaber at Chalet Hotel Schoenegg, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Dear „Apolline A.“

Thank you very much for your lovely comment on TripAdvisor! We are very happy, that you enjoyed your stay at the Chalet Hotel Schönegg! The view from our hotel is unique in Zermatt from the balcony even more impressive… We do like our tradition very much in the Valais, raclette and great wine make a big part of our tradition…;)
We hope you could relax enough in our SPA in order to start your work in a perfect shape!

We would be very delighted to welcoming you soon again at the Chalet Hotel Schönegg! …and in the mean time, keep sharing your lovely experience you had…

Anna & Sebastian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at a number of hotels over the years in Zermatt. I think we found our spot! Large rooms, great location near the main and Gornergrat train stations. Its elevated location provides spectacular views of the Matterhorn, yet there is an elevator from street level so no need to walk up hills. The wellness spa is very nice and has open views to the Matterhorn as you relax in the whirlpool or on the lounge chairs. Breakfast buffet is plentiful. Family owned and very friendly. If you have luggage let them know when your train gets in and they will pick you up at the station. There was a mix up on the rates with our reservation via the website we booked through (website's mistake) and at check-in they were very kind and honored the rate quoted. No fuss, no problem. How's that for service!

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schonegg, Inhaber at Chalet Hotel Schoenegg, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Dear Chris M

Your review is a very big compliment. Thank you very much! We are especially very gratified, that you remarked and honoured our personal touch. Running a family business is not always a piece of cake, but compliments like yours show us, that we are on the good way!
The tunnel with the elevator is a big USP for us. Thanks to that, we enjoy the very nice view from our “Schönegg plateau” but in the same time we are still very close to the town and the departure of trains to the walking or ski area!

We hope you found your relaxation in our SPA…

Regarding the booking method this is a big daily challenge for us. Because of all the booking platforms we have guarantee the best price on the web to all booking sites. The best and cheapest way to book your room is always on our web site! This is what we recommend to all our costumers. As well for loyalty an rewarding purposes in the future…

We look forward to your next visit!

Warm regards from the refreshing mountains…

Anna & Sebastian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

...lovely stay ..... beautiful dining room .... fab views of matterhorn .... and such nice people ... engaging , informative + great weather to boot .... THANK YOU - Andrew & Katharine.p.s.-thanks to Mike and Liz of Inghams, you were great ....... failed to hand in questionaire ...... oooops

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Andrew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schonegg, Inhaber at Chalet Hotel Schoenegg, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Dear „Andrew A“

Thank you very much for your lovely review on TripAdvisor! We are very glad that you enjoyed your time at the Chalet Hotel Schönegg. Our dining room is a very nice spot in Zermatt indeed. The view to the Matterhorn from our hotel is unique and we are very happy about our location! I will forward your compliments to our staff as well as to Mike and Liz.

We hope to welcoming you soon again!

Best wishes from peaceful Zermatt

Anna & Sebastian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Firefly
Hotel Firefly
#3 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
0.2 mi away
Schlosshotel
Schlosshotel
#11 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
#5 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpenhof
Hotel Alpenhof
#14 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parkhotel Beau Site
Parkhotel Beau Site
#8 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
0.3 mi away
BELLERIVE
BELLERIVE
#2 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Hotel Schoenegg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Hotel Schoenegg

Property: Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
Address: Riedweg 35, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland (Formerly Grand Hotel Schoenegg)
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#9 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#10 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#10 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#19 Family Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chalet Hotel Schoenegg 4.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chalet Hotel Schoenegg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing