We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the view and friendliness of the staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
Ranked #14 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 January 2014

My husband and I decided to book a last minute trip to Zermatt over the New Years. Luckily for us we found the Chalet Schonegg and were amazed that this hotel was still available. First, as others have written, the views are amazing! When you arrive, you need to go through a tunnel (very mystical) and then take a lift which transports you high above the village giving you an amazing view of the village without obstruction. For us, we were pleasantly suprised having found the views surpassed the views in the Couronne hotel where we also stayed in earlier in the year.
Our room: We stayed in a boutique style room with Matterhorn views. We were glad we paid a supplement for the views! The room had a balcony area. I found the room small but cozy. It was cleaned very well by the cleaning staff. We had no complaints other than we thought the bathroom was a little dated but overall, it was comfortable, we slept very well and we felt it was definately worth paying a little extra for the views.

Staff: everyone we met was friendly and in particular we would like to thank the reception staff: Matthias who was very helpful and attentive. He followed up on an offer which I was quite impressed about since he seemed more bothered about it than me! Goes to say, that this is attention to detail and the service cannot be faulted.
We would also like to thank all the staff in the dining area - A really friendly tall guy with glasses from Valais (I'm sorry I don't know his name), the waiter from Lausanne (again sorry I don't know his name) and Muri and Maria. They were always so willing to help and serve us but having said this, there was not one member of staff which I thought was remotely rude in anyway. We were attentively served by the waiters/waitresses with little wait time at the restaurants or whenever we wanted something.

Dinner: we stayed on a half board basis. The food quality was of a very high standard. The buffet salad was all freshly prepared with a good selection of items. It is a fixed menu but if you didn't like something on the menu, they happily changed it without question (like we did on the first night).
We had the new years eve gala dinner - expensive but at the end of the day, all restaurants offering this are. Again, the food was excellent and we really enjoyed it.
Breakfast: again good. We particularly liked the freshly squeezed orange juice in the morning and the bread selection. It had a good choice of food items and it was definately sufficient for our needs.

Spa/wellness area: this consists of 2 jacuzzis, a steam room, a sauna as well as a rest/quiet room. The jacuzzi is nicely situated with the view of the Matterhorn. We were perfectly happy with the spa area - it was never too crowded when we were there and although not as large as some of the hotels we have stayed in in Austria, we however, felt it was sufficient.

Overall we had an excellent stay and we rank this hotel very highly. We had a slight issue (actually not even an issue) as it had nothing really to do with the hotel but a 3rd party company however management followed up and kindly offered us a bottle of champagne and selection of meat/cheeses from the region which we thought was great as this really shows to us management made an effort to keep us customers happy. We would have absolutely no hesitation to recommend this hotel to our family and friends. Needless to say, we will come back to stay at some point in time. Thank you for efforts and for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view - worth paying the extra for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellingmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schonegg, Propriétaire at Chalet Hotel Schoenegg, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear “travelingmaster”

Thank you very much for your nice comment on TripAdvisor! We are very glad, that you enjoyed your stay in our propriety! All of our staff member thank you as well for your lovely compliments! Guests like you are making the difference and keeps our staff motivated to continue to do this little, important personal touch in their daily work! Thank you for that!!

Let me answer several points more detailed…
You mentioned our tunnel, the elevator and the nice view. This goes all hand in hand. We have a very nice view because our hotel is situated about 80 meters above the village (this allows our guests as well to ski in to the hotel). We are glad, that you agree on the supplement for a room with view! But thanks to our elevator and the tunnel you reach the center of the town in 5 minutes. As well the nearest start to the ski slopes is just 200 meters away from our tunnel exit. The bus to the other cable cars, stops in front of the tunnel.

Our kitchen is well known for its “fine cuisine” and our daily menu, as well our salad buffet is daily always fresh prepared. We are glad that we fulfilled your desires.

The Spa was built in 2005. There is everything one need to be happy and to relax. A swimming pool can be found in the neighbour building.

If we make a mistake or a guest is not happy, we always encourage them to let us immediately know. We prefer to deal with an issue on field and solve it, rather then having an unhappy costumer in the hotel. As everyone can see here on TripAdvisor, we do have more satisfied then unhappy guests… ;)

We look forward to your next holiday at the Chalet Hotel Schönegg in Zermatt!!!

Yours Anna & Sebastian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (530)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

236 - 242 of 530 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2014

This review is for the restaurant only, which a friend and I stumbled onto while looking for a place to have lunch. We were both very happy with our food--my bagel with parmesan, sun-dried tomato cream cheese, and rocket was absolutely delicious! My friend had the rösti, and also enjoyed it.

There is a large outside terrace that you can sit out on with a GORGEOUS view. We were chilled, so decided to sit inside, but still had a terrific view from there too, of the Matterhorn and surrounding area. Truly stunning.

Service was a tiny bit slow, and we had to wait a while for the bill. Knocking one star off for that, but not a big deal as we weren't in a hurry.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sokarys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schonegg, Inhaber at Chalet Hotel Schoenegg, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Dear „sokarys“

We thank you very much for your review about our Hotel / Restaurant.
Your compliments will be transmitting to our chef. Our unique view is indeed beside our nice and delicious food offer a big USP for us. We are very happy, that you enjoyed your time on our Terrace! Regarding the time you had to wait I apologize. Over Christmas and New Year we were very busy on our terrace. We did not expect such a high demand. We learned out of it and this will not happen again next time…

We are looking forward to greet you soon again on our terrace, fine dining restaurant or as a hotel guest…
Best regards from Zermatt

Anna & Sebastian Metry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Met at Zermatt Stn by Hotel "bus" (phoned ahead) made arrival with luggage easy.The drive up through the "James Bond" type hotel tunnel a dramatic start to a fantastic week.
Chalet has traditional decor & looks out above village,so is quiet but quick access to village via hotel lift then easy walk thru tunnel to street .. few min walk to Sunnegga Ski Tube.
Spectacular view from dining & bar area (& bedroom if request) of Matterhorn.
Ski into outdoor bar area at end of day!
Superb fine dining, excellent staff, but also can have casual meal in bar area.
Steam room & lovely spa with nice view.
Anna & Sebastian create a very special personal touch to their family's chalet hotel.
Our stay at Schonegg was everything that we had hoped for - thank you family Metry.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schonegg, Inhaber at Chalet Hotel Schoenegg, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Dear „K P“

James Bond tunnel? It is the other way around, James bond copied our tunnel!!! ;)

Thank you very much for your lovely comment here on TripAdvisor! We are very glad, that you had a nice time in Zermatt! Indeed, our tunnel is a great logistic advantage for our guest. Your are above Zermatt and enjoy the great view over the town and towards the Matterhorn, but in the same time you are very quick in the middle of the village and at the bottom of the ski station.

Our dining room receives a lot of compliments because of its free view over Zermatt. Especially in the evenings it is great to see all the lights of the village. With our food proposition we try to fulfil as much our guests wishes. You can have a easy bite or snack. But if you like a more elaborated dish, one can have dinner in our fine dining restaurant.

Thank you very much for your compliments! We, the family Metry try our best to add our personal family touch to the hotel. We are very grateful, that you appreciated this!

We are very much looking forward to welcoming you soon back at the Chalet Hotel Schönegg

Anna & Sebastian Metry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

My mom and I'd been looking at this hotel online for years & got a great last-minute rate between Xmas and New Year's. Discovered after arrival it was a mistake made by online booking system… good luck for us! As a result, we were amazed by the quality to price ratio! ;-) Too bad it won't likely happen the same way again.

We loved the location of the hotel, especially after reading reviews here. It did not seem far out of town to us at all, and we walked all over Zermatt. I'd read one person complaining about carrying skis out the hotel tunnel… I didn't find that problematic at all and in fact thought the tunnel was so cool lugging the skis really didn't matter.

We also liked our cozy, top-floor room, 701. It was small and dominated by sloping wooden beams. Perfect for us. Very tall people or those wanting more space might prefer something else. We thought it was lovely.

The service here is fantastic. We did not eat dinner in the restaurant, as wanted more casual fare and to walk Zermatt at night. Breakfast was good, though we would have liked more homemade jams & hot dishes prepared in the kitchen, especially before skiing. (Weisswurst maybe?)

Just fyi, by far the best meals we had in town were at a tiny place right across from the train station -- the Ross-Stall. Order the entrecôte in Cafe de Paris butter (comes to your table rare on a fondue-burner & silver platter) and/or the truffle fondue. YUM.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank movingtoLugano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schonegg, Inhaber at Chalet Hotel Schoenegg, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Dear “movingtoLugano”

It looks like you are a professional in writing comments for hotels on TripAdvisor. Looking at your previous comments, on can see, that you are not rating everybody with the best grades. Therefore your compliments and your great review on our Chalet Hotel Schönegg is even more precious for us! Thank you very much!

The problem we had with the online booking is resolved. You will always be very welcome in our hotel!

Indeed, the location of the hotel is very well. The tunnel is only 80 meters long and once you’re out of the tunnel the sunnegga station is just 200 meters away. There are only a handful of hotels who are closer to the ski stations. But none of them has such a nice view like us. We are very happy that you agree on this with us!

Regarding the breakfast we are always trying to improve. The variety is large and a lot of our guest love our breakfast buffet (check other reviews on TripAdvisor). But nevertheless we are always happy for some new, constructive inputs!

We hope to see you soon back in Zermatt at the Chalet Hotel Schönegg

Best wishes

Anna & Sebastian Metry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Another wonderful time at this great hotel. As always we booked half board and again the food was superb every night. A varied and high quality menu meant that we looked forward to every evening meal and breakfast. The staff are very friendly, professional and flexible. My wife's gluten free diet was dealt with, with style.

Definitely book half board and definitely book direct and try and get a petit chalet room. They are beautiful.

Room Tip: Definitely book half board and definitely book direct and try and get a petit chalet room. They are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonLuke70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schonegg, Manager at Chalet Hotel Schoenegg, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Dear “JonLuke70”

Are you back in England? Zermatt is still covered with snow and the weather is great. What about in England? ;)

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay one more time in our propriety! I will transmit all compliments to our kitchen team. They really work on a high level and seek to perfection! Therefore a gluten free meal every night is part of this perfection that we are focusing. Anyhow we are very happy, that you appreciate this service.

The new Chalet rooms become very popular. Be sure to book them in advance. We are looking forward to welcoming you next winter again at the Chalet Hotel Schönegg – where else…

Best wishes from sunny, and snowy Zermatt.

Anna & Sebastian Metry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

This was our second stay at the Schoenegg Hotel, and I'm pleased to say that our fond memories from the previous visit fully justified the return reservation.
Big plusses include wonderful views of the Matterhorn both from the terrace, as well as the bedrooms ( providing you book the appropriate front, south facing, bedrooms), and also an excellent restaurant. The 5 course evening meals were splendid, and although the menu is set with no apparent alternative dishes, the Chef would come up with another option should it be necessary.
Very attentive service.
Hope to return in the future and would have no hesitation in recommending the Schoenegg for anyone visiting Zermatt.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Matterhorn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Courtyardhydrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schonegg, Inhaber at Chalet Hotel Schoenegg, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Dear “Courtyardhydrant”

We are very happy about your nice review here in TripAdvisor! It is very kind form your part, that you share your experience you had at the Chalet Hotel Schönegg. Indeed, the South facing rooms have a spectacular view over Zermatt and towards the Matterhorn. Even the Rooms on a lower floor benefice from this panoramic view, since there are no buildings in the view between our hotel and the Matterhorn!

Regarding the dinner menu we are looking for a bit more flexibility regarding the choice. For more information subscribe to our newsletter on the web site! So you will always receive our latest news. But we are indeed very happy, that you enjoyed the quality of food that we provide. We will as well transmit your compliments to our staff!

Thanks for the recommendation, we look forward to welcoming you and your friends and followers at the Chalet Hotel Schönegg in Zermatt!!

Fresh herbal wishes form lovely Zermatt

Anna & Sebastian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Lovely food every night in the restaurant, which also has perfect views across the village towards the Matterhorn. Service good, everyone very friendly. I've stayed here several times, and never been disappointed

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rowena64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schonegg, Inhaber at Chalet Hotel Schoenegg, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2013

Dear “Rowena64”

Thank you very much for your lovely commentary on TripAdvisor! We are very proud that you as a returning costumer are still very happy with the quality of service that we provide!

The location is very important to us. It’s our biggest USP because the other hotels in Zermatt do not have such a spectacular view over Zermatt and towards the Matterhorn.

We are looking forward to see you soon back in our house…

Warm regards from the Chalet Hotel Schönegg

Anna & Sebastian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.2 mi away
Schlosshotel Life & Style
0.1 mi away
Parkhotel Beau Site
Parkhotel Beau Site
#8 of 110 in Zermatt
804 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Firefly
Hotel Firefly
#3 of 110 in Zermatt
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western PLUS Alpen Resort Hotel
0.3 mi away
Fleurs de Zermatt
Fleurs de Zermatt
#31 of 110 in Zermatt
221 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alpenlodge
Alpenlodge
#18 of 110 in Zermatt
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Hotel Schoenegg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Hotel Schoenegg

Address: Riedweg 35, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland (Formerly Grand Hotel Schoenegg)
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#10 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#10 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#12 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#18 Family Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range: £190 - £546 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chalet Hotel Schoenegg 4.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Chalet Hotel Schoenegg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing