We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
Ranked #14 of 111 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Greece
1 review
“Great Family Hotel!”
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Centrally located, with possibly the best views to the village and the Matterhorn.

Great restaurant with good food and fantastic atmosphere.

Offers all the amenities you would expect from a 4 star superior hotel and then, some!

Room Tip: Request a Matterhorn view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schonegg, Manager at Chalet Hotel Schoenegg, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Peter C

Thank you for writing a nice comment about your stay at the chalet Hotel Schönegg in Zermatt!

We are very happy, that you were satisfied with the location and the view tot he Matterhorn.

I will transmit the compliments to our chef regarding the nice and tasty food.


We are looking forward to seeing you soon back @ the Chalet Hotel Schönegg.


Best wishes from sunny Zermatt (→ check the web cam!)

Sebastian Metry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    400
    82
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
106
261
28
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glastonbury, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 February 2014

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Schoenegg in December 2013 for a few days - our first trip to Switzerland. The hotel was fantastic. Room was great - Matterhorn view, staff was incredibly accommodating and friendly - fantastic service. The location was perfect. The spa was wonderful as well - perfect after a day of skiing. If we go back to Zermatt, we will be staying at the Chalet Schoenegg no doubt.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schonegg, Owner at Chalet Hotel Schoenegg, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Hi „Jill Z“

Thank you very much for your nice words! It means a lot to us, that you liked your stay at the Chalet Hotel Schönegg! In fact, the view that we offer is nice. Since we are one of the few hotels that have a free view over Zermatt and towards the Matterhorn. We always try our best to deliver a friendly and personalized service!

We are looking forward to welcoming you son back in Zermatt at the Chalet Hotel Schönegg!

Sunny wishes from the Matterhorn

Anna & Sebastian Metry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here in early Jan. There were 8 in our group and we all said what a great time we had staying at this hotel. We had spectacular views over the town and of the Matterhorn, the food was delicious every night and the staff really looked after us. The owners were very nice coming to the table of a night to ask how every one was and to check every thing was ok. Been to Zermatt 6 times now and have got to say this was the best stay we've had . The hotel is in good position for getting up the mountain and to get into the village, you can also ski back to the hotel. Can highly recommend.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schonegg, Owner at Chalet Hotel Schoenegg, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear „Tom B“

You have written a very lovely review about the Chalet Hotel Schönegg here on TripAdvisor. Indeed is the view our big advantage versus all other hotels in Zermatt. And thanks to our tunnel with elevator is the center of Zermatt is very close as well.
We are very happy that you appreciate our presence and the friendliness. Since your sixth stay was the best, we look forward to welcoming you for your seventh stay in Zermatt next year @ the Chalet hotel Schönegg in Zermatt.

Sunny and snowy regards from Zermatt

Anna & Sebastian Metry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

On our second trip to Zermatt, we decided to choose a different hotel, and we were very happy with our decision. We booked three nights in a Matterhorn View room and we were put on the first floor. We had good views, but we thinking they would have been much better had we been up a floor or two. Our room was a good size - we were in the original part of the hotel, but everything was comfortable, clean, and elegantly furnished. There was a spacious wardrobe, desk, couch, coffee table, and chair, so we had plenty of room for our things. There was also a built in luggage rack. The bathroom had two sinks, which we liked. They also provided hotel slippers and robes, and there is a mini bar (reasonable prices). Everything was very clean and reasonably updated. The bed was comfortable.
Breakfast (which we actually weren't sure was included because it wasn't noted on our booking.com reservation - but in fact was included) was great - they had all sorts of cereals, granola, fruit, yogurt, rolls, croissants, jellys, cheeses, meats, lox, a variety of tea and juices, and even prosecco! They also had soft boiled eggs, scrambled eggs, and bacon. The breakfast room (which doubles as the dining room) is gorgeous - it could be in a 5 star hotel. And it also has great views of the town of Zermatt and the Matterhorn. The hotel sits up on a hill, so you can really see out over the town and river.
The hotel is less than a 10 minute walk from the train station, which also means that it is less than 10 minutes from the Gornergrat train. We took the 30 minute train every day to ski in the Gornergrat. It was great - we highly recommend it. It's also very close to the funicular to get up to Sunnega and the Rothorn paradise. You can also take the bus to take the gondolas and cable cars up to Schwarzsee, the Matterhorn paradise, and Italy. We never went over there because Italy was closed the first two days due to high winds, and the last day we didn't have enough time.
The hotel has a discount arrangement at Flex Rent which is just a 5 minute walk from the hotel. Flex Rent is excellent and we stored our skis and boots there each night because it was easier than lugging them back to the hotel. You can actually take the bus from kiddie corner from the rental shop over to the train if you don't feel like walking.
The hotel is also very close to the COOP which is a grocery store, Snowboat (for après ski), the Cervo (also for après ski), and two bakeries. Less than 10 minutes to the grocery, and 5 to the others. To get out of the hotel, you can either walk out the main level door (if you are going up to the Cervo that's how you go), or you take the elevator down to the tunnel and walk out. I thought I'd be claustrophobic in the tunnel, but it was so neat! The doors out to the street were always open and the tunnel isn't so long that you feel trapped. It just really added something special to our stay.
The hotel also has a great sauna area with two hot tubs, a sauna and a steam shower. The area was super clean and comfortable. We didn't get massages, but they were offered. Prices were reasonable - average US prices.
The hotel's dinner recommendations were decent, and they definitely went out of their way to get us reservations. I'd still recommend that you do your own research if you are looking for something special or particular. We didn't try the hotel for dinner, but it's supposed to be excellent. They post the tasting menu every morning so that you can decide if you want to try it out.
The best part for us is that they let us have late check out so that we could spend more time in the room prior to getting on the train.
We only had two small concerns: the room got too hot and there was no way to turn down the heat. We had to open the window and it was still warm. The second concern was that the shower had one of those weird half doors on it (we've seen them a bunch in Europe) and the shower had a ton of water pressure, so we got a bunch of water on the floor every time we showered (and soaked the room the first time!). But these small issues wouldn't stop us from staying again.
Overall we had an excellent stay!

Room Tip: Book a Matterhorn view but request a floor higher than 1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tahitijess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schonegg, Owner at Chalet Hotel Schoenegg, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear “tahitijess”

Thank you very much for your detailed review here on TribAdvisor about your experience at the Chalet Hotel Schönegg. Let me answer some of your mentioned points…
Since the Hotel is situated higher up then the village it is totally worth to have a room with view to the Matterhorn. But there is a hillside in front of the hotel, even the rooms on the ground floor have a nice view to the Matterhorn and over the village. So, there is no need to have a room in a higher floor.

We are very glad, that you liked the room size and that all facilities were functional. All rooms were renovated in 2005 at latest and we are always looking to invest in order to always be on top.

Our breakfast room is indeed very nice and unique in Zermatt. There is no other breakfast room in Zermatt with such a spectacular view.

Not only the view from the Schönegg plateau is nice, thanks to the elevator and the tunnel of the hotel, every guest of the Chalet Hotel Schönegg is within 10 minutes every where in Zermatt by food.

Sadly you did not have dinner at the hotel. Every night our kitchen chef suggests a fresh 5-course dinner menu. If there are items on the menu that one doesn’t like, we always come up with another proposition. We also have a “A la Carte restaurant” with 15 Gault Millau points (One of the best rated restaurants in Zermatt). Here you will find the more delicious dishes hat our kitchen prepare. For a small appetizer we also have a smaller menu for the whole day.

The problem with the shower we know already and we a looking for a solution. Unfortunately it is very difficult to find s cost effective solution. We hope for you understanding.

We look forward to welcoming you soon again at the Chalet Hotel Schönegg in Zermatt.

Best and sunny wishes from the Matterhorn town

Anna & Sebastian Metry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Canaan, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Hotel Schonegg was amazing. Its better than the Little Nell in Aspen and that's hard to beat.The facility's and staff were top notch. The hotel was convenient to assess to the mountain and town. The owners were like family and the delightful and pretty bartender kept the bar open into the wee hours for me and my friend,that wouldn't happen at most resort hotels. Also a plus was the hotels bar patio was on the end of day ski slope back to town,that was a major convenience. The ski rental shop across from the hotel was great people and made rental skis easy. Honestly why stay anywhere else!

Room Tip: The new building was clean modern and fresh
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schonegg, Owner at Chalet Hotel Schoenegg, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear „Tom w“

It is a big pleasure for us to receive such a nice message from you here on TripAdvisor!
I will as well transfer your compliments to our staff. Especially to our Bartender of course! We always try to create such unforgettable moments for our guests. We are very touched, that we were able to create some special moments for you and your friends!

The situation of the hotel is indeed very good, since the slopes end in front of the hotel and the cable car starts only 200meters from our hotel entrance at the tunnel. The other advantage of the hotel is the great view we have since the elevator brings you up higher up then the village.

We are looking forward to see you next year again @ the Chalet Hotel Schönegg!

Sunny wishes from the Zermatt Ski slopes!

Anna & Sebastian Metry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northport, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

The Chalet Hotel Schoenegg was a delight. I stayed 3 nights and we were extremely impressed with the services, amenities and friendly atmosphere. The views were like a post card and I found myself looking out of my balcony every chance I could. their recommendations for ski equipment, restaurants, etc were spot on. Can't wait to get back. !!

Room Tip: room 701 !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rocco41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schonegg, Owner at Chalet Hotel Schoenegg, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear „Rocco41“

It seems, that you really enjoyed your stay at the Chalet Hotel Schönegg!! Thank you very much fort he compliments! We are working very hard every day to make our guest’s stay outstanding. Comparing to all other hotels in Zermatt, our big advantage is the view. There is no other hotel in town with such a view.
We are very thrilled that our partners were treading you as well as we did!

We can’t wait to have you back here!

Wonderful and snowy regards from Zermatt

Anna & Sebastian Metry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenbrae, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

Spent one week at the Hotel with my family over New Years week. Usually stay at the Monte Rosa, but now I have converted to this intimate and charming place. We had the top floor suite with a fire place and two stories, which accommodated my wife and our three girls nicely. The beds are fantastic and the view to Matterhorn and Zermatt is spectacular. The firework display was out of this world from this vantage point. The restaurant is excellent and breakfast is included every day, and the service is on par with very other high end establishment. They have a "tea room" with a fire place and the ski room heats your boots and stores your equipment. The entrance to the hotel is via a tunnel into the mountain which is fun and charming, but you can ski literally into the bar from the Sunnega slopes. The location to get up to Rothorn is 1 min walk, and Gornergrat is a 5 min electric taxi cart away.
Anna, Sebastian and Mariann are fantastic and they took such good care of us. What a great place. We will always return!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Yngvar H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schonegg, Propriétaire at Chalet Hotel Schoenegg, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear „Yngvar H“
Thank you very much for your nice comment here on TripAdvisor! We are very happy, that you enjoyed your stay in the Chalet Hotel Schönegg over New Year! We are indeed very pleased, that the service that we provided fulfilled your wishes. Since we always try to do our best in exceeding the expectation of our guests, this kind of feedback is the best motivation for our team and shows us, that we are woking in the right on the good train! Thank you!!

You mentioned the nice view and the elevator. This goes hand in hand. Since the Chalet Hotel Schönegg is located above Zermatt, we need the elevator to be close to the city. Thanks for mentioning another big point of the chalet Hotel Schönegg – we are one of the few hotels in Zermatt where you can ski in to the hotel!

We are looking forward to welcoming you next year again @ the Chalet Hotel Schönegg.

Best sunny and snow wishes from Zermatt…

Anna & Sebastian Metry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.2 mi away
Schlosshotel Life & Style
Schlosshotel Life & Style
#13 of 111 in Zermatt
955 reviews
0.3 mi away
BELLERIVE
BELLERIVE
#2 of 111 in Zermatt
438 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
#6 of 111 in Zermatt
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Parkhotel Beau Site
Parkhotel Beau Site
#9 of 111 in Zermatt
771 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpenhof
Hotel Alpenhof
#15 of 111 in Zermatt
453 reviews
0.3 mi away
Europe Hotel & Spa
Europe Hotel & Spa
#8 of 111 in Zermatt
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Hotel Schoenegg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Hotel Schoenegg

Property: Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
Address: Riedweg 35, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland (Formerly Grand Hotel Schoenegg)
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#9 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#9 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#12 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#19 Family Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chalet Hotel Schoenegg 4.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Chalet Hotel Schoenegg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing