We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Admiral Hotel(Zermatt)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
CERVO Zermatt(Zermatt)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Bella Vista Hotel(Zermatt)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Alfa(Zermatt)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Perren(Zermatt)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Parkhotel Beau Site(Zermatt)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (561)
Filter reviews
561 results
Traveller rating
444
93
19
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
444
93
19
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstunnel entranceinfinity terracetrain stationmatterhorn viewsunnegga funicularhalf boardnew wingbreakfast buffettap watersnow conditionsperfect staywonderful vieweach eveningfabulous hotelmatterhorn paradisecarved woodset menu
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
244 - 249 of 561 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2014

First time in Zermatt and stayed 3 nights at Chalet Schoenegg for a ski vacation. Views from the hotel are amazing. Great central location. Ski in/out to the hotel for the Sunnegga runs and steps away from the bus stop to take you to the Gornergrat or Matterhorn Glacier pistes. Staff are super friendly and speak great English. Can buy lift tickets at the hotel which is really convenient. We managed to miss the last lifts back over from Cervinia one afternoon :) and the hotel were very helpful at finding a solution to get us back to Zermatt and also having food ready for us when we got back. Great service throughout. Excellent hotel!

Room Tip: Well worth the extra for a room with a Matterhorn view!
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traci A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schonegg, Inhaber at Chalet Hotel Schoenegg, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear „Tracy A“

Thank you very much for your nice feedback here on TripAdvisor! It is very motivating for us to read such nice comments!

I will transmit your compliments about the service and English skills to our staff. We are very happy that you liked the location of the hotel! Indeed ski in to your hotel is a very big advantage that only few hotels in Zermatt can offer. Since we are a little bit higher then the village, the view from our rooms, terrace and dining room is breathtaking.
I remember your call from Cervinia when you were stock there. Very unlucky… But I hop you enjoyed your dinner in the end… ;)

We hope to see you soon back at the Chalet Hotel Schönegg!!

Best regards from sunny Zermatt

Your host, Anna & Sebastian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

For the 3rd time I went to the Schoenegg and it was an excellent stay as always. From the advices on parking and getting a taxi driving me with my luggage directly to the electric minivan from the hotel who dropped me in front of a lift that bring you direclty to the lobby.

The hotel is very Chalet style and not big so you feel at home and taken good care of. I enjoyed an apero at the bar and quick lunch before walking around the village as I was unfortunate with the weather (It was snowing a lot on that day...). Breakfast offers a good choice and all taste very good. Unfortunately, this time I had an appointement oustide for dinner and couldn't dine at the hotel, as I usually do. Food has always been great there, service is paying good attention and Sebastian is always around to make sure the experience is excellent.

Definitly, I would recomment this place.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Swissfreerider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schonegg, Owner at Chalet Hotel Schoenegg, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear “Swissfreerider”

Thank you very much for your warm words! The travel to and from Zermatt is a big logistical organisation – for our guests and for us. On a day with a lot of arrivals and departures we are always happy to have the exact arrival time in order ensure that your arrival is as fluid as yours.
We are sorry for your bad weather. But since you are a “Swissfreerider” you must love the fresh powder snow. No? ;) This year we did have a lot of powder snow, but we haven’t been lucky with the usual sunny weather so far. But now, we have the great snow conditions and the best weather. Check out our web cam now!
So during your next stay we recommend you a dinner in our A la carte Restaurant. With 15 Points of Gault Millau we are one of the best-rated restaurants in Zermatt…

We are looking forward to your next stay at the Chalet Hotel Schönegg!

Best regards with fresh powder snow from Zermatt

Anna & Sebastian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I stayed for two nights at Chalet Schoenegg in Mid January. The views were stunning, the room was great, the staff personable, and the service equally as good. The location of the hotel was another great bonus; located within 200 metres of the lifts and accessible from the ski out it is a skiers dream. A heated ski and boot room made starting the day a real pleasure and the spa is certainly a wonderful way to relax after a hard days riding. I would happily recommend the Hotel Schoenegg to anyone looking for a luxurious and professional skiing experience.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jp21736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schonegg, Owner at Chalet Hotel Schoenegg, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear jp21736

Thank you very much for your kind review here on TripAdvisor! We are indeed very happy, that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel - especially that you liked the location of the hotel. Clos to the slopes with the ability to ski in, above Zermatt but thanks to the hotel owned elevator, the hotel is in one of the best spots in Zermatt.

We are very much looking forward to welcoming you next year again at the Chalet Hotel Schönegg.

Best regards from sunny Zermatt

Anna & Sebastian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We stayed here first week in Jan with family and friends. Our room was warm and cosy and very comfortable with a balcony and stunning views over the Matterhorn and Zermatt Village. Everything about our week there was just perfect. The weather, snow conditions as Zermatt never fails to disappoint. We have been six times and will definitely go back and this hotel was just first class for catering, position and the staff and the owners were so lovely. Going back next year hopefully.

Highly recommend this hotel and resort.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schonegg, Inhaber at Chalet Hotel Schoenegg, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Dear David & Rita G

It always a bif honor for us to recive such a nice feedback from our loyal guest. Actually you are already aprt of the “Schöngg family”! ;)

Since the view over Zermatt and towards the Matterhorn is one of our biggest advantages comparing to all other 4* hotels in Zermatt, we are very happy that you value that!

I will transfer all compliments about the food and the service to our staff! They will be very happy! Thank you very much!!

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again at the Chalet Hotel Schönegg!

Sunny wishes from the Matterhorn village


Anna & Sebastian Metry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Centrally located, with possibly the best views to the village and the Matterhorn.

Great restaurant with good food and fantastic atmosphere.

Offers all the amenities you would expect from a 4 star superior hotel and then, some!

Room Tip: Request a Matterhorn view room
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schonegg, Manager at Chalet Hotel Schoenegg, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Dear Peter C

Thank you for writing a nice comment about your stay at the chalet Hotel Schönegg in Zermatt!

We are very happy, that you were satisfied with the location and the view tot he Matterhorn.

I will transmit the compliments to our chef regarding the nice and tasty food.


We are looking forward to seeing you soon back @ the Chalet Hotel Schönegg.


Best wishes from sunny Zermatt (→ check the web cam!)

Sebastian Metry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews