We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning views of the Matterhorn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
Ranked #12 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Mansfield, England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Stunning views of the Matterhorn”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

The Hotel Schonegg sits high above Zermatt town with spectacular view of the Matterhorn, but guests do not need to climb up the hill – there is a convenient lift accessed through a tunnel from the bottom of the hill directly into the hotel. We were met at the railway station by the porter in his electric taxi and taken directly to the hotel.
The hotel is located within easy reach of the railway station and the Gonergrat Mountain Railway. There is also easy access to the Sunegga funicular by either walking up the road to the end of the ski run where there is a lift or at town level almost next door to the tunnel exit from the hotel. The Matterhorn Paradise station is about 15 minutes’ walk away
We stayed for 5 nights in March and chose a Boutique Double Room with Matterhorn View which was superb.. The large room was furnished in traditional alpine style, with lots of wood and a lovely sunny south facing balcony. Fresh fruit and bottled water were provided on arrival and there was an extensive minibar, towelling bathrobes and slippers also available as well as plenty of coat hangers – a real treat these days!! There is also excellent superfast wifi in the hotel which can be accessed easily from guest rooms and the public rooms.
We elected for the half board option and we glad we did as the food was spectacular. Not only is the dining room spacious with beautiful views down the valley (and of the Matterhorn, of course!) but the food was exceptional. Breakfast is an extensive hold and cold buffet. Each evening is a 5 course meal and although there was only one choice for each course, without exception every course on every day was fantastic. Guests are also given an option, each day, to ask for an alternative to the published menu.
There is also a small gourmet restaurant and a bar with table and chairs outside to allow guest to bask in the sun and enjoy great views.
The staffs were welcoming, helpful and friendly with nothing being too much trouble. During our stay it was a special birthday and the hotel helped me to spring a surprise for my husband including a birthday cake complete with sparklers!!

Room Tip: The Matterhorn view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldwanderer100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schonegg, Owner at Chalet Hotel Schoenegg, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear „worldwanderer100“

Thank you very much for your lovely review on TripAdvisor! We are always very happy to receive comments on this site in order to know the preferences and needs of our guests.
Our private tunnel and elevator is indeed a great strength of the Chalet Hotel Schönegg. Thank to this two components, our guest are enjoying the great view over Zermatt and towards the Matterhorn. But in the same time the hotel is perfectely located in the middle of the town next to the start of the ski lifts and the bus stops to other ski lifts.
Our food offer is currently changing since we saw the needs of our guests changed. We always try to fully fill our guest wishes and therefore we will be even more flexible in the future. But the quality of the food will remain on its best.

Thank you as well for your compliments about our staff. We are indeed very happy with the people working for us!

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon back @ the Chalet Hotel Schönegg.

Best wishes

Anna & Sebastian Metry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    381
    79
    14
    3
    1
See reviews for
105
244
27
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We had chosen Hotel Schoenegg for the following reasons:
1.Location
2.Room standard
3.View
4.Service
In the end of our journey we knew that our decision was right except for the view from our room.
For a pleasant journey in Zermatt, it's quite important to be close to the lifts as the town is bigger than the usual ski resorts. Many hotels in the area do not provide shuttle service to the lifts (private vehicles are not allowed) and you do suffer from long walks with booths and skis, which is definitely not the case for Hotel Schoenegg. The location is nearly perfect, just 2-3 minutes walk to the Sunnegga Alpen Metro elevator which takes you right to the centre of the station. The hotel is also very close to the city centre, the hotel elevator and the short tunnel help you reach the town easily.
We stayed in a junior suite room in the chalet section of the hotel. The size, decoration and the comfort of the room was brilliant. The fireplace in the room is a great idea, the bathroom was much bigger than we’d expected and the cleanliness was perfect. The only down side of the room was its position. Considering the price you pay, junior suite rooms should be located in a better position in the building to enjoy the great view of Zermatt and Matterhorn.
The front office and housekeeping staff is amazing. They all are friendly, helpful and professional. Only 1 restaurant staff was not as polite as the other team members, but that’s not an issue to question.
The view from the Jacuzzi rooms of the spa is excellent although the sauna & steam room were a bit small and there was only one warm shower in the whole spa area.
In general we were quite happy with our stay in Hotel Schoenegg and would definitely recommend this hotel to all travelers.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Feray K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schonegg, Owner at Chalet Hotel Schoenegg, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear „Feray K“

Thank you for your lovely review on TripAdvisor! We are glad that you liked your stay with us! The 4 points you mentioned we define as well as our advantage comparing to other hotels in Zermatt. More precisely the location and the view are nearly unbeatable from other hotels in Zermatt.

Unfortunately we were not able to situate the Juniorsuite in another position. The view is maybe a little bit less spectacular the view from our double rooms, but you can still see the Matterhorn and you are overlooking the village of Zermatt.

We are sorry for your issue at our SPA. We do have 5 shower in our SPA. 2 showers are experience showers. The other three are regular showers. All of these have warm water. We are sorry, that you has some troubles with this.

We are happy, that you enjoyed your stay and that you will back @ the Chalet Hotel Schönegg soon…

Best regards

Anna & Sebastian Metry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We have just experienced a fantastic week's skiing holiday at the Schonegg. We stayed in one of the traditionally furnished rooms with a view over the town rather than directly facing the Matterhorn. The room and bathroom were spotlessly clean upon arrival and were expertly attended to each day of our stay by the cleaning staff. The reception staff were unfailingly polite and helpful when we called upon their services.

We thoroughly enjoyed the tasty breakfast buffets before each day's skiing and were most impressed with the quality of the food on display - fresh fruit, cold meats, bacon and egg, various cheeses, danish pastries, breads, cereals, yoghurts, fruit juices, coffee and tea. We stayed half board and the evening meals were very special indeed set over 5 courses. The hotel was also happy to cater for our vegetarian diet. The wine list is extensive and we enjoyed the Swiss varieties on offer. The waiting staff were extremely polite and attentive and could not be faulted. Finally, the resident pianist expertly played superbly each night and provided a lovely backdrop.

We're not big users of spa facilities, but we did enjoy the steam room and jacuzzi on one occasion. Again the facilities were spotlessly clean.

The views from the restaurant and bar terrace are stunning and we were lucky enough to be there for a sunny week with the matterhorn on view at all times.

The hotel is in a decent location a short taxi ride from the train station and within close walking distance of the town centre. The Sunnegga lift is a short walk away which was a bonus and the free bus stop also immediately opposite for access to the other main resort lifts. We used Flexrent opposite the hotel for our ski equipment hire (also excellent).

In summary, the Schonegg is one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in and we hope to be back before too long!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schonegg, Owner at Chalet Hotel Schoenegg, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear „Richard W“
Thank you very much for your detailed review here on TripAdvisor! We are very happy, that you enjoyed your stay at the Chalet Hotel Schönegg.

The view from the Schönegg plateau, where the hotel is located is one of the best in Zermatt. You are overlooking the town and have a free view to the Matterhorn. The traditional rooms with view to the Matterhorn have the same breath-taking view!
We will transfer your compliment about all services to our staff. Thank you very much!

Our F&B offer is very important to us. Our dinner menus are always cocked on a very high level. There is the same kitchen who is cocking for our fine dining restaurant and the half board 5 course dinner. Our wine list is large. But we want to have the best wines from our region and some international specialities on our wine menu. We are very proud on our Bordeaux selection as well.

The location of the hotel is indeed very good for Zermatt. You can ski to the hotel and the ski lifts are just 2 minutes a walk away. Thanks to our private elevator you can each the center of Zermatt within 5 minutes.

We would love to see you back at the Chalet Hotel Schönegg for your next visit!

Best wishes from sunny Zermatt

Anna & Sebastian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I was introduced to Chalet Hotel Schoenegg through my ski instructor. This was the first time I stayed there and I loved it. I was on my own as my husband had to stay home at the last minute on business.
The hotel is very pretty with brilliant views of the Matterhorn, rooms are lovely, food is excellent and most of all the team of staff are very friendly.
Despite being position above Zermatt, the hotel is very convenient because it has a private lift which takes you to the river level and brings you out right besides the Sunnega lift station and the bus stop for the bus to all other lift stations.
I particularly want to thank Anna and Sebastian Metry for their kind hospitality.
I have already rebooked for next year.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SNMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schonegg, Propriétaire at Chalet Hotel Schoenegg, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear „SNMT“

Thank you very much for your lovely compliments! We are very happy, that you enjoyed your stay at the Chalet Hotel Schönegg!

We are glad, that you enjoyed the nice view from our rooms! As you mentioned, on the Schönegg plateau located the hotel is around 100 meters above all roofs in Zermatt. This makes us unique in terms of the view in Zermatt! But thanks to our private lift you are very close to the center of the town and to the ski areas. After your ski day you can even ski back to the hotel! Little detail… ;)

We are very much looking forward to welcoming you next year again at the Chalet Hotel Schönegg!

Best wishes from sunny Zermatt

Anna & Sebastian Metry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 March 2014

I have been in many ski resorts as I take one-week ski trip every year...This time, I decided to choose a destination in Europe...I chose Zermatt and this hotel just based on reviews here and talking few times with receptions. Due to long travel from Canada, I had to do my detailed study to have the best one-week ski trip in Zermatt. AND it happened!
It was a great stay in this cozy and boutique hotel...Special thanks to Mathias for upgrading our room to Matterhorn view and for kind smiles from IIaria and Antonia at the front desk...
I will definitely travel to Zermatt again because I enjoyed every second of six day skiing/snowboarding and staying at Schoenegg!
If you are travelling to Zermatt or in gerenal Switzerland, you'd better make peace with high expenses so choose the best :)
Pamak Azizi

Room Tip: Choose Matterhorn view rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamak A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schonegg, Propriétaire at Chalet Hotel Schoenegg, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Dear „Pamak A“

Thank you very much for your nice comment here on TripAdvisor! We are very happy that you liked our warm welcome at the reception. A kind smile from our lovely satff is always nice to see. ;)

We are glad that you agree on the value you received for your money.

We look forward to your next stay at the Chalet Hotel Schönegg
Best wishes from sunny Zermatt!

Anna & Sebastian Metry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 March 2014

This was my first time in Zermatt and I only stayed at Chalet Hotel Schoenegg for one night. Although it wasn't cheap, it was the best decision I could have made!
The room we were given was a decent size and the views from our balcony were gorgeous!
The hotel staff were lovely and very friendly and gave us great advice on how to utilise the short time we had in Zermatt.
The location of the hotel is perfect as it is near everything and the hotel provide a free taxi service to and from the train station.
Use of the spa was complimentary and was a great way to unwind after a hectic day of travelling.
Even though this was a very short trip, it was money well spent.
The service was great throughout my stay and I will definitely be making a return to Chalet Hotel Schoenegg.

Room Tip: Room with the Mountain view is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deepa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schonegg, Inhaber at Chalet Hotel Schoenegg, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear "Deepa P"

Thank you very much for your lovely comment on TripAdvisor! It’s always a big pleasure to read such lovely comments! Since we are higher then the village, the view from our hotel is totally free and therefore very nice. But thanks to our tunnel the center of the village is reachable in less then 10 minutes by walk. The pick up from and to the train station is part of our service and included in the price.

We are very much looking forward to welcoming you soon again at the Chalet Hotel Schönegg.
Lovely snowy regards

Anna & Seastian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

This hotel never disappoints. All of us who come back every year agree. The location can't be beat. You can ski right on to the front deck from the ski run down to the village. You can use their private elevator and tunnel for easy direct access to main street level and the location up above the town, gives you the best view of the Matterhorn and village below possible. In all weather conditions and for 80% of you stay, the Sunnegabahn is the best lift go up at the start of the day and it is right next to the tunnel entrance. The food is great, the staff are lovely but if you do have any problem or special request, just ask, and they help you without debate and right away. Nothing in life is perfect but for people who travel the world, you won't be disappointed. Unfortunately they can't help you with the weather but it is sunny in Zermatt 304 days each year.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hugh-Stockhorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schonegg, Inhaber at Chalet Hotel Schoenegg, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Hi Hugh

How is everything back in Canada? Thank you very much for your lovely compliments on TripAdvisor!
Indeed, the location of the hotel is a big plus! Our situation, above Zermatt with a great view over everything is unique and thanks to our elevator the center of the village is reachable within 10 minutes.

We always try to deliver the best service. If there is any special request, we always try to deliver this as well. Unfortunately regarding weather our influence is to low to change something…;)

We look forward to welcoming you soon again back at the Chalet Hôtel Schönegg.

Sunny and snowy wishes

Anna & Sebastian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.2 mi away
Schlosshotel
Schlosshotel
#10 of 110 in Zermatt
905 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
#5 of 110 in Zermatt
579 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parkhotel Beau Site
Parkhotel Beau Site
#8 of 110 in Zermatt
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BELLERIVE
BELLERIVE
#2 of 110 in Zermatt
417 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Firefly
Hotel Firefly
#3 of 110 in Zermatt
471 reviews
0.3 mi away
Europe Hotel & Spa
Europe Hotel & Spa
#7 of 110 in Zermatt
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Hotel Schoenegg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Hotel Schoenegg

Property: Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
Address: Riedweg 35, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland (Formerly Grand Hotel Schoenegg)
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#9 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#9 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#10 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#19 Family Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chalet Hotel Schoenegg 4.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Chalet Hotel Schoenegg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing