We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chalet rooms top notch w/great view!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
Ranked #11 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Went on a last minute trip to see Zermatt and the Matterhorn. Checked into my room in the newer Chalet section, opened my curtains and there in front of me was the Matterhorn and a great view of the city of Zermatt. Pleasantly surprised with the rooms in this hotel. Staff was friendly and food was decent.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank jtquinn72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schonegg, Owner at Chalet Hotel Schoenegg, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear “jtquinn72”

It seems that you are a spontaneous and lucky person. Spontaneous because of your last minute trip to Zermatt. Lucky because your caught a room in the #PetitChaletSchönegg. Since we are often fully booked in our new wing, we encourage everybody to book his room as early as possible. The rate is usually as well better.

The view is indeed the big attraction in our hotel.
The location is perfect if you like to be close to the slopes (ski in), near to the next hiking trail or the next rail to the mountain. If you like being close to the town thanks to our private elevator and tunnel. Last but not least if you like having the greatest view over Zermatt and towards the Matterhorn.

I wil transmit your compliments to our staff. They thank you already with a big smiley during your next stay #@theChaletHotelSchönegg. Regarding the food I see you were not 100% satisfait. We would like to know more about that. Please contact us in order to let us improve on this field.

We are looking forward to your next spontaneous stay with us! Please make sure you book directly at our hotel’s website to get the best deal. There are always some additional service included or special gifts… #schöneggview #chalethotelschönegg

Best wishes and see you soon

Anna & Sebastian Metry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (518)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 518 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

One of the best hotel experiences we've had. Our trip was last fall and found ourselves, in their lobby without a reservation - we had mistakenly made a reservation someplace else. The team was so much more than helpful in accommodating and welcoming us. It was our second visit and we are planning on a third. The location and views are some of the best in the world. And meals, which were included in our stay, were quite memorable - highly recommended.

Many thanks to the whole team! See you soon!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RICHARD B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schonegg, Owner at Chalet Hotel Schoenegg, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear “Richard B”

Thank you very much for your lovely comment on TripAdvisor! It is great, that you appreciate your stay at the Chalet Hotel Schönegg. We especially like your compliments to our staff. They always do their best for our guest. Our philosophy is to do the best we can to make our guests stay even more memorable. If not we always encourage our costumers to tell us their complains as long as they are with us, so we can react. A complain after a visit @ the Chalet Hotel Schönegg is very difficult to solve.

We are happy, that you highlight the #schöneggview in you comment. This is our big advantage and we are very happy to have such a nice location. Thank you for this!


We are looking forward to your third stay with us! Please make sure you book directly at our hotel’s website to get the best deal. There are always some additional service included or special gifts…

We look forward to welcoming you hopefully soon back at the Chalet Hotel Schönegg.
#schöneggview #chalethotelschönegg

Best wishes and see you soon

Anna & Sebastian Metry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The hotel is really very lovely and we found the staff to be a delight! Our room was comfortable but the bathroom was quite small, however that is not unusual for an older European hotel and it certainly didn't cause us discomfort. My husband and I did laugh a bit at the half glass partition in the shower (which is also common in Europe) as we had a bit of a flood after each shower!!

The view is so amazing from the hotel and I highly recommend a room with a Matterhorn view - there is just something so serene about waking up and sitting on your deck looking out at the magnificent scenery which of course includes the Matterhorn. I recommend a room on the first floor as you not only get the view but can use the stairs to come and go as the elevator is quite small and at times busy...you lose nothing with the view as the hotel,sits so high.

Enjoy your stay!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twotouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schonegg, Owner at Chalet Hotel Schoenegg, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Twotouch

Thank you very much for your lovely comment on TripAdvisor! We are very happy, that you enjoyed your stay at the Chalet Hotel Schönegg! We are sorry for the little water splash form the shower. We are currently thinking of a solution for that.

We are very glad, that you liked the view from our hotel. Indeed, we are very luxky with the exposure of the hotel! A room with view to the Matterhorn is definitely a big advantage!

We are looking forward to your next stay with us! Please make sure you book directely at our hotel’s website to get the best deal. There are always some additional service included or special gifts…

We look forward to welcoming you hopefully soon back at the Chalet Hotel Schönegg.
#schöneggview #chalethotelschönegg

Best wishes and see you soon

Anna & Sebastian Metry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This was my second visit to Chalet Hotel Schoenegg and it was as perfect as the first. Zermatt in the summer is beautiful, especially from the lovely sunny terrace of Chalet Hotel Schoenegg. This time we took my husband's mother. The team at Chalet Hotel Schoenegg looked after her very nicely when she did not wish to come walking with us. I enjoyed every meal and especially the daily wine recommendations made by Sebastian. Cannot wait until my next visit .

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SNMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schonegg, Owner at Chalet Hotel Schoenegg, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear „SNMT“
It is always a big pleasure to read from you. Only welcoming you at the Chalet Hotel Schönegg is better... ;)
We are very happy, that you enjoyed your time in Zermatt. We hope your mother was as well satisfied with her trip to Zermatt. It is our pleasure to make everything (that is possible) happen for our clients and their friends!
I’m glad you like my wine recommendations! Let’s talk together next time, maybe we can organise a small degustation of some nice local wines.

We are looking forward to welcoming you next winter, hopefully, back at the Chalet Hotel Schönegg. For your booking check our website. You will get some special discount and gifts as from this winter (2013/14) on...

Sunny wishes from the Schönegg view.

Anna & Sebastian Metry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

A great hotel with great views ! We had a beautiful room on the top floor with a balcony looking out on the Matterhorn. The hotel has the best views of the Matterhorn because it sits up high outside of the cute little downtown area.

The staff was super attentive, especially Anna at the front desk. They even had a fruit plate waiting for us when we checked in. The breakfast was fantastic -- probably one of the best hotel breakfasts we had on the trip.

Lovely hotel with great service. Couldn't recommend it more highly. If you can, request a room with a view. It is well worth it!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wordlytraveler95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schonegg, Owner at Chalet Hotel Schoenegg, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear “wordlytraveler95“

We thank you very much for your second review about our hotel on TripAdvisor! English is definitely easier then Czech for me to answer!;)

I will transmit your compliments to my sister, Anna. She is a sweetheart indeed!

We hope, that you will be coming back to Zermatt soon! Please identify you, so we can add another special treatment to you as a returning costumer!

For your next booking we remind you to use our proper website. We guarantee the best price here! If you find it cheaper somewhere else, we will make the same price and add a gift! Book early and get your benefit!

Best regards and see you soon @ the Chalet Hotel Schönegg. In the meantime check our web cam in order to not get Schönegg home sick. ;)

Anna & Sebastian Metry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Just had a delightful couple of days in Zermatt courtesy of the Chalet Hotel Schonegg. The stay began with the drive though the tunnel to the lift which takes you up to the hotel. Kids loved it and it set a good tone to the holiday. Very friendly staff and the view from the dining room and terrace was spectacular. For skiers it was a very easy jaunt to the Sunnegga lift and a nice walk to the old town. Traveling with small children can be a little tiring but the staff were very kind to them the whole time, making conversation, showing them how they made the orange juice in the morning. For those who prefer a more contemporary feel in their hotels, this is definitely Alpine traditional but if that's what you're after this is the place.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schonegg, Manager at Chalet Hotel Schoenegg, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear „Sian C“
Thank you very much for your lovely review on TripAdvisor.

Our private tunnel and elevator is a big advantage for our guest. Thanks to this our guest benefit from a calm location with a great view over Zermatt and towards the Matterhorn and in the same time one is very quickly in the center of Zermatt or at the departure of the ski areas.
We always try to treat our little guests in a nice way. Our staff is encouraged to be friendly and delightful but discreet to our costumer. We are happy that you liked this experience!

We are very much looking forward to welcoming you soon again at the Chalet Hotel Schönegg!

Best regards from Zermatt

Anna & Sebastian Metry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

When collected from the train station by electric car as all transport is in Zermatt-you are taken to the hotel, which is high above the town, via a tunnel and the a lift to reception, almost James Bondish.
We had a large room with a view of the Matterhorn and a balcony. There was a bowl of fruit and water supplied.
Staff very friendly and like most places in Switzerland their command of English puts us to shame.
Food was good but dinner as in Switzerland was pricey. There are many restaurants in the town.
We were lucky as the Zermatt music festival (Zermatt unplugged) was just finishing and on the Sunday lunch time we had the Ronnie Scott All Stars playing just below our window.

Room Tip: Definitely arrange to be picked up at the station as this is a service offered.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter A D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schonegg, Owner at Chalet Hotel Schoenegg, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Dear „Peter A D“

Thank you very much for your nice review on TripAdvisor! We are very glad, that you enjoyed your time as our guest in Zermatt! Our “James Bond” entrance is indeed very important to us. Above Zermatt we benefit from a unique view over Zermatt. Thanks to the elevator and the tunnel we are very close to the center of the town!
The Zermatt Unplugged is a great festival! Cool that you had time to enjoy a concert! The festival always finishes on our terrace for a brunch. Looking forward to welcoming you back @ the Chalet Hotel Schönegg next winter!!
Best regards from Zermatt

Anna & Sebastian Metry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.2 mi away
Schlosshotel Life & Style
0.5 mi away
Hotel Firefly
Hotel Firefly
#3 of 110 in Zermatt
518 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parkhotel Beau Site
Parkhotel Beau Site
#9 of 110 in Zermatt
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BELLERIVE - CHIC HIDEAWAY
BELLERIVE - CHIC HIDEAWAY
#2 of 110 in Zermatt
468 reviews
0.1 mi away
CERVO Zermatt
CERVO Zermatt
#6 of 110 in Zermatt
677 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alpenlodge
Alpenlodge
#12 of 110 in Zermatt
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Hotel Schoenegg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Hotel Schoenegg

Address: Riedweg 35, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland (Formerly Grand Hotel Schoenegg)
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#7 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#9 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#9 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#18 Family Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range: £183 - £398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chalet Hotel Schoenegg 4.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Chalet Hotel Schoenegg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing