We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A decent hotel, but a renovation would be indicated”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Antares

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Antares
Ranked #77 of 109 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A decent hotel, but a renovation would be indicated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

I stayed at the Antares hotel for a week and it was a mixed experience:

- The personnel are very friendly and try their best to be helpful

- The location is great if your main focus is on skiing (100m from the Matterhorn Express base station) / E-Bus terminal. The flip side is that if you also enjoy spending the evening in town, it's a +/- 15 minutes walk each way... (of course the possibility of hiring a taxi remains).

- The general aspect of the hotel is 'old-ish', and gives an impression of a time capsule to an earlier decennia (70's? 80's?), with carpets and furnishings praying for a refreshment and a slightly 'stuffy' feeling to the general environment. Obviously this is a question of taste... However the dysfunctional vintage radio / clock in the bed headboard, and the discolored, stained lamp-shade do nothing to dispel the feeling that this hotel has seen better days and would appreciate a caring hand.

- Cleanliness: The hair dryer and the TV stand were dusty when I arrived, and remained so until I left. In general though, it did appear that hygiene standards were met.

- My impression is that it is an operation running on a shoestring budget. A few examples: Everybody was very insistent that I should add the half-board to my reservation ("if you buy it now it will only be 30CHF per day, otherwise it will cost you 65"). The bathroom soap was only replenished when the initial bar had less than 1mm left and was left remaining in full view, empty bottles of conditioner / shower gel weren't replaced. And the last day I was actually asked to pay for the drive to the station (10CHF - to be prepaid at the reception!), with the comment that in any case this would be cheaper than a regular taxi (usual price 15 - 17 CHF...). I've stayed in numerous hotels in Zermatt (15+) and this was an absolute first (usually I just leave the hotel driver a similar tip)

- Additionally, if you do book here, beware of booking through various websites (booking.com, Zermatt.ch,...), as this seems to be a source of grief: requirement to change rooms during the stay (room planning optimizer!), reservation not transferred from booking web-site. This is why I only give an 'average' for service.

Will I return? Sadly, probably not, since this does not correspond to a 4* experience, rather an 'old-ish' 3* affair. However, with a deep-going renovation and a little inspiration from other hotels, this could be a gem of a hotel :)

In conclusion, tastes in hotels differ, but in my mind, this hotel sadly doesn't deserve 4* anymore

Room Tip: Great Matterhorn view on the south side
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NicDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    44
    23
    8
    7
See reviews for
27
67
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NANCY
Level Contributor
121 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

We are not really satisfied of our stay in this hotel.
At first all started well and the staff was pleasant and helpful.
Rooms are standard without any special decoration or personalized feeling.
Yes, beverages in the fridge are free, but the fridge was not cold. that's one point.
Moreover, we came back from restaurant at 11/30 and decided to take a last drink in the room with 2 friends.
We went on the balcony for smoking and just after 2 minutes somebody started to shout on us from another room. (we were not screaming and the volume of our talk was really respectful)...
So we decided not to reply to the neighbor..
After 2 more minutes, a guy from the hotel went outside and was telling us that we need to decrease the volume or he will call the police..We said OK and apologized for the inconvenient.
5 minutes later the guy was in our room on the balcony with us telling us that we cannot continue talking outside for a cigarette.
Never seen before that employee of the hotel comes in your room without calling at the phone at first or to knock at the door!
For 300CHF per night, I can tell you to choose another resort! Never ever!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZAZA1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the Antares in early January 2014 - we really loved it.
Zermatt is so beautiful, it is just the ticket for a superb ski holiday. We were also blessed with blue sky and great snow.
Monica, the owner, is very welcoming. The food is fantastic - 5 star plus..
The afternoon tea is great, with lovely cakes and puddings.The spa area is wonderful and really clean. Our room was a little small, but next time we will go for bigger bedroom overlooking the Matterhorn.
I'm sure we will be coming back to Antares another year (we only had a week stay) so next time we will do a fortnight
Monica, you have a stunning place, keep it as it is, it is unique.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravelCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Warm welcome from the owner. Dinner B&B excellent value for money. Magnificent views. Rooms are not very big but perfectly adequate. Bathrooms have been refreshed. Close to cable car but about a ten mins walk to Main Street.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Looking for a restaurant with super Italian inspired food and a price level affordable for all? Go to Hotel Antares near the Matterhorn Express Lift. We twice had the three courses menu of the day, absolutely delicious and light, served in a warm and cozy atmosphere. Direct views of Matterhorn! We had wonderful conversations with the charming owner who really take cares of her guests.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C_M_Kirkeby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

My wife and I spent a few days there recently and were thoroughly pleased with a nice hotel and lovely staff.

A bonus being that it is a little away from The Madding Crowd and near chairlift.

The receptionist is charming and all the facilities of good quality.

Room Tip: Ask for view of Matterhorn
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

Great place to stay. Literally couldn't be any closer to the mountain, only 2 min walk from gondola & rental shop. 10 Min walk from the town. Hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Matterhorn View
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jared S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Berghof Zermatt
Hotel Berghof Zermatt
#76 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bijou Hotel
Bijou Hotel
#71 of 109 in Zermatt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plateau Rosa
Hotel Plateau Rosa
#70 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Alpenblick
Alpenblick
#62 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sonne Zermatt
Hotel Sonne Zermatt
#21 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#38 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Antares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Antares

Property: Hotel Antares
Address: Schluhmattstrasse 101, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#45 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#46 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#48 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Antares 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Antares reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antares Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing