We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location and a nice view of the Matterhorn”
Review of Hotel La Couronne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel La Couronne
Ranked #46 of 111 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights in July.
The hotel is only a 10 minute walk from the railway station but they do have a porter service.

The rooms were very clean, the television had over 100 international channels and free high speed Wi-Fi. The beds were too soft for our liking. The balcony view of the Matterhorn was nice.

Breakfast was taken in a nice conservatory which also had a view of the Matterhorn. It consisted of a small selection of hot food plus cold meats, cheeses, yoghurts etc...

The reception and breakfast staff were friendly and we would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a quiet and relaxing stay in Zermatt.

Room Tip: Book a room with a Matterhorn view
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pmd76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (245)
There are newer reviews for Hotel La Couronne
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 245 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2011

My 13-year-old son and I stayed two nights at this hotel on June 2011. The room was clean and had enough space for every thing. The view from our balcony was fantastic.
We also had free WiFi in our room. All staff rendered good services. The breakfast was also high standard for European hotel.
The hotel was in good location, in the middle of Zermatt, where you can easily walk around the town. You can take a nice picture of Matterhorn just in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank borvornchai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2011

We stayed briefly at La Couronne but it was a great experience. The staff were friendly and welcoming. The room was comfortable with very clean linens and good beds. We had a nice view even on the non-Matterhorn side. Breakfast was superb with good coffee, fresh berries and all types of fresh bread.
Good ski storage facilities with CCTV which is nice as at another hotel someone mistook my boots for theirs, even if only briefly, but could have been dreadful.
We would definitely return.
The hotel restaurant, Old Zermatt, does a slap-up lunch and is a good sun spot on warm days. Very close to all that is happening in Zermatt.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SouthernTravelGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2011

We have booked the 2nd time the ski fun week, that includes room, breakfast, skirental and 6 day skipass. The service is very friendly, the breakfast buffet great and the location is good too. The restaurant and bar located in the same building, but under different management is quite average. However the hotel Couronne itself and its staff is a great place to go for a skiweek.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ReginaCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2011

Hotels in Zermatt are not cheap, and if you can find great value in a terrific location you might want to share it. We felt we really lucked out with Hotel La Couronne. Zermatt is a carfree town, and you rely on ski buses or walking to get around. Skiing in Zermatt means a choice of three very dispersed skilifts at opposite ends of the town, so being close to a skibus stop will become essential. La Couronne is at the intersection of the two skibus lines, and a five minute walk to the town center itself. The neighbourhood around the hotel offers a few great dining choices, including a very authentic Italian pizzeria.
Our rooms were very spacious - we had two rooms (one for the adults, one for the kids) and both had a separate seating area. One of the rooms had a balcony with a view towards the world-famous Matterhorn, and both had modern bathrooms.
Breakfast buffet at the hotel was included, and was delicious with a variety of breads, cold cuts, cheeses, cereal, eggs, yoghurt etc.
But best of all was the set up for skiers. There is a ski shop attached to the hotel, where you get a 20% discount on ski rental, and 10% on merchandise. The ski room in the hotel is accessible via a separate elevator, and connects to the lower-level street where the skibuses stops. So no lugging around of heavy skiis, which was particularly appreciated by our kids. And you can buy the skipasses and lift tickets right at the reception desk, which saves you lining up at the skilifts,
The hotel has a little seating area adjacent to the lobby where they have games and cards available, two (free) computers connected to the Internet, and a restaurant. We only had dinner once at the restaurant, and it was o.k., but not great. I would not recommend to add the daily dinner plan to your room booking (although it is very reasonably priced).
Overall, I would very much recommend the hotel for its location, service friendliness, and size of rooms.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelandLearn_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2011

A lovely hotel in an excellent position, clean and well maintained. Lovely continental breakfast. Lovely bedrooms with excellent views of the Matterhorn. Very friendly staff. We had a lovely Christmas night dinner in the ajoining restaurant " Old Zermatt " but unfortunatly they allowed smoking in the bar and it was extremely smokey, There was not a bar in the Hotel so this would be my only complaint.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbaraBendon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2010

Room at top of hotel without balcony. Room was finished with a lot of oak and looked good quality. Good breakfast and close to all the key facilities in the town. room a bit too hot needing radiators to be turned off and window left slighlty ajar. Hate the pillows but that was the same in all 4 diferent hotels. Would I go back - YES

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keithnchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#37 of 111 in Zermatt
342 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Parnass
Hotel Parnass
#23 of 111 in Zermatt
373 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aristella swissflair
Hotel Aristella swissflair
#34 of 111 in Zermatt
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eden Wellness
Hotel Eden Wellness
#18 of 111 in Zermatt
285 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Butterfly
0.1 mi away
Jaegerhof Hotel & Apartements
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Couronne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Couronne

Address: Kirchstrasse 17, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
#29 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#32 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#43 Family Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range: £134 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel La Couronne 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LA COURONNE offers breathtaking Matterhorn views. The Hotel is located in a sunny and quiet place in the heart of Zermatt, the mountain railways can easily be reached on foot or by bus. Enjoy breakfast in the beautiful winter garden with its unique atmosphere and let yourself be spoiled at our restaurant OLD ZERMATT where we serve fresh cuisine and good wine. A vegetarian menu is also offered, gluten free dishes are available. SLALOM SPORT is situated in the same complex and offers hotel guests special discounts. After a great day out in the fresh mountain air, you can relax in the sauna. Free wireless internet is available in the entire hotel LA COURONNE. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel La Couronne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Couronne Hotel
La Couronne Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing