We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“we loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Daniela

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Daniela
Ranked #47 of 109 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
alberta
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“we loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

We travelled around Europe for 3 weeks and this was the best hotel we stayed at. There was free transportation from the train station. (see the hotel listing sign with the phone near the tracks) We had a big room with a large balcony. We stayed at the Daniela in the off season (May) and loved it.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goneAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    99
    9
    6
    4
See reviews for
73
134
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2011

It was a wonderful hotel - my room was very roomy and quiet with a great view of the Matterhorn. Free wi-fi and a mini-bar (very overpriced so watch out), slippers and bathrobe. Very luxurious compared to all other places I stayed during my trip.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank takayaV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cupertino, CA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2010

The hotel has very nice rooms. From many you can view the Matterhorn!. Small lobby, no restaurant, but there are many next door. Excellent breakfast. Good service.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2010

We stayed here at the end of a two week long backpacking trip and it was great. The location was fine, a bit from the train station but certainly easily walked. We had a great breakfast and the staff was so helpful. They answered all our questions, helped us to make reservations and even packed us a breakfast when we had to leave prior to breakfast on our day of departure. The robes in the room were a great treat and we had a view of sheep outside our room window! It was a great value.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PDKDP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avon Lake, Ohio
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2010

This is my 3rd visit to the Hotel Daniela in the last 5 years. The location is good with rooms having balconies with a Matterhorn view.This trip we traveled with our 22 year old daughter and had a 2 bdrm suite with kitchen, and living area which was very nice. The breakfast room is prettyy and is very homey. The little bar area off the lobby is also cozy with a nice fireplace and seating.The breakfast is fairly extensive and very good. The staff is friendly and helpful with suggestions on sightseeing. Also, enjoyed the fabulous, huge indoor pool at the sister Hotel Julen a few doors up the street. Great way to relax in the evening.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank makib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2010

The Hotel Daniela probably would have been good (the room was really an apartment and very big) but a building was being torn down (complete with jack hammers) from 7AM to nightfall right next door. Sleep or rest was pretty much impossible unless you got up when the workers arrived.
What made this worse is that we actually had made a reservation at the sister/parent hotel Romantik Hotel Julen but received an e-mail saying that the one elevator was out and they offered to put us in the Daniela. No mention was made of any construction and when I complained to the parent hotel the answer was "We don't have to tell you." So, as nice as it could be, beware.

Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank katesjourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2010

Stayed here for ski week. Location: 5 minute walk to centre of town, 3 minute walk to ski bus or a 10 minute walk to Sunegga lift. Hotel taxi will pick you up at Train station when you arrive.

Room: stayed in room 301, great view from balcony of Matterhorn, relatively basic room and bath with small sitting area. Very clean and modern bathroom. Highly recommend the half-board. Breakfasts are at this hotel - everything you could want - cereals, breads, meats, cheeses, eggs, fresh squeezed OJ, coffee, teas etc. Dinners are at sister hotel - Romantik Julen, a two minute walk up the street. All dinners are five courses and quite gourmet actually. Extremely impressed with the food here. Unfinished wine awaits you at your table the next evening. You can also use spa and pool of sister hotel for no charge. Overall, this hotel has worked out very well for us.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mgdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.1 mi away
Romantik Hotel Julen
Romantik Hotel Julen
#16 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jaegerhof Hotel & Apartements
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alpenhof
Hotel Alpenhof
#14 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#38 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Butterfly
0.4 mi away
Fleurs de Zermatt
Fleurs de Zermatt
#24 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Daniela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Daniela

Property: Hotel Daniela
Address: Steinmattstrasse 39, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Zermatt
#29 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#31 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#33 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#37 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Daniela 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Daniela may be small, but it has a lot to offer. Situated just 10 minutes away from the mountain lifts and the train station in a quiet location, the 24 cozy single, double and family rooms are all equipped with their own bathroom/WC, minibar, telephone, radio, WLAN, cable TV and safe. The bathrooms all have a hairdryer, free cosmetic articles and bathrobes, free of charge. The generous breakfast buffet will set you up for an exciting day and free coffee, tea and cakes can be taken in front of the fireplace in the lobby throughout the day. Dine Around in the Tradition Julen: Half-board guests can have the best of both worlds and have their evening meal either in the Romantik Hotel Julen, where a 5-course selection menu is served, or at the Hotel Alpenhof, where a 5-course selection menu is served. Those who prefer ,,A la Carte" can enjoy local specialties in the traditional Schaferstube restaurant or they can enjoy delicious dishes at the Restaurant Julen. Wellness Around Tradition Julen: Guests staying at Hotel Daniela have free entry to the Julen SPA in the Romantik Hotel Julen or the Alpenhof SPA in the Wellness Hotel Alpenhof. Every Wednesday during the high season the family run business offers you a free visit to their herd of black nose sheep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotel.de, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Daniela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daniela Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing