We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy Hotel, Great Service, Good Value”
Review of Hotel Daniela

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Daniela
Ranked #47 of 109 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Cozy Hotel, Great Service, Good Value”
Reviewed 27 October 2012

I recently stayed at the Hotel Daniela for two nights. The hotel is located near the river just a few minutes walk from the main street through Zermatt. Upon arrival in the late morning, we were greeted by two young ladies who were very cheerful and welcoming. Our rooms weren't ready, but they suggested that we have breakfast (no additional charge) in the adjacent breakfast room while we waited for our rooms to be prepared. The breakfast room was bright and cheery with beautiful Swiss decor. The breakfast buffet consisted of hot and cold options including scrambled eggs, cold cuts, smoked salmon, cheeses, fresh fruit, yogurt, a variety of breads and pastries, in addition to coffee, tea, fresh orange juice, and a variety of other juices. The staff in the breakfast room provided excellent service.

I was assigned a corner double room on the second floor. The room was very spacious and cozy with a "rustic" feel but with contemporary decor. There was an accessible deck that wrapped around the outside of the room. The room had a flat screen TV with several English language channels. There were two cabinets with plenty of space to store clothes and other items.

The bathroom was of good size and was clean, although the fixtures were quite dated. The only thing I disliked about the bathroom was the shower curtain that needed to be replaced as it was discolored and had mildew along the bottom of the curtain.

Overall, I really enjoyed my stay at the Hotel Daniela. As others have mentioned, the most redeeming quality of this hotel is it's staff, especially the ladies who worked at reception. They were very helpful in providing information about Zermatt and were always cheery with smiles. They always said hello whenever they saw us. Add to this the cozy and comfortable rooms at reasonable rates (especially for Switzerland) and you can't do better than the Hotel Daniela!

GETTING THERE

The hotel offers free shuttle service from the railway station. Either make arrangements with the hotel in advance or simply call reception when you arrive at the train station and someone will come to pick you up. Alternatively, you can take a taxi (about 17 Swiss francs) or you could even walk if you don't have much luggage. When you exit the train station, turn right and walk up Bahnhof Strasse (the main shopping street) until you reach Hofmattstrasse (there's a deli / butcher shop on your left). Turn left and continue down the street and across the river. This street is Zurn Steg. Walk about 100 feet and turn right on Steinmattstrasse. The hotel is about 200 yards further on your left.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelstuff0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    99
    9
    6
    4
See reviews for
73
134
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

We had a wonderful two night stay at Hotel Daniela with a view of Matterhorn. The hotel is an easy 10 mins walk from the train station. Porter service can be provided if you have a lot of luggage. The rooms were cozy and comfortable. Breakfast was delicious. Service was exceptional. The washroom needed some updating but it was clean anyhow.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hktraveller111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2012

I stayed only one night for this lovely and cosy hotel and I should have stayed more than one night.

Breakfast is wonderful and room including the facilities is so nice.

I surely recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JisunKang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anoka, Minnesota
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

With exceptional service to every detail, the Julen family has most other hotels beat. This is what makes a hotel extraordinary! We were surprised when the girls, Sophia and Rebecca, upgraded us to a 2 level suite complete with fireplace and loft. This jewel of a hotel has quality staff who lovingly cares for you as if you were family. During our vacation we stayed in 5 hotels so far but none can touch the warmth this hotel radiates. A driver picks you up and returns you to the train station. They will happily try to accommodate or anticipate your needs. Beautifully decorated, wonderful breakfast and great spa down the street is available for your free usage. We have 4 more hotels to visit and i can only hope the royal treatment continues. Thank you Sophia, Rebecca, Jeannine and the gal who took good care of us at breakfast. By the way, dinners at the sister hotel Julen are excellent. Too bad the girl at the bar wasn't very pleasant to us as we waited for dinner.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boopy04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
massachusetts
Level Contributor
89 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Daniela in Zermatt for 2 nights in July and would recommend it highly. We were in room 302 which had a balcony with an excellent Matterhorn view. We had told them that we were celebrating our anniversary and they spread rose petals (artificial) all over our bed with a big heart in the middle. It was very nice! The hotel is located in a quiet area away from the center of town but no more than a 5 minute walk to anything. It is a small hotel, seemingly like most in Zermatt, and you are able to use the excellent pool and spa at their sister hotel Romantik Hotel Julen. The spa was great; I loved the aromatic steam bath and the grotto pool. The staff were very helpful in arranging a sunset dinner at the Cornergrat, and the service overall was great. I would definitely stay here again, and I would request the same room.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nottnott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Nice hotel in great location in a quiet street at the top end of town. Easy access to train station (10 min walk or 2 minutes in the free hotel shuttle) and 5 minutes walk to the matterhorn cable car station. The train station part of town is very touristy whereas this area is more relaxed and still has plenty of bars and restaurants. The rooms are big with a sofa and a balcony and breakfast is great. Some of the higher rooms have views of the mountains but ours just looked out over the neighbouring hotels. Good value for money as many hotels in zermatt are very expensive.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyW_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

I am writing this review after 2.5 yrs of travel, but my sweet memories of staying at this hotel pushed me overcome my laziness to write this review.:)
Loved the hotel, the room, the wooden roofs, that bath..the hospitality, the food..everything!!
We stayed in this hotel from 2-4 Dec 2009.

We were on a honeymoon, apart from keeping the room so beautiful and tidy, these guys also gifted us an authentic swiss cuisine recipe book, which will stay with us for our life..
Really cherish our experience of staying at Hotel Daniela, will definitely stay here again in case we visit Swiss again ever.

I would specially like to thank 'swissfan' for suggesting me this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a suite on top, with wooden slanted roof
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lipikan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.1 mi away
Romantik Hotel Julen
Romantik Hotel Julen
#13 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jaegerhof Hotel & Apartements
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alpenhof
Hotel Alpenhof
#15 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#38 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Butterfly
0.4 mi away
Fleurs de Zermatt
Fleurs de Zermatt
#28 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Daniela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Daniela

Property: Hotel Daniela
Address: Steinmattstrasse 39, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Zermatt
#28 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#31 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#33 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#37 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Daniela 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Daniela may be small, but it has a lot to offer. Situated just 10 minutes away from the mountain lifts and the train station in a quiet location, the 24 cozy single, double and family rooms are all equipped with their own bathroom/WC, minibar, telephone, radio, WLAN, cable TV and safe. The bathrooms all have a hairdryer, free cosmetic articles and bathrobes, free of charge. The generous breakfast buffet will set you up for an exciting day and free coffee, tea and cakes can be taken in front of the fireplace in the lobby throughout the day. Dine Around in the Tradition Julen: Half-board guests can have the best of both worlds and have their evening meal either in the Romantik Hotel Julen, where a 5-course selection menu is served, or at the Hotel Alpenhof, where a 5-course selection menu is served. Those who prefer ,,A la Carte" can enjoy local specialties in the traditional Schaferstube restaurant or they can enjoy delicious dishes at the Restaurant Julen. Wellness Around Tradition Julen: Guests staying at Hotel Daniela have free entry to the Julen SPA in the Romantik Hotel Julen or the Alpenhof SPA in the Wellness Hotel Alpenhof. Every Wednesday during the high season the family run business offers you a free visit to their herd of black nose sheep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Daniela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daniela Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing