We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and welcoming hotel - it is really all you could ask for!”
Review of Hotel Daniela

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Daniela
Ranked #44 of 111 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The hotel picked us up at the train station and the check-in was very fast. Free coffee and cakes in the lobby, very helpful reception staff, room with a splendid view and balcony, comfortable beds (fold out sofa very soft only suitable for kids), plenty of wardrobe space. Clean bathroom. First fill of minibar included in room price. We also visited the spa/pool in the sister-hotel and that was a very good experience (shower in your room before you go there if you want to have a privat shower, only common showers availible at the pool). The restaurant at the sister-hotel is very good and the staff extremly helpfull and genuinly wants you to have a good experience. We recommend this hotel without any hesitation, and we will surely book here again if we return to Zermatt!.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Matterhorn is of course the best choice, we had 302 which was perfect in that aspect.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank MarinaE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Familie-Julen, Inhaber at Hotel Daniela, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

We appreciate your comments about our hotel - a big thank you!
Sending you best regards from the Matterhorn village

Family Julen and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (318)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Daniela
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 318 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

This was one of four hotels that we stayed while traveling through Switzerland, all within a similar price range, and this was by far the best. The staff was polite and met our every need. The free breakfast was much appreciated and served in a charming dining area. The location of the hotel was very central to Zermatt shopping and activities. This property is also one of about five others that are all run by the same family, including some restaurants, which gets you some further perks that you can take advantage of. If the Matterhorn had actually been visible at all through the clouds, we would have had a very nice view from our balcony as well. My family and I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Request a Matterhorn view.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank tahoeshepherds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Familie-Julen, Inhaber at Hotel Daniela, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you so much for your beautiful description about our guest services. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with your family.
And of course we are looking forward to seeing you again,

Best regards from the Matterhorn village

Family Julen and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Lovely hotel. Centrally located. Beautiful rooms. Lots of nice extras - robes, slippers, toiletries. The spa at the sister hotel (which guests can use) is amazing and very close by. About 100 metres. Staff very friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DebbieConsani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Familie-Julen, Inhaber at Hotel Daniela, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Debbie and family

we are happy you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Daniela. Thank you so much for your lovely review. We appreciate it.

All the best and many greetings from Zermatt

Family Julen and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Family owned hotel in Zermatt. Our room looks at the Matterhorn and of the hotels we have stayed at this trip this by far the nicest. Corner room with wrap around balcony. Quiet street, little noise nicely furnished. Will definitely recommend and return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noblehouse47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Familie-Julen, Inhaber at Hotel Daniela, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Thank you very much for your lovely review and the beautiful compliments! We are very happy you enjoyed your stay and we are looking forward to welcome you again.

Best wishes from Zermatt

Family Julen and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

What a great hotel in Zermatt. My 13 year old son and I recently stayed at this hotel and loved every minute of it. The hotel is centrally located in the heart of Zermatt. The staff are over the top friendly and helpful (Andy at the front desk was wonderful). The hotel is clean and the rooms are spacious, functional and well appointed. The breakfast was also fantastic. Can't wait to return to this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view of the Matterhorn
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobTravels1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Familie-Julen, Inhaber at Hotel Daniela, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Rob,
thank you very much for your lovely review! We were very happy to read it. And it will be a pleasure to host you and your son again,

all the best

Family Julen and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

This hotel is relatively central to and within easy walking distance of everything...the train station, shopping, restaurants, supermarket, gondolas, etc... Our room was big, clean, and nice. The carpet is...interesting...but carpet is for walking on. The hotel was very reasonably priced and the breakfast was excellent. Highly recommend for anyone planning to stay in Zermatt.

Room Tip: Get a room with a corner balcony - adds a nice touch.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GEO_001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Familie-Julen, Inhaber at Hotel Daniela, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you very much for your nice and helpful review and lovely recommendation! We are happy you enjoyed the stay at the Hotel Daniela.

Sending you a lot greetings from the Matterhorn village

Family Julen and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The most welcome we have felt after six weeks travel. The young lady on reception was wonderful and could not do enough for us. Great room, we had to leave before breakfast and they made us an excellent takeaway meal, wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Neville G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Familie-Julen, Inhaber at Hotel Daniela, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you for the nice compliment(s)!
We are proud to be a favorite hotel during your 6 weeks travel!
Enjoy your further journey and all the best from Zermatt

Family Julen and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.1 mi away
Romantik Hotel Julen
Romantik Hotel Julen
#18 of 111 in Zermatt
449 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aristella swissflair
Hotel Aristella swissflair
#34 of 111 in Zermatt
298 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alpenhof
Hotel Alpenhof
#16 of 111 in Zermatt
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#38 of 111 in Zermatt
344 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fleurs de Zermatt
Fleurs de Zermatt
#30 of 111 in Zermatt
210 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Butterfly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Daniela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Daniela

Address: Steinmattstrasse 39, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Zermatt
#27 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#28 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#32 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#37 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range: £152 - £439 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Daniela 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Daniela may be small, but it has a lot to offer. Situated just 10 minutes away from the mountain lifts and the train station in a quiet location, the 23 renovated single, double and family rooms are all equipped with their own bathroom/WC, minibar, telephone, radio, WLAN, cable TV and safe. The bathrooms all have a hairdryer, free cosmetic articles and bathrobes, free of charge. The generous breakfast buffet will set you up for an exciting day. Dine Around in the Tradition Julen: Half-board guests can have the best of both worlds and have their evening meal either in the Romantik Hotel Julen or at the Hotel Alpenhof, where delicious 5-course selection menus are served. Wellness Around Tradition Julen: Guests staying at Hotel Daniela have free entry to the Julen SPA in the Romantik Hotel Julen or the Alpenhof SPA in the Wellness Hotel Alpenhof. Every Wednesday during the high season the family run business offers you a free visit to their herd of black nose sheep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Daniela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daniela Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing