We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a true gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Daniela

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Daniela
Ranked #46 of 109 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“a true gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2010

We stayed at the Daniela a while ago (Nov 2008), but I've only recently become a tripadvisor member and I think it deserves a review... We were living in Zurich at the time and decided at the last minute to go to Zermatt over Thanksgiving. We were lucky to book the last available room at the Daniela. To be honest, I was a bit apprehensive, as we were originally looking for a nicer, more sophisticated hotel, but they were full. We were pleasantly surprised with the Daniela. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The room/bathroom looked a bit run down, but they were clean and comfortable. Most special was the full view of the Matterhorn from our window/balcony. I don't remember the price we paid, but I do remember that we thought it was a great value for what we got. Our train was delayed so the complimentary hotel pick-up from the train station was no longer available, but it was no problem getting a taxi outside the station. The hotel is also in a great location, within short walking distance to the main street in town. We would definitely stay here again. (We had our Thanksgiving dinner at the Whymper-Stube restaurant - nice owners, very cozy and great fondue!)

Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank sancrispino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    99
    9
    6
    4
See reviews for
73
134
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
alameda
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2009

spent a nite at the Hotel Daniela and my experience was mostly good. Small hotel/B&B located within walking distance to everything, They have a Van that picks you up from the train station on arrival and also takes you back, Breakfast was very scrumptious. Rooms were small but comfortable. Front desk was not always staffed but it didnt create any problems- Bellman checked us in and we gave our credit card at check out.
Hotel offers a very fabulous 5 course dinner at the restaurant Schäferstube for 30 Swiss francs pp- well worth the money. I would reccomend this wholeheatedly.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ready2travel09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2009

Stayed 2 nights here and had a matterhorn view room. Took advice from other travellers and opted for half board which was good advice. Good food and attentive service. Pick and drop off at the station was easy from Zermatt station, just locate the information board at the end of the platform and punch in the numer for the Daniela and they'll be there to get you.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pethouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Quebec
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2009

We only stayed here for one night and were out most of the time so didn't really have any interaction with the staff but we were very impressed with the size and comfort of the room for the price. On top of that we could have used the pool at the sister hotel if we had stayed longer. My partner is in a wheelchair and the bathroom was very well adapted. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adventuress08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2009

My husband and I visited Daniela last New Year's Eve and had a great time! The atmosphere was very cosy and pleasant, it felt really like we were at home with friends. The staff is very helpful and friendly. We had a small accident at skiing and they helped us find a taxi and a hospital in the middle of the night.

Great experience overall!

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Efoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Mountains
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2009

Hotel La Darsena was a fantastic treat for us on our 8 week holiday. We had a 2 storey room (more like an appartment) with 2 bathrooms one downstairs and one upstairs, a lounge area, study nook and 2 balconies with the most amazing view of the Matterhorn. The only complaint about the room we had were the huge pillows that went flat once your head lay on them. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the breakfast room was lovely and the breakfast selection was varied and plentiful. An added bonus was the free internet at their sister hotel Julen 30 metres up the road.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aged65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2009

The hotel was fantastic. My wife and I stayed in the suite on which was spread over the top two floors of the hotel. The lower floor had a living room, study table, a balcony and a bathroom. A staircase led to the upper floor which had a beautiful bedroom, sofas, dressing area, a study table and another bathroom. The upper room also had another big balcony.

Both the baconys had splendid views of the matterhorn.

The room itself was very traditional, beautiful and romantic. TV was good, and facilities in the bathroom were perfect.

The room was very clean and well mantained. Breakfast spread was good though there werent any warm options for breakfast. Maybe thats one thing that can improve

The staff was very friendly and were also very helpful.

By the way the guests can use the facilities (swimming, spa etc) in the Hotel Julen which is just a few steps away

All in all the place is just perfect for a romantic break/ honeymoon

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dum_chick_dum_dum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.1 mi away
Romantik Hotel Julen
Romantik Hotel Julen
#16 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jaegerhof Hotel & Apartements
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alpenhof
Hotel Alpenhof
#14 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#39 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Butterfly
0.4 mi away
Fleurs de Zermatt
Fleurs de Zermatt
#24 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Daniela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Daniela

Property: Hotel Daniela
Address: Steinmattstrasse 39, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Zermatt
#28 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#30 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#32 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#37 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Daniela 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Daniela may be small, but it has a lot to offer. Situated just 10 minutes away from the mountain lifts and the train station in a quiet location, the 24 cozy single, double and family rooms are all equipped with their own bathroom/WC, minibar, telephone, radio, WLAN, cable TV and safe. The bathrooms all have a hairdryer, free cosmetic articles and bathrobes, free of charge. The generous breakfast buffet will set you up for an exciting day and free coffee, tea and cakes can be taken in front of the fireplace in the lobby throughout the day. Dine Around in the Tradition Julen: Half-board guests can have the best of both worlds and have their evening meal either in the Romantik Hotel Julen, where a 5-course selection menu is served, or at the Hotel Alpenhof, where a 5-course selection menu is served. Those who prefer ,,A la Carte" can enjoy local specialties in the traditional Schaferstube restaurant or they can enjoy delicious dishes at the Restaurant Julen. Wellness Around Tradition Julen: Guests staying at Hotel Daniela have free entry to the Julen SPA in the Romantik Hotel Julen or the Alpenhof SPA in the Wellness Hotel Alpenhof. Every Wednesday during the high season the family run business offers you a free visit to their herd of black nose sheep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Daniela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daniela Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing