We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Hemizeus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Hemizeus
Ranked #83 of 109 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed here in summertime, was nice and quiet. The hotel is at the top of the town and has uninterrupted views. We had a room with a balcony overlooking the Matterhorn. The hotel is a long walk up steep hills from the centre of town. Call them from the train station when you arrive and they will pick you up. Easy walk into town and hotel staff will pick you up when you want to come back. Taxis in town are very expensive so don't stay out too late! Spa facilities are awesome. Great food. Beautiful hotel in a beautiful setting. We enjoyed our stay very much. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    26
    13
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
38
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Letbridge
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed here and were very pleased with our stay. The owners were very accommodating and we were given a room overlooking the Matterhorn. They picked us up and dropped us off at the train station. Breakfast was very good.The only downside was it is quite a walk into the village.
Gwyn and Sylvia Hughes

Room Tip: very nice rooms with stove,fridge utensels and sink etc. good view of the Matterhorn. Well climate c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

I was in Zermatt for a ski racing camp on the high glacier of the Klien Matterhorn and thought the hotel was good value but has disenchanted with the 20 minute hike up hill to the hotel each day. It would have been appreciated if the owner had provided their electric taxi to haul the equipment at the end of the day.
Food was plentiful and good but after staying at other hotels in Zermatt I can accurately say that the Hemizeuse does not meet the high culinary standards set by other establishments in the valley.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lier, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

This hotel is situated a 10 minute walk from the center of Zermatt but it does have a great view on the Matterhorn.
You can ski from the hotel to the lifts and in the evening from the ski piste straight to the hotel.
The breakfast was great.
I will go back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philippe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

On the plus side the hotel has the most stunning views of the Matterhorn. As the hotel is outside of town, there are no buildings to obscure the view. Also, the family running the hotel were very friendly, as were the staff. However, I was only able to give this hotel 3 stars, as there were a few issues. The hotel is a good 2km walk outside of town which will not suit everyone, especially as it is uphill all the way. The bedroom was basic but comfortable, apart from the beds which were really quite hard. My husband has to follow a gluten free diet, which we informed the hotel of at booking, several months before we arrived. A few weeks before our holiday we again emailed the hotel and they replied that they could accommodate a gluten free diet. However, a few days before we travelled, we received another email telling us to bring our own food for breakfast. Considering that both of the supermarkets in Zermatt, as well as the pharmacies, stocked an excellent range of gluten free products, I feel that it was quite poor of the hotel not to stock up on some bread and cereal. As it was my husband had to provide his own breakfast for two weeks, despite having paid for it. On the one occasion we ate in the restaurant they adapted my husband's meal, but only by taking away certain ingredients. We found a number of hotels which baked their own gluten free bread and meals in Zermatt, and think that the chef at Hemizeus could easily do the same.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Steelmen10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

We stayed as a family a few months ago and found the service to be delightful. The staff was very kind and the food was what you would expect. The beds however, were lower quality than I had expected. Watch out for the location as it is perched on top of a hill and it can be tiring dragging all of your belongings up the hill.

Room Tip: Ask for bulding A.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

Apparthotel Hemizeus is a perfect gateway to relax with family or friends. We had a wonderful experience and stay here in February. They greeted us with a very warm welcome, nice room and amazing facilities. The food and room service was awesome. Everything here gave a fresh feeling and we enjoyed every moment of our stay. I would not hesitate in recommending this place to all my friends.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Matthiol
Hotel Matthiol
#49 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Firefly
Hotel Firefly
#3 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sonne Zermatt
Hotel Sonne Zermatt
#21 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Resort Hotel Alex
Resort Hotel Alex
#15 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Alpen Resort Hotel
1.0 mi away
Hotel Phoenix
Hotel Phoenix
#34 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hemizeus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hemizeus

Property: Hotel Hemizeus
Address: Untere Tuftra 11, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#50 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#51 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#66 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hemizeus 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer in Hemizeus a very nice Matterhorn view, comfortable rooms and apartments. Restaurant with a la carte dishes and half-board. Sport offers; skiing (ski in and out), biking, hiking. Relaxation in the 250m2 Wellness with 2 saunas, 1 steam bath, jacuzzi, relaxroom. Do you want your kids in the holiday not to miss the comfort of a hotel, but still have a clean slate in your personal daily planning and have a private area for your family? Then, you choose one of our apartments and enjoy both: comfort, hotel service and family privacy in your "own" four walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Hemizeus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apparthotel Hemizeus Zermatt
Apparthotel Hemizeus Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing